Skip to content
CdnMD

St. John's - Obstetrics and Gynecology

Memorial University of NewfoundlandSt. John's, Newfoundland and LabradorCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
5 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · this stream

Tue 3 Nov 2026,8:30–9:30 pm NT

2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2027virtual

St. John's, 6 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • No postgraduate subspecialty fellows, so residents get maximum exposure to interesting and difficult cases.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Two PGY1 obstetrics/gynecology blocks at a community hospital in Clarenville, NL.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Annual hands-on full-day porcine laparoscopic laboratory session.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Memorial University's Obstetrics and Gynecology residency is a 5-year program based at the Health Sciences Centre in St. John's.
  • PGY1 includes two blocks of obstetrics/gynecology in Clarenville, and PGY3–4 include community rotations in Moncton, Grand Falls-Windsor and Corner Brook.
  • Residents must complete at least two research projects and have protected Friday afternoon academic time.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Small program
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • Obstetrics/GynecologySt. John's, NL3 blocks
  • Obstetrics/GynecologyClarenville, NL2 blocks
  • Internal Medicine2 blocks
  • General Surgery2 blocks
  • Emergency Medicine1 block
  • Urology1 block
  • Neonatal Intensive Care1 block
  • Selective1 block
PGY-2
  • ICU
  • research rotation
PGY-5
  • chief residentseveral months

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • reproductive endocrinology & infertility (PGY 3 and PGY 4)
  • maternal-fetal medicine (including ultrasound) (PGY 3 and PGY 4)
  • ICU (PGY 3 and PGY 4)
  • gynecologic oncology (PGY 3 and PGY 4)
  • medical endocrinology (PGY 3 and PGY 4)
  • urogynecology (PGY 3 and PGY 4)
  • community rotations (PGY 3 and PGY 4 · Moncton, NB, Grand Falls-Windsor, NL and Corner Brook, NL)
  • colposcopy (PGY 3 and PGY 4)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador: 6 teaching sites.

  • Health Sciences Centre
  • Janeway Children's Health and Rehabilitation Centre
  • Central Newfoundland Regional Health Centre (Grand Falls-Windsor · rural or distributed site)
  • Western Health Regional Hospital (Corner Brook · rural or distributed site)
  • Dr. G. B. Cross Memorial Hospital (Clarenville · rural or distributed site)
  • The Moncton Hospital (Moncton · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: CorCare at 3 of 6; no published record for 3.

Hospital facts

4 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
CorCare, fully electronic record since Apr 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Health Sciences Centre, Central Newfoundland Regional Health Centre, Dr. G. B. Cross Memorial Hospital.

The Moncton Hospital

Matched to The Moncton Hospital / L’Hôpital de Moncton (Moncton) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
381 As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

For the other sites: Newfoundland and Labrador doesn't publish this as open data.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – New Brunswick.

About St. John's

  • People

    110,525residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of St. John's

  • Housing

    2.1%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, St

  • Winter and summer

    −3.6 °CJanuary mean16.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, St. John's (West), 4.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about St. John's (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not required · this stream

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
21 and 22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Newfoundland and Labrador, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Newfoundland and Labrador
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$69,175 / year
PGY-2
$74,779 / year
PGY-3
$79,848 / year
PGY-4
$85,137 / year
PGY-5
$90,868 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 day in 4 in-house, on average
Post-call rule (provincial)
May be relieved at 10:00 on the next regular work day, after handover, when call involved continuous or intensive care
Max continuous duty (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARNL agreement, 10 Aug 2022 to 30 Jun 2024. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

12 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Additional optional benefits, Annual vacation, CMPA dues, and more
Additional optional benefits
100% employee paid
Annual vacation
4 weeks/year
CMPA dues
100% reimbursement
Conference leave
7 days/pd
Extended health insurance
Mandatory medical, basic life and AD&Dhttp://www.exec.gov.nl.ca/exec/hrs/working_with_us/employee_benefits.html
Maternity/Paternity leave
Up to One year
Meal allowance
$105 per month
Parking fees
$5/year
Provincial health insurance
Contact Medical Care Plan1-866-449-4459
Resident Student
Full-time status
Sick leave
1 day per month
Statutory holidays
1-1/2 x pay or paid day off

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream55 years2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2027Virtual
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: info sessions, description (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream55 years2 dates, 5–6 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Memorial University's Obstetrics and Gynecology residency program is dynamic and unique due to its small size, offering close interaction between residents and faculty.
  • The program focuses on producing excellent generalist obstetricians and gynecologists while providing flexibility to meet individual resident needs and interests.
Research
Residents must complete at least two research projects, with ample faculty support and optional Masters/diploma programs in clinical epidemiology.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple hospitals in Newfoundland and Labrador, including urban academic medical centers and regional hospitals, providing diverse clinical experiences.
Teaching approach
Competence-based medical education with a rotation-based curriculum, paired academic advisors, and progressive skill development through four training stages.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Electives
  • MCCQE Part I
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal letter
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Maria Kielly

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Academic Program Administrator

Write to the officeobsgyneresidency@mun.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Obstetrics and Gynecology elsewhere

Nearest to St. John's

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Oct 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35590 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: Info sessions added 3 Nov 2026 20:30 and 1 more. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • Info sessions added 3 Nov 2026 20:30

    • Additional information: wording changed

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?