Skip to content
CdnMD

Urban and Rural - Family Medicine

Memorial University of NewfoundlandUrban and Rural, Newfoundland and LabradorIMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
2 years
Applications per year
201–400
Offered interviews
76–100%

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · this stream

Interviews

2 dates, 20–21 Jan 2027virtual

Urban and Rural, province-wide: no single base · optional rural rotation

After residency in Newfoundland and Labrador: capitation model open to new graduates

What stands out about this program

  • Training sites extend across Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, and Nunavut.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Free housing is provided for core rotations away from the resident's homebase.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Memorial's two-year Family Medicine program trains physicians for urban, rural and remote practice across Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, and Nunavut.
  • The Urban and Rural stream may place residents throughout the province depending on rotation availability.
  • IMG-stream matches must sign a return-in-service agreement of two years in Labrador-Grenfell or five years elsewhere in the province.
  • Residents complete a mandatory QI scholarly project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Mixed settings
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Other
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Urban and Rural, Newfoundland and Labrador. Province-wide: no single base. CaRMS says residents may be placed throughout Newfoundland and Labrador, depending on rotation availability.

Distributed across a region

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Required · this stream
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
20 and 21 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Newfoundland and Labrador, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Newfoundland and Labrador
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$69,175 / year
PGY-2
$74,779 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 day in 4 in-house, on average
Post-call rule (provincial)
May be relieved at 10:00 on the next regular work day, after handover, when call involved continuous or intensive care
Max continuous duty (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARNL agreement, 10 Aug 2022 to 30 Jun 2024. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

12 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Additional optional benefits, Annual vacation, CMPA dues, and more
Additional optional benefits
100% employee paid
Annual vacation
4 weeks/year
CMPA dues
100% reimbursement
Conference leave
7 days/pd
Extended health insurance
Mandatory medical, basic life and AD&Dhttp://www.exec.gov.nl.ca/exec/hrs/working_with_us/employee_benefits.html
Maternity/Paternity leave
Up to One year
Meal allowance
$105 per month
Parking fees
$5/year
Provincial health insurance
Contact Medical Care Plan1-866-449-4459
Resident Student
Full-time status
Sick leave
1 day per month
Statutory holidays
1-1/2 x pay or paid day off

After residency

Family doctors in Newfoundland and Labrador can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for enrolled patients and visits: the Blended Capitation Model (BCM). New graduates can join; they are eligible for both the start-up grant and the transition grant unless they join an established group, which has no start-up grant. To join: a group of at least three family physicians. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
IMG stream12 years2 dates, 20–21 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
IMG stream12 years2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the IMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Memorial University's Family Medicine Residency Program offers comprehensive two-year training across urban, rural, and remote settings in Newfoundland and Labrador and New Brunswick.
  • The program focuses on developing competent family physicians through the Triple C Competency-based Curriculum, preparing residents to provide comprehensive care in any Canadian community.
Research
Mandatory Quality Improvement scholarly project, with optional additional scholarly project opportunities in research, systematic review, policy, or knowledge translation.
Training setting
Training across multiple sites in Newfoundland and Labrador and New Brunswick, including urban, rural, and remote communities with diverse clinical environments.
Teaching approach
Triple C Competency-based Curriculum focused on comprehensive care, continuity of care, and preparing residents for evolving societal needs using evidence-based medical education.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV review
  • Elective experiences
  • NAC examination
  • FMProC Situational Judgement Test
  • MCCQE Part I
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Kerry-Lynn Williams

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Academic Program Assistant

Write to the officefamilymed@mun.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Urban and Rural

  • Eastern Stream - Family MedicineMemorial University of Newfoundland

    Eastern Stream · 17 km

    14 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Central Stream - Family MedicineMemorial University of Newfoundland

    Central Stream · 243 km

    5 positions · CMG, IMG

    Rural
  • Cape Breton - Family MedicineDalhousie University

    Cape Breton, NS · 590 km

    8 positions · CMG, IMG, Nova Scotian IMG

    Regional

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35877 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?