Skip to content
CdnMD

Regional Nova Scotia - Internal Medicine

Dalhousie UniversityRegional Nova Scotia, Nova ScotiaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
3 years
Applications per year
401–600
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

4 dates, 19–28 Jan 2027virtual

Regional Nova Scotia, 3 teaching sites · required rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Four PGY1 months at Cape Breton Regional Hospital in Sydney, NS.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Up to 13 rotations at Nova Scotia community sites over PGY1-3.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Most MTU rotations take place in Saint John, New Brunswick.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This three-year Internal Medicine stream bases residents in Halifax, with core teaching at the QEII Health Sciences Centre.
  • PGY1 includes 4 rotations at Cape Breton Regional Hospital in Sydney, and residents may spend up to 13 rotations at Nova Scotia community sites.
  • Most MTU rotations for this stream are scheduled in Saint John, NB.
  • Travel and accommodation for mandatory community rotations are reimbursed.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Procedural emphasis
Research
Offered · research project · protected time
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • community-basedCape Breton NS4 rotations
  • communityDartmouth, NS; Kentville, NS; Yarmouth, NS; Bridgewater NS, or Sydney, NS
PGY-2
  • Saint John Regional Hospital (SJRH)Saint John Regional Hospital (SJRH), New Brunswick2 rotations
  • community-based rotationNSup to 4 rotations
  • elective rotationstwo
  • Medical Teaching Unit
  • Emergency Department
  • Critical Care
  • Coronary Care Unit
  • subspecialty rotationsHalifax
PGY-3
  • community-based rotationNSup to 3 rotations
  • electives2
  • Ambulatory Care Clinics
  • consultation services
  • MTUHalifax and in Saint John
  • Critical Care
  • General Internal MedicineYarmouth, NS

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Regional Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia: 3 teaching sites; required rural rotation.

  • QE II Health Sciences Centre (Nova Scotia Health Authority) (Halifax)
  • Saint John Regional Hospital (Horizon Health Network, New Brunswick) (Saint John)
  • Cape Breton Regional Hospital (Sydney · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 2 of 3; no published record for 1.

Moving to a new system: Cape Breton Regional Hospital (by Dec 2026).

Hospital facts

3 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Hospital type. As the province lists it. The list has no volumes or beds.

QE II Health Sciences Centre (Nova Scotia Health Authority)

Clinical record
One Person One Record, fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

This name covers 2 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax)
Hospital type
Tertiary
QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax)
Hospital type
Tertiary

Saint John Regional Hospital (Horizon Health Network, New Brunswick)

Matched to Saint John Regional Hospital / Hôpital Régional de Saint John (Saint John) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
445 As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.

Cape Breton Regional Hospital

Clinical record
One Person One Record, moving to a new system, by Dec 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Cape Breton Regional Hospital (Sydney) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Regional

Nova Scotia's One Person One Record is live at IWK Health and at Nova Scotia Health's Central Zone. The other zones follow, provincewide by the end of 2026 (the province's date). As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – New Brunswick.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Nova Scotia.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 21, 26 and 28 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

16 Internal Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 3 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year
PGY-3
$89,462 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · frequency “one in four”
Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream23 years4 dates, 19–28 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream25 years2 dates, 9–12 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Dalhousie University Internal Medicine Residency Program offers comprehensive training in internal medicine across Nova Scotia, with a focus on providing excellent clinical experiences in both academic and community settings.
  • Residents receive broad exposure to various medical disciplines, with opportunities for community rotations and progressive clinical responsibility throughout their training.
Research
Residents participate in a two-month Research Methods course, have opportunities for research electives, and are supported in presenting and publishing research.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple sites in Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, including the QEII Health Sciences Centre in Halifax, Saint John Regional Hospital, and various community hospitals throughout Nova Scotia.
Teaching approach
Graded responsibility with a focus on CanMEDS 2015 roles, progressive clinical independence, and comprehensive medical education across diverse clinical settings.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Reference Letters
  • Personal Letter
  • CV
  • Elective Evaluations
  • Interview Performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Education Coordinator, Education Manager

Write to the officedomeducation@nshealth.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Discussed on Reddit

Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.

These are public Reddit posts, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Internal Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Regional Nova Scotia

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 11 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36043 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?