Skip to content
CdnMD

Calgary - Medical Microbiology

University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 28 Jan 2027virtual

Calgary, 9 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Residents participate in remote oversight and on-call coverage of five regional community hospital laboratories.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Training within a single integrated provincial laboratory organization with one provincial information system.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Summer didactic program on microbiology laboratory management plus longitudinal laboratory management curriculum.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This 5-year Medical Microbiology residency is Calgary-based, with a mandatory 4-week rotation at the Public Health Laboratory in Edmonton.
  • Residents train mainly at the Calgary hub laboratory and participate in remote oversight of 5 community-based laboratories across Alberta.
  • Twelve blocks of electives are available from the Core of Discipline stage.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Public health agency
  • Urban community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · research or quality-improvement project

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Transition to Discipline (Transition to Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • Infectious Diseases (Foundations of Discipline · 3 blocks)
  • Family Medicine (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Emergency Medicine (pediatric and adult) (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Pediatrics (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Internal Medicine (Foundations of Discipline)
  • General Surgery (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Public health laboratory (Edmonton) (Core of Discipline · 4-week · Edmonton)
  • Infectious Diseases specialized outpatient clinics (Core of Discipline)
  • elective rotations (Core of Discipline · Twelve blocks)
  • Transition to Practice (Transition to Practice · 9 blocks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Calgary, Alberta: 9 teaching sites.

  • Hub laboratory (Calgary)
  • Public health laboratory (Calgary)
  • Public health laboratory (Edmonton) (Edmonton)
  • Community-based laboratory sites (Grande Prairie, Fort McMurray, Red Deer, Lethbridge, Medicine Hat) (rural or distributed site)
  • Foothills Medical Centre
  • Peter Lougheed Centre
  • Rockyview General Hospital
  • South Health Campus
  • Alberta Children's Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 5 of 9; no published record for 4.

Hospital facts

5 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Foothills Medical Centre, Peter Lougheed Centre, Rockyview General Hospital, South Health Campus, Alberta Children's Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Calgary

  • People

    1,306,784residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Calgary

  • Housing

    4.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Calgary, Alberta (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −7.6 °CJanuary mean16.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Calgary (Airport), 9.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Calgary (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
28 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

All info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$67,440 / year
PGY-2
$74,153 / year
PGY-3
$80,058 / year
PGY-4
$86,281 / year
PGY-5
$92,698 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house and home call · frequency “up to 7 days in each four-week block”
Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 3 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Calgary.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream15 years1 date, 28 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream15 years1 date, 29 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Calgary Medical Microbiology Residency Program offers comprehensive training to develop high-caliber medical microbiologists for clinical, academic, and leadership roles.
  • The program provides a broad, flexible training experience across various laboratory settings, emphasizing individual learning needs and preparing residents for diverse career paths in medical microbiology.
Research
Residents can engage in translational research in areas like antimicrobial resistance, laboratory surveillance, molecular diagnostics, and global health.
Training setting
Training occurs primarily in Calgary-based laboratories, with additional rotations in Edmonton and five regional community laboratories across Alberta. The program combines urban academic medical center training with exposure to diverse clinical settings.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with progressive independence, focusing on entrusting residents with increasing responsibilities as they demonstrate key competencies across different training stages.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • CV/Resume
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Elective experiences
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Luiz Lisboa

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeCALMedMicroResidency@albertaprecisionlabs.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Medical Microbiology elsewhere

Nearest to Calgary

  • Edmonton - Medical MicrobiologyUniversity of Alberta

    Edmonton · 281 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Vancouver - Medical MicrobiologyUniversity of British Columbia

    Vancouver, BC · 673 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Winnipeg - Medical MicrobiologyUniversity of Manitoba

    Winnipeg, MB · 1,203 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35417 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?