Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Neurosurgery

McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular streamNew for 2027

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
6 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 3 Feb 2027virtual

Montreal, 5 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Main training base is the Montreal Neurological Hospital & Institute, with access to its neuroscience research laboratories.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • McGill's neurosurgery residency is a 6-year integrated program based at the MNH-MNI, with rotations at the MGH, MCH and JGH.
  • The first year of research is part of residency and can be extended by two years to obtain a graduate degree, including via the CIP.
  • Instruction is primarily in English, and interviews are held by videoconference.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · research project · protected time
Training language
English

By year

PGY-1
  • neurosurgery7 blocks
  • critical care3 blocks
  • vascular surgery2 blocks
  • emergency medicineat a trauma centre1 block
PGY-2
  • neurosurgery (including spine trauma and cranial neurotrauma)9 blocks
  • Neurology2 blocks
  • Radiology2 blocks
PGY-3
  • neurosurgeryJewish General Hospital, Montreal Children's Hospital, Montreal Neurologic Hospital13 blocks
PGY-4
  • Research Program
PGY-5
  • neurosurgeryJewish General Hospital, Montreal Children's Hospital, Montreal Neurologic Hospitalup to 13 blocks

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • neurosurgery (PGY-6 · up to 10 blocks · Jewish General Hospital, Montreal Children's Hospital, Montreal Neurologic Hospital)
  • neuropathology (PGY-6 · 3 blocks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 5 teaching sites.

  • Montreal Neurological Hospital & Institute (MNH-MNI)
  • Montreal General Hospital (MGH)
  • Montreal Childrens' Hospital (MCH)
  • Royal Victoria Hospital (RVH)
  • Jewish General Hospital (JGH) (Montréal)

Record systems at the listed sites: TELUS at 4 of 5; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

5 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
TELUS (Oacis), since 2006, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Montreal Neurological Hospital & Institute (MNH-MNI), Montreal General Hospital (MGH), Montreal Childrens' Hospital (MCH), Royal Victoria Hospital (RVH).

How to read the figures

  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.
  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.

Montreal Neurological Hospital & Institute (MNH-MNI)

Matched to Hôpital Neurologique de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Licensed beds
physical health 90

Montreal General Hospital (MGH)

Matched to Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
Licensed beds
physical health 236 · psychiatry 46

Montreal Childrens' Hospital (MCH)

Matched to L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552
Show facts for 2 more sites

Royal Victoria Hospital (RVH)

Matched to Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604

Jewish General Hospital (JGH)

Matched to Hôpital Général Juif (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
Licensed beds
physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
3 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

4 Neurosurgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 6 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year
PGY-6
$89,131 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Coordinator, Neurosurgery Training Program

Write to the officeresidency.neurosurgery@mcgill.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Neurosurgery elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

  • Montreal - Neurosurgery, MontréalUniversité de Montréal

    Montreal · 0 km

    1 position · Regular

    French
  • Sherbrooke - NeurosurgeryUniversité de Sherbrooke

    Sherbrooke · 131 km

    1 position · Regular

    French
  • Ottawa - NeurosurgeryUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 166 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

In these collections:

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 30 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35782 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?