Skip to content
CdnMD

Sudbury - Anesthesiology

NOSM UniversitySudbury, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions+1 from 1 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Wed 4 Nov 2026,7:00 pm ET

Interviews

2 dates, 25–26 Jan 2027virtual

Sudbury, 14 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • First anesthesiology program in Canada to implement components of a competency-based curriculum, starting in 2013.

    From “Important information” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents are not needed for day-to-day hospital functioning, so the balance tilts toward education over service.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • NOSM University's anesthesiology residency is a 5-year program, with training mostly in Sudbury or Thunder Bay and clinical experiences at other centres across Northern Ontario.
  • Residents complete a mandatory three-month rotation at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto.
  • Residents are expected to complete a scholarly project, which may be research or quality improvement.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Northern
  • Small program
  • Early independence
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • mandatory three-month rotation at the Hospital for Sick Children (three-month · Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Sudbury, Ontario: 14 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • Health Sciences North (HSN)
  • Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (TBRHSC) (Thunder Bay)
  • North Bay Regional Health Centre (NBRHC) (North Bay · rural or distributed site)
  • Sault Area Hospital (SAH) (Sault Ste. Marie · rural or distributed site)
  • Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
  • Dryden District Health Centre (Dryden · rural or distributed site)
  • Lake of the Woods District Hospital (Kenora · rural or distributed site)
  • Meno-Ya-Win Health Centre (Sioux Lookout · rural or distributed site)
  • Muskoka Algonquin Healthcare (rural or distributed site)
  • Riverside Healthcare Facilities Inc. (Fort Frances · rural or distributed site)
  • St. Joseph’s Care Group (rural or distributed site)
  • Temiskaming Hospital (rural or distributed site)
Show all 14 sites
  • Timmins and District Hospital (Timmins · rural or distributed site)
  • Notre Dame Hospital (Hearst · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 14, MEDITECH at 11, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1; no published record for 1.

Moving to a new system: Health Sciences North (HSN); Dryden District Health Centre; Lake of the Woods District Hospital; Meno-Ya-Win Health Centre; Riverside Healthcare Facilities Inc.; Temiskaming Hospital; Timmins and District Hospital; Notre Dame Hospital.

Hospital facts

13 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026. At Health Sciences North (HSN), Temiskaming Hospital, Timmins and District Hospital, Notre Dame Hospital.
Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), fully electronic record since Oct 2019 As of 31 Oct 2026. At North Bay Regional Health Centre (NBRHC), Sault Area Hospital (SAH).
Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026. At Dryden District Health Centre, Lake of the Woods District Hospital, Meno-Ya-Win Health Centre, Riverside Healthcare Facilities Inc..

Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre (TBRHSC)

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Hospital for Sick Children

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Muskoka Algonquin Healthcare

Clinical record
Cerner, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

ONE HITS runs MEDITECH Expanse for northeastern Ontario hospitals in two waves: the three founding hospitals went live in October 2019; the 20 hospitals of Wave 2 (including Health Sciences North) are moving over, with no date on the page. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Greater Sudbury

  • People

    166,004residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Greater Sudbury / Grand Sudbury

  • Housing

    1.1%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Greater Sudbury, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −12.7 °CJanuary mean19.1 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Sudbury, 19.4 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Greater Sudbury (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream25 years2 dates, 25–26 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 1 → 2 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream15 years2 dates, 22–23 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The NOSM University Anesthesiology program offers a comprehensive, competency-based training experience in Northern Ontario.
  • Residents receive hands-on clinical training across multiple sites, with a strong focus on active learning, simulation, and preparing physicians for diverse practice settings.
Research
Residents are expected to complete a scholarly project with faculty guidance, which can include clinical research, basic sciences research, quality improvement projects, or other academic anesthesiology projects.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple hospital sites in Northern Ontario, including urban and rural settings in Sudbury, Thunder Bay, North Bay, and Sault Ste. Marie, with opportunities to train in 22 affiliated hospitals.
Teaching approach
Active learning techniques including problem-based learning, simulation, and competency-based education with a focus on frequent feedback, individualized progression, and holistic skill development.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic record
  • Interpersonal skills
  • Communication abilities
  • Leadership potential
  • Commitment to lifelong learning
  • Research/scholarly activities

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Sarah McIsaac

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Coordinator, Postgraduate Medical Education

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Anesthesiology elsewhere

Nearest to Sudbury

  • Peel & Surrounding Communities · 340 km

    4 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Toronto - AnesthesiologyUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 340 km

    19 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Hamilton - AnesthesiologyMcMaster University

    Hamilton · 371 km

    10 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36386 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?