Skip to content
CdnMD

Regional New Brunswick - Internal Medicine

Dalhousie UniversityRegional New Brunswick, New BrunswickCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
3 positions+1 from 2 in the 2026 match
Length
3 years
Applications per year
401–600
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

4 dates, 19–28 Jan 2027virtual

Regional New Brunswick, 3 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Core internal medicine training largely based at a regional New Brunswick hospital (The Moncton Hospital).

    From “FAQ” on the CaRMS page

  • The NB Regional Stream is an extension of the Saint John Internal Medicine Residency Program, with up to 7 blocks each year based at The Moncton Hospital.
  • Residents also rotate at Saint John Regional Hospital and the QEII Health Sciences Centre in Halifax, with accommodation and travel reimbursement provided.
  • The core program is three years, and interviews are held virtually.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Offered · research project · protected time
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • NeurologyThe Moncton Hospital
  • EndocrinologyThe Moncton Hospital
  • Geriatric MedicineThe Moncton Hospital
  • ICUThe Moncton Hospital
  • General Internal MedicineThe Moncton Hospital
  • HematologyThe Moncton Hospital
  • CCUThe Moncton Hospital
  • MTUQEII Health Sciences Centre in Halifax
  • MTUSaint John Regional Hospital
  • NephrologySaint John Regional Hospital
  • community rotationFredericton, NB; Miramichi, NB; or Waterville, NB
PGY-2
  • RespirologyThe Moncton Hospital
  • RheumatologyThe Moncton Hospital
  • Infectious DiseaseThe Moncton Hospital
  • GastroenterologyThe Moncton Hospital
  • selectives
  • MTUSaint John
  • CCUSaint John
  • ambulatory clinicsSaint John
  • ICUHalifax
  • Community Experience rotationFredericton, NB; Miramichi NB; Waterville, NB; Charlottetown PEI; Dartmouth, NS; Kentville, NS, Yarmouth, NS; Bridgewater NS; New Glascow, NS; or Sydney, NS
PGY-3
  • Ambulatory Care Clinic (ACC) rotationHalifax
  • Medical Teaching Unit (MTU) rotationHalifax
  • electives

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Regional New Brunswick, New Brunswick: 3 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

Also trains in: Saint John Regional Hospital, QEII Health Sciences Centre (Halifax)

  • The Moncton Hospital (Horizon Health Network, New Brunswick) (Moncton)
  • Saint John Regional Hospital (Horizon Health Network, New Brunswick) (Saint John)
  • QE II Health Sciences Centre (Nova Scotia Health Authority) (Halifax)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1 of 3; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

3 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Inpatient beds. As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.
  • Hospital type. As the province lists it. The list has no volumes or beds.

The Moncton Hospital (Horizon Health Network, New Brunswick)

Matched to The Moncton Hospital / L’Hôpital de Moncton (Moncton) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
381

Saint John Regional Hospital (Horizon Health Network, New Brunswick)

Matched to Saint John Regional Hospital / Hôpital Régional de Saint John (Saint John) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
445

QE II Health Sciences Centre (Nova Scotia Health Authority)

Clinical record
One Person One Record, fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

This name covers 2 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax)
Hospital type
Tertiary
QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax)
Hospital type
Tertiary

Nova Scotia's One Person One Record is live at IWK Health and at Nova Scotia Health's Central Zone. The other zones follow, provincewide by the end of 2026 (the province's date). As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – New Brunswick.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Nova Scotia.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 21, 26 and 28 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

16 Internal Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 3 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year
PGY-3
$89,462 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream33 years4 dates, 19–28 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 2 → 3 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream25 years2 dates, 9–12 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Dalhousie University Internal Medicine Regional New Brunswick program offers comprehensive training across multiple sites, including Halifax, Saint John, and Moncton.
  • Residents gain in-depth experience in all disciplines of internal medicine through a graded responsibility model, with opportunities to train in diverse clinical settings and develop strong clinical skills.
Research
Residents participate in a two-month Research Methods course, have access to research support, and can complete research electives or longitudinal research projects.
Training setting
Multi-site training across urban and community hospitals in Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, including QE II Health Sciences Centre, Saint John Regional Hospital, and The Moncton Hospital.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education with progressive responsibility, emphasizing graded learning, interprofessional collaboration, and comprehensive clinical skill development.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • CV
  • Elective evaluations
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Education Coordinator, Education Manager

Write to the officedomeducation@nshealth.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Discussed on Reddit

Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.

These are public Reddit posts, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Internal Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Regional New Brunswick

  • Saint John - Internal MedicineDalhousie University

    Saint John · 135 km

    5 positions · CMG

  • Regional Nova Scotia, NS · 186 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • Halifax - Internal MedicineDalhousie University

    Halifax, NS · 186 km

    15 positions · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 11 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35738 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?