Winnipeg - Anesthesiology
University of ManitobaWinnipeg, ManitobaCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 8
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 0–25%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 30 Jan 2027
Winnipeg, 7 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Up to $50,000 in funding for advanced research or education training during residency, including Clinician Investigator Program.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Internal grant competition offering up to $10,000 per resident scholarly project.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Department-sponsored international electives during the Core stage.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- This is a 5-year anesthesiology residency based mainly at Winnipeg's two tertiary hospitals, Health Sciences Centre and St. Boniface Hospital.
- Residents also train in pediatrics at the Children's Hospital, in regional and pain medicine at Pan Am Surgical Centre, and in community hospitals.
- All residents must complete a scholarly project and get up to 24 weeks of project time with reduced clinical duties.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- internal medicine (Foundations)
- pediatrics (Foundations)
- emergency medicine (Foundations)
- Cardiology (Foundations)
- Respirology (Foundations)
- General Anesthesia (Foundations)
- ICU (Foundations)
- Neuroanesthesia (Core)
- Cardiac (Core)
- Pediatrics (Core)
- ICU (Core)
Where you train
Winnipeg, Manitoba: 7 teaching sites.
- Health Sciences Centre (including the General Hospital, the Women's Hospital, and the Children's Hospital)
- St. Boniface Hospital
- Pan Am Surgical Centre
- Concordia
- Grace
- Victoria General Hospitals
- Clinical Learning Simulation Facility (Brodie Centre)
Record systems at the listed sites: Altera at 4 of 7; no published record for 3.
Moving to a new system: Health Sciences Centre (including the General Hospital, the Women's Hospital, and the Children's Hospital); St. Boniface Hospital; Grace; Victoria General Hospitals (scheduled 31 Mar 2027 across the province).
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Altera Digital Health (EPR), moving to a new system in every hospital by 31 Mar 2027; this hospital’s own date is not published by the province yet
Manitoba's electronic patient record is going into every hospital by the end of March 2027, a hospital at a time (6 of 57 complete as of June 2026). Order entry is not included at this stage.
Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.
About Winnipeg
People
749,607residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.8%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−16.3 °CJanuary mean19.5 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 30 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
11 Anesthesiology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $72,171 / year |
| PGY-2 | $77,416 / year |
| PGY-3 | $83,372 / year |
| PGY-4 | $89,329 / year |
| PGY-5 | $95,285 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 8 | 5 years | 1 date, 30 Jan 2027 |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 7 | 5 years | 1 date, 24 Jan 2026 |
| IMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 1 date, 13 Mar 2022 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Manitoba Anesthesiology Program offers a comprehensive, flexible training experience that prepares residents to become well-rounded anesthesiologists.
- The program provides broad clinical exposure across diverse settings, emphasizing clinical excellence and personal growth while allowing residents to tailor their training to individual goals.
- Research
- Residents are required to complete a scholarly project with mentorship, access to internal grants, and up to 24 weeks of reduced clinical responsibilities for research.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across multiple urban tertiary hospitals in Winnipeg, including Health Sciences Centre, St. Boniface Hospital, Children's Hospital, and several community hospitals, serving approximately 1.5 million people.
- Teaching approach
- Emphasizes one-on-one teaching, active learning both inside and outside the operating room, and progressive skill development through Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) stages with increasing resident independence.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Reference letters
- Personal letter
- Academic transcript
- Personal interview
- Performance across CanMEDS roles
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr. Calvin LoewenAssociate Program Director
Dr. Kenton StainesPostgraduate Program Director
- Program office
Postgraduate Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Anesthesiology elsewhere
Nearest to Winnipeg
Did this page answer your question?