Skip to content
CdnMD

St. John's - Internal Medicine

Memorial University of NewfoundlandSt. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
14 positions
2 positions
Length
3 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · CMGs only

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · 5 years

Interviews

2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2027virtual

St. John's, 6 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Residents can complete a Masters in Clinical Epidemiology during residency, with protected time for lectures.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents can complete a certificate in Medical Education during residency, with protected lecture time.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Memorial University's Internal Medicine program is a 3-year residency based mainly at The Health Sciences Centre, with some rotations at St. Clare's Mercy Hospital.
  • Residents complete one block of community internal medicine, which may be rural or urban, and are required to complete a research or scholarly project.
  • Call combines traditional 24-hour call and night float.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • one-block rotations on different CTUs3 one-block rotations
  • junior CTU ward resident3 blocks
  • Junior Day Float1 block
  • Cardiology1 block
  • Neurology1 block
  • Ambulatory Clinics1 block
  • Geriatric Medicine1 block
  • Internal Medicine selectivea teaching site in St. John's1 block
  • Elective1 block
PGY-2
  • junior CTU ward resident3 blocks
  • CCU2 blocks
  • medicine selectives (subspecialty rotations)2 one-block
  • ICU2 blocks
  • elective in second 6 blocks1 block
  • night float1 block (4 weeks)
  • ambulatory general medicine clinics1 block
  • mandatory community experienceSt. Clare's Mercy Hospital, Grand Falls-Windsor, Carbonear or Corner Brook1 block
PGY-3
  • selective rotation on the different subspecialty services7 blocks
  • senior CTU ward resident3 blocks
  • Senior Day Float1 block
  • elective, pre-CaRMS1 block
  • night float1 block (4 weeks)
PGY-4
  • elective8 blocks
  • junior consultant on a CTU2 blocks
  • critical care1 block
  • ambulatory1 block
  • community medicine1 block
PGY-1
  • one-block rotations on different CTUs3 one-block rotations
  • junior CTU ward resident3 blocks
  • Junior Day Float1 block
  • Cardiology1 block
  • Neurology1 block
  • Ambulatory Clinics1 block
  • Geriatric Medicine1 block
  • Internal Medicine selectivea teaching site in St. John's1 block
  • Elective1 block
PGY-2
  • junior CTU ward resident3 blocks
  • CCU2 blocks
  • medicine selectives (subspecialty rotations)2 one-block
  • ICU2 blocks
  • elective1 block
  • night float1 block (4 weeks)
  • ambulatory general medicine clinics1 block
  • mandatory community experienceSt. Clare's Mercy Hospital, Grand Falls-Windsor, Carbonear or Corner Brook1 block
PGY-3
  • selective rotation on the different subspecialty services7 blocks
  • senior CTU ward resident3 blocks
  • Senior Day Float1 block
  • elective, pre-CaRMS1 block
  • night float1 block (4 weeks)
PGY-4
  • elective8 blocks
  • junior consultant on a CTU2 blocks
  • critical care1 block
  • ambulatory1 block
  • community medicine1 block

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador: 6 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • The Health Sciences Centre
  • St. Clare's Mercy Hospital
  • Ambulatory Health Hub
  • The Leonard A. Miller Centre
  • Central Regional Health Care Centre (Grand Falls-Windsor · rural or distributed site)
  • Western Memorial Regional Hospital (Corner Brook · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: CorCare at 4 of 6; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
CorCare, fully electronic record since Apr 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026. At The Health Sciences Centre, St. Clare's Mercy Hospital, Central Regional Health Care Centre, Western Memorial Regional Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Newfoundland and Labrador doesn't publish this as open data.

About St. John's

  • People

    110,525residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of St. John's

  • Housing

    2.1%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, St

  • Winter and summer

    −3.6 °CJanuary mean16.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, St. John's (West), 4.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about St. John's (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not required · CMGs only
Return of service
Required · 5 years
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
21 and 22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.

16 Internal Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Newfoundland and Labrador, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 3 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Newfoundland and Labrador
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$69,175 / year
PGY-2
$74,779 / year
PGY-3
$79,848 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house and home call · night float · frequency “1:4”
Call (provincial max)
1 day in 4 in-house, on average
Post-call rule (provincial)
May be relieved at 10:00 on the next regular work day, after handover, when call involved continuous or intensive care
Max continuous duty (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARNL agreement, 10 Aug 2022 to 30 Jun 2024. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

12 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Additional optional benefits, Annual vacation, CMPA dues, and more
Additional optional benefits
100% employee paid
Annual vacation
4 weeks/year
CMPA dues
100% reimbursement
Conference leave
7 days/pd
Extended health insurance
Mandatory medical, basic life and AD&Dhttp://www.exec.gov.nl.ca/exec/hrs/working_with_us/employee_benefits.html
Maternity/Paternity leave
Up to One year
Meal allowance
$105 per month
Parking fees
$5/year
Provincial health insurance
Contact Medical Care Plan1-866-449-4459
Resident Student
Full-time status
Sick leave
1 day per month
Statutory holidays
1-1/2 x pay or paid day off

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: St. John's.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
20201 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202100
202200
20231 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202400
20253 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20263 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream143 years2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream23 years2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream145 years4 dates, 9–23 Jan 2026
IMG stream25 years4 dates, 9–23 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Memorial University's Internal Medicine Residency Program offers a comprehensive 3-year training experience focused on developing exceptionally competent and professional Internists.
  • The program provides a rich learning environment with a strong emphasis on clinical skills, research opportunities, and personal growth, preparing residents for diverse career paths in internal medicine.
Research
Residents are required to complete a research or scholarly project, with mentorship, funding for conference presentations, and options for a Master's in Clinical Epidemiology.
Training setting
Training occurs primarily at the Health Sciences Centre in St. John's, with additional rotations at St. Clare's Mercy Hospital and other regional hospitals in Newfoundland, offering a diverse urban and community healthcare experience.
Teaching approach
The program uses a Competence By Design approach with regular EPA completion, academic advising, performance reviews, and a focus on developing clinical reasoning skills and non-medical expert CanMEDS roles.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Academic Program Administrator, Academic Program Assistant

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Internal Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to St. John's

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35386 (CMG stream), 36030 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream