Skip to content
CdnMD

Thunder Bay - Anesthesiology

NOSM UniversityThunder Bay, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position−1 from 2 in the 2026 match
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
0–50
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Wed 4 Nov 2026,7:00 pm ET

Interviews

2 dates, 25–26 Jan 2027virtual

1 date, 25 Jan 2027Panel

Thunder Bay, 15 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • First anesthesiology program in Canada to implement components of a competency-based curriculum, in 2013.

    From “Important information” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents are not needed for day-to-day hospital functioning, so the service-to-education balance favours the residents.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • NOSM University's Anesthesiology program is a 5-year residency with Thunder Bay or Sudbury as the primary training site.
  • It is a distributed program requiring travel, with clinical experiences available across Northern Ontario from small rural hospitals to regional centres.
  • Residents complete a mandatory three-month rotation at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto and are expected to undertake a scholarly project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Northern
  • Indigenous health
  • Small program
  • Early independence
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • rotation at the Hospital for Sick Children (three-month · Toronto)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Thunder Bay, Ontario: 15 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (TBRHSC)
  • Health Sciences North (HSN) (Sudbury)
  • Labelle Innovation and Learning Center (Sudbury)
  • North Bay Regional Health Centre (NBRHC) (North Bay · rural or distributed site)
  • Sault Area Hospital (SAH) (Sault Ste. Marie · rural or distributed site)
  • Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
  • Dryden District Health Centre (Dryden · rural or distributed site)
  • Lake of the Woods District Hospital (Kenora · rural or distributed site)
  • Meno-Ya-Win Health Centre (Sioux Lookout · rural or distributed site)
  • Muskoka Algonquin Healthcare (rural or distributed site)
  • Riverside Healthcare Facilities Inc. (Fort Frances · rural or distributed site)
  • St. Joseph’s Care Group (rural or distributed site)
Show all 15 sites
  • Temiskaming Hospital (rural or distributed site)
  • Timmins and District Hospital (Timmins · rural or distributed site)
  • Notre Dame Hospital (Hearst · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 15, MEDITECH at 11, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1; no published record for 2.

Moving to a new system: Health Sciences North (HSN); Dryden District Health Centre; Lake of the Woods District Hospital; Meno-Ya-Win Health Centre; Riverside Healthcare Facilities Inc.; Temiskaming Hospital; Timmins and District Hospital; Notre Dame Hospital.

Hospital facts

13 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026. At Health Sciences North (HSN), Temiskaming Hospital, Timmins and District Hospital, Notre Dame Hospital.
Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), fully electronic record since Oct 2019 As of 31 Oct 2026. At North Bay Regional Health Centre (NBRHC), Sault Area Hospital (SAH).
Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026. At Dryden District Health Centre, Lake of the Woods District Hospital, Meno-Ya-Win Health Centre, Riverside Healthcare Facilities Inc..

Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (TBRHSC)

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Hospital for Sick Children

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Muskoka Algonquin Healthcare

Clinical record
Cerner, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

ONE HITS runs MEDITECH Expanse for northeastern Ontario hospitals in two waves: the three founding hospitals went live in October 2019; the 20 hospitals of Wave 2 (including Health Sciences North) are moving over, with no date on the page. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Thunder Bay

  • People

    108,843residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Thunder Bay

  • Housing

    3.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Thunder Bay, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −13.4 °CJanuary mean18.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Thunder Bay, 6.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Thunder Bay (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25 and 26 Jan 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
25 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel
Format
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream15 years2 dates, 25–26 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 2 → 1 from the 2026 match
IMG stream15 years1 date, 25 Jan 2027Panel
  • New for 2027
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: requirements (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream25 years4 dates, 22 Jan 2025 – 23 Jan 2026
IMG streamSudbury - Anesthesiology15 years1 date, 20 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The NOSM University Anesthesiology program offers a comprehensive, competency-based training experience in Northern Ontario.
  • Residents receive exceptional clinical training with a strong focus on active learning, simulation, and exposure to diverse medical settings across the region.
Research
Comprehensive physician-scholar program with structured research milestones, including clinical research, basic sciences research, and quality improvement projects.
Training setting
Training occurs primarily in Northern Ontario hospitals, including Health Sciences North in Sudbury, Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre, North Bay Regional Health Centre, and Sault Area Hospital, with opportunities in 22 affiliated hospitals.
Teaching approach
Active learning through problem-based learning, simulation, and competency-based education with frequent feedback and individualized learning plans.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic record
  • Interpersonal skills
  • Communication abilities
  • Leadership potential
  • Commitment to lifelong learning
  • Research/scholarly activities

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Sarah McIsaac

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Coordinator, Postgraduate Medical Education

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Anesthesiology elsewhere

Nearest to Thunder Bay

  • Winnipeg - AnesthesiologyUniversity of Manitoba

    Winnipeg, MB · 598 km

    8 positions · CMG

  • Sudbury · 655 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • London - AnesthesiologyWestern University

    London · 863 km

    9 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 7 Oct 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36366 (CMG stream), 35528 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: IMG stream: Language proficiency: wording changed. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • IMG stream: Language proficiency: wording changed

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream