Skip to content
CdnMD

Halifax - Obstetrics and Gynecology

Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
5 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

3 dates, 1–3 Feb 2027MMI or rotating station

Halifax, 2 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Only high-risk obstetrical centre in the Maritimes.

    From “FAQ” on the CaRMS page

  • Very few fellows, so residents get more operating room time.

    From “FAQ” on the CaRMS page

  • Dalhousie's five-year Obstetrics and Gynecology residency trains mainly at the IWK Health Centre and QEII in Halifax, tertiary and quaternary referral centres for the Maritimes.
  • Residents complete community obstetrics and gynecology blocks in Saint John, New Brunswick.
  • All residents must complete a scholarly project, supported by a PGY1 research course and protected research days.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Procedural emphasis
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Surgical Foundations Boot Camp (Transition to Discipline)
  • Obstetrics & Gynaecology Boot Camp (Transition to Discipline · two blocks)
  • general surgery (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • community obstetrics (Foundations of Discipline · 2 blocks · Saint John, NB)
  • research (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • emergency (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • internal medicine (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • obs gyn (Foundations of Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • ICU (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • gyne oncology (Foundations of Discipline · 2 blocks)
  • Gynecology (Foundations of Discipline · 2 blocks · Saint John, New Brunswick)
  • reproductive endocrinology and infertility (Core of Discipline · 3 block (minimum))
  • maternal fetal medicine (Core of Discipline · 3 block (minimum))
  • gynecological oncology (Core of Discipline · 3 block (minimum))
  • urogynecology (Core of Discipline · 3 block (minimum))
  • electives (national and international) (Core of Discipline)
  • community selectives (Core of Discipline · within the Atlantic provinces)
  • Chief Resident (Core of Discipline · Six to seven blocks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Halifax, Nova Scotia: 2 teaching sites.

  • IWK Health Centre
  • Saint John Regional Hospital (Saint John · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1 of 2; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

2 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

IWK Health Centre

Clinical record
Oracle Health (One Person One Record), fully electronic record since Dec 2025 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to IWK Health Centre (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary As the province lists it. The list has no volumes or beds.

Saint John Regional Hospital

Matched to Saint John Regional Hospital / Hôpital Régional de Saint John (Saint John) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
445 As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – New Brunswick.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Nova Scotia.

About Halifax

  • People

    439,819residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Halifax

  • Housing

    2.6%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Halifax, Nova Scotia (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −4.1 °CJanuary mean18.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Shearwater, 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Halifax (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
1, 2 and 3 Feb 2027
Format
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

6 Obstetrics and Gynecology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year
PGY-3
$89,462 / year
PGY-4
$95,485 / year
PGY-5
$101,926 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house and home call · night float
Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream55 years3 dates, 1–3 Feb 2027MMI or rotating stationNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream55 years3 dates, 2–4 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Dalhousie University's Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency Program offers comprehensive, competency-based training in Halifax, Nova Scotia.
  • The program provides extensive clinical experience across various subspecialties, emphasizing academic excellence, research, and preparing residents for both generalist and subspecialty careers in Obstetrics and Gynecology.
Research
Residents are required to complete one research project, with protected research time, biostatistics support, and annual Resident Research Day.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers in Halifax, Nova Scotia, including IWK Health Centre and QEII Health Science Centre, with additional training in Saint John, New Brunswick and potential community rotations across Maritime provinces.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with progressive independence, emphasizing milestone-based learning, frequent formative assessments, and comprehensive skill development across all CanMEDS roles.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Elective performance
  • Interview performance
  • MMI interview stations

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Obstetrics and Gynecology elsewhere

Nearest to Halifax

  • Montreal, QC · 790 km

    5 positions · Regular

    Bilingual
  • St. John's - Obstetrics and GynecologyMemorial University of Newfoundland

    St. John's, NL · 897 km

    5 positions · CMG

  • Ottawa, ON · 955 km

    6 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 11 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35750 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?