Skip to content
CdnMD

Edmonton - Medical Microbiology

University of AlbertaEdmonton, Alberta

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Interviews

1 date, 25 Jan 2027virtual

2 dates, 25–26 Jan 2027virtual

Edmonton, 7 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Described as one of the largest free-standing microbiology residency programs in Canada.

    From “FAQ” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents are expected to author at least one abstract or paper and present at conferences.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a five-year Medical Microbiology residency in the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology at the University of Alberta.
  • Most laboratory rotations take place at Edmonton Base Lab and ProvLab in Edmonton, with clinical rotations at Edmonton hospitals.
  • Each resident must complete at least one research project, and research blocks are provided.
  • Call is taken from home.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Mixed settings
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
  • Public health agency
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Internal Medicine (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Pediatrics (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Infectious Diseases (Foundations of Discipline)
  • General Surgery (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Medical Microbiology (Foundations of Discipline)
  • community and public health Medical Microbiology laboratories (Core of Discipline)
  • laboratory management (Core of Discipline)
  • Adult Infectious Diseases (Core of Discipline)
  • Pediatric Infectious Diseases (Core of Discipline)
  • Infection Prevention and Control (Core of Discipline)
  • Antimicrobial Stewardship (Core of Discipline)

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Internal Medicine (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Pediatrics (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Infectious Diseases (Foundations of Discipline)
  • General Surgery (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Emergency Medicine (Foundations of Discipline)
  • Medical Microbiology (Foundations of Discipline)
  • public health Medical Microbiology laboratories (Core of Discipline)
  • laboratory management (Core of Discipline)
  • Adult Infectious Diseases (Core of Discipline)
  • Pediatric Infectious Diseases (Core of Discipline)
  • Infection Prevention and Control (Core of Discipline)
  • Antimicrobial Stewardship (Core of Discipline)
  • research blocks (Core of Discipline)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Edmonton, Alberta: 7 teaching sites.

  • Edmonton Base Lab
  • Provincial Laboratory for Public Health for Northern Alberta
  • Provincial Laboratory for Public Health for Southern Alberta (Calgary)
  • University of Alberta Hospital
  • Royal Alexandra Hospital
  • Misericordia Community Hospital
  • Grey Nuns Community Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 4 of 7; no published record for 3.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At University of Alberta Hospital, Royal Alexandra Hospital, Misericordia Community Hospital, Grey Nuns Community Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Edmonton

  • People

    1,010,899residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Edmonton

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Edmonton, Alberta (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −10.3 °CJanuary mean18.1 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Edmonton (City), 4.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Edmonton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not required · all residents
Return of service
Not required · all residents
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25 Jan 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
25 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

All info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$67,440 / year
PGY-2
$74,153 / year
PGY-3
$80,058 / year
PGY-4
$86,281 / year
PGY-5
$92,698 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
Home call
Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 7 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 6 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Edmonton.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream15 years1 date, 25 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years2 dates, 25–26 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream15 years1 date, 28 Jan 2026
IMG stream15 years1 date, 27 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Medical Microbiology Residency program is a five-year post-graduate medical training program at the University of Alberta.
  • It is designed to develop expertise in clinical microbiology, providing residents with broad-based clinical and laboratory experience while offering flexibility to accommodate individual interests and advanced training.
Research
Residents are required to complete at least one research project and are expected to author or co-author at least one abstract or peer-reviewed paper, with opportunities for interdepartmental research collaborations.
Training setting
Training primarily occurs in Edmonton at Edmonton Base Lab and the Provincial Laboratory for Public Health, with clinical rotations at multiple hospitals including University of Alberta Hospital, Royal Alexandra Hospital, and other Alberta Health Services sites.
Teaching approach
A competency-based approach that provides progressive independence, focusing on developing comprehensive skills in medical microbiology through staged training from foundational to independent practice.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Electives
  • MCCQE I
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Academic transcripts

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. William Stokes

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officemicromepc@ualberta.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Medical Microbiology elsewhere

Nearest to Edmonton

  • Calgary - Medical MicrobiologyUniversity of Calgary

    Calgary · 281 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Vancouver - Medical MicrobiologyUniversity of British Columbia

    Vancouver, BC · 818 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Winnipeg - Medical MicrobiologyUniversity of Manitoba

    Winnipeg, MB · 1,194 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35387 (CMG stream), 35845 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream