Montreal - Neurosurgery
Université de MontréalMontreal, QuebecRegular stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 1
- Length
- 6
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 27 Jan 2027
Montreal, 3 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Very small intake: a single resident is admitted every two years.
From “General instructions” on the CaRMS page
Multidisciplinary clinics include neuromodulation for psychiatric patients.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- Université de Montréal's neurosurgery residency is a 6-year program that admits one resident every two years.
- Training takes place at CHUM, CHU Sainte-Justine and Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal.
- Research options of 3 to 7 periods are scheduled in the second year, and master's and PhD programs are available.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Training language
- French
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Neurochirurgie clinique (44 périodes)
- Neurologie clinique (4 périodes)
- Neuro-pathologie (3 périodes)
- Neuro-radiologie (3 périodes)
- Options (incluant la recherche)
- Fondements chirurgicaux - Boot camp (Résident I · 1 période)
- Neurochirurgie adulte (Résident I · 4 périodes)
- Chirurgie générale- Exposition prise en charge initiale trauma (Résident I · 1 période)
- Neurologie adulte (Résident I · 2 périodes)
- Soins intensifs (Résident I · 1 période)
- Neuro traumatologie (Résident I · 1 période)
- Stage de nuit – Consultation chirurgie (Résident I · 1 période)
- Microbiologie médicale et infectiologie (Résident I · 1 période)
- Chirurgie générale - Soins aigus (Résident I · 1 période)
- Neurochirurgie adulte (Résident II · 3 à 5 périodes)
- ORL (Résident II · 1 période)
- Plastie nerfs périphériques (Résident II · 1 période)
- Stage de nuit - Soins intensifs chirurgicaux (Résident II · 1 période)
- Médecine de soins intensifs chez l’adulte (Résident II · 1 période)
- Options recherche (Résident II · 3 à 7 périodes)
- Neurochirurgie adulte (Résident III · 6 à 7 périodes)
- Neurologie chez l’adulte - troubles du mouvement (Résident III · 1 période)
- Neurologie chez l’adulte - Épilepsie (Résident III · 1 période)
- Neurochirurgie-oncologie (Résident III · 1 période)
- Neuro traumatologie (Résident III · 3 périodes)
- Neurochirurgie adulte (Résident IV · 2 périodes)
- Chirurgie orthopédique – Chirurgie du rachis (Résident IV · 2 périodes)
- Neuroradiologie (Résident IV · 3 périodes)
- Neurochirurgie ou plastie-nerfs périphériques (Résident IV · 1 période)
- Carotides (Résident IV · 1 période)
- Neurochirurgie pédiatrique (Résident IV · 4 périodes)
- Neuropathologie (Résident V · 3 périodes)
- Neuro traumatologie (Résident V · 2 périodes)
- Neurochirurgie adulte (Résident V · 8 périodes)
- Neurochirurgie adulte (Résident VI · 10 à 13 périodes)
- Option en neurochirurgie générale vs spécialisée -transition vers la pratique- (Résident VI · 3 périodes)
Where you train
Montreal, Quebec: 3 teaching sites.
- Centre Hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM) (Montréal)
- CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal)
- Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal (Montréal)
Record systems at the listed sites: DCi-ChartMaxx at 1 of 3, Epic at 1, TELUS at 1.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Centre Hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM)
- Clinical record
- OACIS (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 30,754 · 2026–2027: 32,697
- Licensed beds
- physical health 732 · psychiatry 38 · neonatology 10
CHU Sainte-Justine
- Clinical record
- DCi-ChartMaxx (dossier clinique informatisé), fully electronic record since May 2014
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
- Licensed beds
- physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66
Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal
- Clinical record
- Epic: Dossier santé numérique (DSN), fully electronic record since May 2026
- Emergency visits
- 2025–2026: 27,285 · 2026–2027: no row in the file
- Licensed beds
- physical health 420 · geriatrics 20
Quebec's Dossier santé numérique is live at two regional health authorities only (Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal and Mauricie-et-Centre-du-Québec). No date is published for the other establishments.
About Montréal
People
1,762,949residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- CV
- Reference documents
- MSPRs
- Examinations
- Personal letters
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Electives
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 27 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
4 Neurosurgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $58,728 / year |
| PGY-2 | $64,809 / year |
| PGY-3 | $70,890 / year |
| PGY-4 | $76,969 / year |
| PGY-5 | $83,050 / year |
| PGY-6 | $89,131 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- 8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period
Benefits
- Adoption leave
- 29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Annual vacation
- 20 days/year
- Assistant Resident Coordinator
- $425/month
- Call Premium
- $607/28 days
- Conference leave
- 7 days pd/year
- Dental Plan
- Yes, available for a fee
- Exam leave
- Day (s) of the exam
- Extended Health Insurance
- Yes
- Leave for death in family
- From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
- Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
- 12 months maximum
- Life insurance
- Yes
- Long-Term disability insurance
- Yes
- Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
- 21 weeks95 % of salary
- Meals
- Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
- Pager
- Provided by the establishment
- Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
- 19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
- Parking
- ½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
- Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
- 1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
- Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
- Yes (free)
- Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
- Yes
- Resident Coordinator
- $583/month
- Resuscitation courses and examination leave
- Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
- Sick leave
- 9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 13/year
- Study leave
- 10 days pd/year
- Superior Financial Programs
- Yes
- Teaching Premium
- $240/28 days
- Wedding leave
- 7 days paid + 7 days without pay
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 1 | 6 years | 1 date, 27 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| Regular stream | 1 | 6 years | 1 date as the CaRMS page writes it |
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The Université de Montréal's Neurosurgery residency is a comprehensive 6-year postdoctoral training program that progressively exposes residents to neurosurgical pathologies.
- Graduates will be able to practice neurosurgery autonomously and complete Royal College certification exams, with opportunities to specialize in various neurosurgical subspecialties.
- Research
- Residents can pursue Master's and PhD programs in various research domains including fundamental sciences, molecular biology, oncology, epilepsy, vascular pathologies, spine, epidemiology, and clinical research.
- Training setting
- Training occurs primarily in urban academic medical centers in Montreal, including multiple major hospitals with diverse patient populations and advanced medical facilities.
- Teaching approach
- Progressive exposure to surgical pathologies with early operating room experience, emphasizing CanMEDS competencies, formal teaching, and development of resident autonomy.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Academic performance
- Reference letters
- CV
- Research portfolio
- Interview performance
- Leadership skills
- Communication skills
- Professionalism
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr(e) Marie-Pierre Fournier-GosselinDirecteur du Programme de Neurochirurgie
- Program office
Agente administrative du programme de neurochirurgie
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Videos and podcasts
From the program
Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.
Neurosurgery elsewhere
Nearest to Montreal
- Bilingual
Did this page answer your question?

