Skip to content
CdnMD

Sherbrooke - Neurosurgery

Université de SherbrookeSherbrooke, QuebecRegular streamNew for 2027

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
6 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Sherbrooke, 3 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Weekly academic sessions held partly jointly with Montreal and Quebec neurosurgery programs by videoconference.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Interview process may include a neurosurgery knowledge exam.

    From “Interviews” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 6-year neurosurgery residency based mainly at CHUS - Site Fleurimont in Sherbrooke.
  • Pediatric and peripheral neurosurgery rotations are done outside Sherbrooke through agreements with other Quebec faculties.
  • The curriculum usually includes 6 months of clinical or basic research, and an additional year for a master's degree is offered.
  • Interviews are virtual multiple mini-interviews and may include a written or oral exam.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Small program
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Training language
French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • stages permettant l'acquisition des compétences de base pour la prise en charge des patients en neurochirurgie (Progression vers la discipline · 3 mois)
  • stages de neurochirurgie et d'autres disciplines (Acquisitions des fondements de la discipline · 21 mois)
  • pédiatrie (Maîtrise de la discipline · à l'extérieur de Sherbrooke)
  • périphérique (Maîtrise de la discipline · à l'extérieur de Sherbrooke)
  • Rotations de neurochirurgie (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • Recherche (Maîtrise de la discipline · Habituellement 6 mois)
  • neuroradiologie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3 mois)
  • neuro pathologie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3 mois)
  • neurologie (Maîtrise de la discipline · 3 mois)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Sherbrooke, Quebec: 3 teaching sites.

  • Santé Québec Estrie - CHUS - Site Fleurimont
  • Chicoutimi (Chicoutimi)
  • Moncton (Moncton)

Record systems at the listed sites: ARIANE at 1 of 3; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

1 site · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Santé Québec Estrie - CHUS - Site Fleurimont

Clinical record
DCI ARIANE (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont (Sherbrooke) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 18,141 · 2026–2027: 19,532 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 365 · psychiatry 6 · neonatology 20 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Sherbrooke

  • People

    172,950residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Sherbrooke

  • Housing

    2.7%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Sherbrooke, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.5 °CJanuary mean19.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Lennoxville, 9.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Moderatefor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Sherbrooke (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

4 Neurosurgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 6 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year
PGY-6
$89,131 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) Newton GODOY PIMENTA

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Adjointe, direction du programme

Write to the officeneurochirurgie-med@usherbrooke.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Neurosurgery elsewhere

Nearest to Sherbrooke

  • Montreal - Neurosurgery, MontréalUniversité de Montréal

    Montreal · 131 km

    1 position · Regular

  • Montreal · 131 km

    1 position · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Ottawa - NeurosurgeryUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 297 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35620 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?