Skip to content
CdnMD

Winnipeg - Medical Microbiology

University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCMG streamNew for 2027

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 20 Jan 2027virtual

Winnipeg, 4 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Mandatory rotation at the National Microbiology Laboratory, Canada's national reference laboratory, located in Winnipeg.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Closely integrated with adult and pediatric infectious diseases programs through shared rounds, journal club and half-day.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year Medical Microbiology residency at the University of Manitoba in Winnipeg.
  • PGY-1 is basic clinical training, PGY-2 focuses on clinical infectious diseases, and PGY-3 and 4 are core laboratory training across four Winnipeg sites.
  • PGY-5 is essentially an elective year tailored to the trainee's interests.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Public health agency
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · research project

By year

PGY-1
  • general medicine (and relevant subspecialties)
  • pediatrics
  • general surgery
  • critical care
  • emergency medicine
PGY-2
  • adult infectious diseases services
  • pediatric infectious diseases service
  • continuity clinic
  • outpatient specialty clinic block
PGY-5
  • additional specialty training or research opportunities

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • core laboratory training (PGY-3 and 4 · two years · Health Sciences Centre, St. Boniface General Hospital, Cadham Provincial Laboratory, and the National Microbiology Laboratory)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Winnipeg, Manitoba: 4 teaching sites.

  • Health Sciences Centre
  • St. Boniface Hospital
  • Cadham Provincial Laboratory
  • National Microbiology Laboratory

Record systems at the listed sites: Altera at 2 of 4; no published record for 2.

Moving to a new system: Health Sciences Centre; St. Boniface Hospital (scheduled 31 Mar 2027 across the province).

Hospital facts

2 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Altera Digital Health (EPR), moving to a new system in every hospital by 31 Mar 2027; this hospital’s own date is not published by the province yet As of 31 Oct 2026. At Health Sciences Centre, St. Boniface Hospital.

Manitoba's electronic patient record is going into every hospital by the end of March 2027, a hospital at a time (6 of 57 complete as of June 2026). Order entry is not included at this stage. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

About Winnipeg

  • People

    749,607residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Winnipeg

  • Housing

    2.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Winnipeg, Manitoba (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −16.3 °CJanuary mean19.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Winnipeg (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
20 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

All info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year
PGY-3
$83,372 / year
PGY-4
$89,329 / year
PGY-5
$95,285 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 2 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Winnipeg.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
20191 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)1 position open after round 2 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)
202000
202100
20221 position open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20231 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)1 position open after round 2 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)
202400
202500
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Medical Microbiology Program Assistant

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Medical Microbiology elsewhere

Nearest to Winnipeg

  • Edmonton - Medical MicrobiologyUniversity of Alberta

    Edmonton, AB · 1,194 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Calgary - Medical MicrobiologyUniversity of Calgary

    Calgary, AB · 1,203 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Hamilton, ON · 1,507 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 31 Aug 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36396 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?