London - Anesthesiology
Western UniversityLondon, Ontario
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 81
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%51–75%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
IMG stream · open to international medical graduates
Tue 3 Nov 2026,7:00–8:00 pm ESTvia CANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Interviews
2 dates, 28–29 Jan 2027
London, 4 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Dedicated perioperative ultrasound (POCUS) rotation, introduced in 2015.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Three dedicated regional anesthesia rotations, one at each training site.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Hepatobiliary/liver transplant anesthesia rotation available.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- Western University's five-year anesthesiology residency trains residents at University Hospital, Victoria Hospital and St. Joseph's in London.
- All residents spend 1-2 rotations at Windsor Regional Hospital, with distributed rotations' travel and accommodation funded.
- All residents complete a scholarly project, which may be research or quality improvement.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Introductory Anesthesia - general OR assignments (TRANSITION TO DISCIPLINE)
- Orientation days - with an RT, in PACU, and in Preadmission Clinic (TRANSITION TO DISCIPLINE)
- Continued general anesthesia rotations (FOUNDATIONS)
- General Surgery (FOUNDATIONS)
- ENT (FOUNDATIONS)
- Internal Medicine CTU (FOUNDATIONS)
- High Risk Obstetrics Clinic (FOUNDATIONS)
- Adult Emergency Medicine (FOUNDATIONS)
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine (FOUNDATIONS)
- adult ICU (FOUNDATIONS)
- Elective blocks (FOUNDATIONS)
- Continued general anesthesia rotations (CORE)
- Cardiac (CORE)
- Neuro (CORE)
- Regional (CORE)
- Thoracic (CORE)
- Vascular (CORE)
- OB (CORE)
- Pediatrics (CORE)
- POCUS (CORE)
- Chronic Pain (CORE)
- Hepatobiliary/Liver Transplant (CORE)
- Acute Pain (CORE)
- Out-of-OR anesthesia (CORE)
- Continued consolidation year of anesthesia with a focus on more independence (TRANSITION TO PRACTICE)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Introductory Anesthesia - general OR assignments (TRANSITION TO DISCIPLINE)
- Orientation days - with an RT, in PACU, and in Preadmission Clinic (TRANSITION TO DISCIPLINE)
- general anesthesia rotations (FOUNDATIONS)
- General Surgery (FOUNDATIONS)
- ENT (FOUNDATIONS)
- Internal Medicine CTU (FOUNDATIONS)
- High Risk Obstetrics Clinic (FOUNDATIONS)
- Adult Emergency Medicine (FOUNDATIONS)
- Pediatric Emergency Medicine (FOUNDATIONS)
- adult ICU (FOUNDATIONS)
- Elective blocks (FOUNDATIONS)
- general anesthesia rotations (CORE)
- Cardiac (CORE)
- Neuro (CORE)
- Regional (CORE)
- Thoracic (CORE)
- Vascular (CORE)
- OB (CORE)
- Pediatrics (CORE)
- POCUS (CORE)
- Chronic Pain (CORE)
- Hepatobiliary/Liver Transplant (CORE)
- Acute Pain (CORE)
- Out-of-OR anesthesia (CORE)
- consolidation year of anesthesia (TRANSITION TO PRACTICE)
Where you train
London, Ontario: 4 teaching sites.
- University Hospital
- Victoria Hospital
- St. Joseph's Hospital
- Windsor Regional Hospital (Windsor · rural or distributed site)
Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 3 of 4; no published record for 1.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- OneChart (Cerner electronic patient record), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
St. Joseph's Hospital
- Clinical record
- Cerner (OneChart), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About London
People
422,324residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.8%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−5.4 °CJanuary mean21.0 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, IMG stream
- Required
- IMG requirements, IMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 28 and 29 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
- Panel
Info sessions
Tue 3 Nov 2026
7:00–8:00 pm EST
Town hall · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 8 | 5 years | 2 dates, 28–29 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
| IMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 2 dates, 28–29 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 8 | 5 years | Interviews not stated |
| IMG stream | 1 | 5 years | Interviews not stated |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- Western University's Anesthesiology Residency Program offers a comprehensive 5-year training experience with a flexible, outcomes-based approach.
- The program provides broad clinical exposure across multiple subspecialties, emphasizing individual educational goals and developing emerging leaders in anesthesiology through a supportive, close-knit community.
- Research
- All residents participate in a scholarly project, with dedicated time and financial support for presentation and publication. Project formats include Quality Improvement, Clinical Research, Laboratory Research, Reviews, and Meta-analysis.
- Training setting
- Urban academic medical center in London, Ontario, with three primary teaching hospitals: University Hospital, Victoria Hospital, and St. Joseph's Hospital. Serves as a tertiary referral center for over 2 million people in Southwestern Ontario.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with a focus on individualized learning, progressive independence, and holistic development across CanMEDS roles.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- CV
- Personal letter
- Reference letters
- Interview performance
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr. Melissa Chin
Dr. Malcolm HowardAssociate Program Director
- Program office
Postgraduate Education Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Anesthesiology elsewhere
Nearest to London
Did this page answer your question?