Skip to content
CdnMD

Central Stream - Family Medicine

Memorial University of NewfoundlandCentral Stream, Newfoundland and Labrador

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
1 position
Length
2 years
Applications per year
201–400
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · CMGs only

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

Interviews

2 dates, 20–21 Jan 2027virtual

Central Stream, 5 teaching sites · based in a rural community

After residency in Newfoundland and Labrador: capitation model open to new graduates

What stands out about this program

  • All training occurs at rural sites, including island communities such as Fogo and Twillingate.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Free housing for core rotations away from the home base, plus reimbursed travel.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Memorial's two-year Family Medicine Central Stream trains residents entirely at rural sites in Central Newfoundland and Labrador.
  • Sites include Gander, Botwood, Twillingate, Fogo and Grand Falls-Windsor, and each resident is assigned a home community for most of second year.
  • All residents complete a mandatory quality improvement scholarly project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Other
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Central Stream, Newfoundland and Labrador: 5 teaching sites; based in a rural community.

  • Gander (Gander · rural or distributed site)
  • Botwood (Botwood · rural or distributed site)
  • Twillingate (Twillingate · rural or distributed site)
  • Fogo (Fogo · rural or distributed site)
  • Grand Falls-Windsor (Grand Falls-Windsor · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: CorCare at 4 of 5; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
CorCare, fully electronic record since Apr 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Gander, Twillingate, Fogo, Grand Falls-Windsor.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Newfoundland and Labrador doesn't publish this as open data.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not required · CMGs only
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
20 and 21 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Newfoundland and Labrador, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Newfoundland and Labrador
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$69,175 / year
PGY-2
$74,779 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 day in 4 in-house, on average
Post-call rule (provincial)
May be relieved at 10:00 on the next regular work day, after handover, when call involved continuous or intensive care
Max continuous duty (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARNL agreement, 10 Aug 2022 to 30 Jun 2024. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

12 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Additional optional benefits, Annual vacation, CMPA dues, and more
Additional optional benefits
100% employee paid
Annual vacation
4 weeks/year
CMPA dues
100% reimbursement
Conference leave
7 days/pd
Extended health insurance
Mandatory medical, basic life and AD&Dhttp://www.exec.gov.nl.ca/exec/hrs/working_with_us/employee_benefits.html
Maternity/Paternity leave
Up to One year
Meal allowance
$105 per month
Parking fees
$5/year
Provincial health insurance
Contact Medical Care Plan1-866-449-4459
Resident Student
Full-time status
Sick leave
1 day per month
Statutory holidays
1-1/2 x pay or paid day off

After residency

Family doctors in Newfoundland and Labrador can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for enrolled patients and visits: the Blended Capitation Model (BCM). New graduates can join; they are eligible for both the start-up grant and the transition grant unless they join an established group, which has no start-up grant. To join: a group of at least three family physicians. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 6 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 2 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Central Stream.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream42 years2 dates, 20–21 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream12 years2 dates, 20–21 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream42 years2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2026
IMG stream12 years2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Memorial University's Family Medicine Residency Training Program offers a comprehensive two-year program focused on training physicians for urban, rural, and remote practice across Newfoundland and Labrador and New Brunswick.
  • The program uses unique medical, geographic, and cultural characteristics to prepare residents for diverse family medicine environments.
Research
Mandatory quality improvement scholarly project, with optional additional scholarly project opportunities in research, systematic review, policy, or knowledge translation.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple sites in Newfoundland and Labrador and New Brunswick, including urban, rural, and remote communities with diverse clinical environments.
Teaching approach
Uses the Triple C Competency-based Curriculum focused on comprehensive care, continuity of care, and preparing residents to practice in any Canadian community with social responsibility and patient safety.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV review
  • Elective experiences
  • FMProC Situational Judgement Test
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Kerry-Lynn Williams

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Academic Program Assistant

Write to the officefamilymed@mun.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Central Stream

  • Eastern-Clarenville - Family MedicineMemorial University of Newfoundland

    Eastern-Clarenville · 130 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Western Stream - Family MedicineMemorial University of Newfoundland

    Western Stream · 173 km

    6 positions · CMG

    Rural
  • Eastern-Conception Bay North - Family MedicineMemorial University of Newfoundland

    Eastern-Conception Bay North · 202 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 17 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36272 (CMG stream), 36505 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream