Vancouver - Medical Microbiology
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, British ColumbiaCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 1
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 27 Jan 2027
Vancouver, 7 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
12-week foundations course; core residents help prepare its curriculum for junior colleagues.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- UBC Medical Microbiology is a 5-year Royal College residency based at Vancouver teaching hospitals and participating community hospitals.
- Training includes 2 years of Medical Microbiology, 1 year of Infectious Diseases, and 1 year of elective and research time.
- A one-month community hospital rotation is required.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Public health agency
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Medical Microbiology (transition to discipline)
- Infectious Diseases (transition to discipline)
- Internal Medicine (transition to discipline)
- Infection Prevention and Control (core training · 2 blocks)
- Antimicrobial Stewardship (core training · 2 blocks)
- senior consultant rotation (core training · 2 blocks)
- senior Laboratory Management (core training · 2 blocks)
- Medical Microbiology, including Infection Prevention and Control, Antimicrobial Stewardship, and Laboratory Management (Foundational Training, Core Training, Transition to Practice · 2 years)
- Infectious Diseases (including at least 7 blocks of inpatient Infectious Diseases training) (Foundational Training, Core Training, Transition to Practice · 1 year)
- elective and research time (Foundational Training, Core Training, Transition to Practice · 1 year)
- community hospital (one-month)
Where you train
Vancouver, British Columbia: 7 teaching sites.
- Vancouver General Hospital
- BC Children's and Women's Hospital (CW)
- St. Paul's Hospital
- BC Centre for Disease Control (BCCDC)
- Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH) (Surrey)
- Royal Jubilee Hospital (Victoria · rural or distributed site)
- Kelowna General Hospital (Kelowna · rural or distributed site)
Record systems at the listed sites: MEDITECH at 1 of 7, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 4; no published record for 2.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Vancouver General Hospital
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Nov 2022
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 13,790
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,855
BC Children's and Women's Hospital (CW)
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Feb 2022
BC Children's Hospital (Vancouver)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 7,396
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,910
BC Women's Hospital and Health Centre (Vancouver)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 5,033
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 1,348
St. Paul's Hospital
- Clinical record
- CST Cerner, fully electronic record since Nov 2019
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 8,691
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,240
Show facts for 3 more sitesShow fewer
Surrey Memorial Hospital (SMH)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 11,911
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 2,849
Royal Jubilee Hospital
- Clinical record
- IHealth (Cerner electronic health record), fully electronic record since 2021
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 14,532
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 3,973
Kelowna General Hospital
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Elective surgeries completed, 2025/26
- 15,707
- Elective surgeries completed, 2026/27 Q1
- 4,090
About Vancouver
People
662,248residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.7%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
5.3 °CJanuary mean19.0 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Moderatefor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 27 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Info sessions
The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $71,390 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,571 / year |
| PGY-3 | $86,655 / year |
| PGY-4 | $93,230 / year |
| PGY-5 | $100,215 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Relieved within 2 hours of the call ending, or by 10:00 if earlier, when a resident on a 24-hour or longer shift could not get 6 uninterrupted hours of rest
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes. Mandatory
- Dental plan
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Life insurance
- 100% Premium Paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- Yes 100% Premiums Paid
- Maternity leave
- 17 weeks, plus up to 78 weeks Parental Leave
- Meal allowance
- No
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.5%
- Provincial health insurance
- 100% Premiums Paid
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory holidays
- 2 x pay plus extra day with pay
Past matches
Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 2 of 9 years.
Show the table, with round 2Hide the table
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 1 position open after round 2 in 2018, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2019 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 1 position open after round 2 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) |
| 2026 | 1 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 1 date, 27 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 1 | 5 years | Interviews not stated |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The UBC Medical Microbiology Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program designed to help residents acquire expertise in laboratory and clinical medicine.
- The program focuses on developing competent Medical Microbiologists who can diagnose, manage, and prevent infectious diseases at patient, institutional, and population levels.
- Research
- Residents have dedicated research time and can pursue electives in research, public health, epidemiology, or related fields.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across multiple urban teaching hospitals in Vancouver, including comprehensive academic medical centers, pediatric hospitals, and community hospitals, providing diverse clinical and laboratory experiences.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with progressive independence, focusing on achieving CanMEDS competencies through structured stages: transition to discipline, foundational training, core training, and transition to practice.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Academic achievement
- Elective performance
- Research portfolio
- Letters of recommendation
- Interview performance
- Communication skills
- Interpersonal skills
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr. Christopher Lowe
Faculty profile of Dr. Christopher Lowe(opens in a new tab)
Hospital-acquired infections; Multidrug resistant gram negative organisms; Respiratory viruses; Hepatitis B resistance
Dr. Michael Payne
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
- Program office
Program Manager
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Medical Microbiology elsewhere
Nearest to Vancouver
Did this page answer your question?