Skip to content
CdnMD

Cape Breton - Family Medicine

Dalhousie UniversityCape Breton, Nova Scotia

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
6 positions+1 from 5 in the 2026 match
1 position
1 position
Length
2 years
Applications per year
401–600
601+
601+
Offered interviews
76–100%
0–25%
0–25%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: “Only IMGs who participate in the first iteration MMI will be considered for subsequent…” details under How they choose

Nova Scotian IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirement: “Only IMGs who participate in the first iteration MMI will be considered for subsequent…” details under How they choose

Thu 5 Nov 2026,7:00–9:00 pm AST

Interviews

5 dates, 25–29 Jan 2027virtual

1 date, 22 Jan 2027virtual

1 date, 22 Jan 2027virtual

Cape Breton, 5 teaching sites8 teaching sites8 teaching sites · 16 rural weeks

A car is required

After residency in Nova Scotia: hours-based model open to new graduates

What stands out about this program

  • Residents spend one full day every two weeks at their family medicine preceptor's office during specialty rotations.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents can be matched to a preceptor with similar interests, such as EM, palliative care or obstetrics.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 2-year community-based family medicine residency in Sydney, Cape Breton, affiliated with Dalhousie University.
  • Cape Breton Regional Hospital is the primary teaching facility for specialty rotations, and family medicine teaching uses a one-to-one preceptor model.
  • Residents spend four weeks in PGY1 and 12 weeks in PGY2 in rural/community locations such as Baddeck, Cheticamp, Arichat or Neil's Harbour.
  • A scholarly project is required, with protected time.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (16 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Palliative Care
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Other
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Core Family MedicineSydney, North Sydney, New Waterford, Glace Bay8 weeks
  • PediatricsSydney8 weeks
  • Emergency MedicineSydney4 weeks
  • Orientation in FMSydney4 weeks
  • General SurgerySydney4 weeks
  • Internal MedicineSydney4 weeks
  • HospitalistSydney4 weeks
  • FM OBSydney4 weeks
  • GynecologySydney4 weeks
  • OrthopaedicsSydney4 weeks
  • SelectiveCape Breton4 weeks
  • Vacation4 weeks
PGY-2
  • Core Family MedicineSydney, North Sydney, New Waterford, Glace Bay16 weeks
  • Community Family MedicineBaddeck, Cheticamp, Arichat, Neil's Harbour12 weeks
  • Electives4 weeks Resident's choice, 4 weeks Maritime Provinces8 weeks
  • ICUSydney4 weeks
  • PsychiatrySydney4 weeks
  • Palliative CareSydney4 weeks
  • Vacation4 weeks
  • GeriatricsSydney2 weeks

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Cape Breton, Nova Scotia: 5 teaching sites8 teaching sites8 teaching sites; 16 rural weeks. A car is required.

  • Cape Breton Regional Hospital (Sydney)
  • Baddeck (Baddeck · rural or distributed site)
  • Cheticamp (Cheticamp · rural or distributed site)
  • Arichat (Arichat · rural or distributed site)
  • Neil's Harbour (Neil's Harbour · rural or distributed site)
  • Cape Breton Regional Hospital (Sydney)
  • North Sydney (North Sydney)
  • New Waterford (New Waterford)
  • Glace Bay (Glace Bay)
  • Baddeck (Baddeck · rural or distributed site)
  • Cheticamp (Cheticamp · rural or distributed site)
  • Arichat (Arichat · rural or distributed site)
  • Neil's Harbour (Neil's Harbour · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

  • Cape Breton Regional Hospital (Sydney)
  • North Sydney (North Sydney)
  • New Waterford (New Waterford)
  • Glace Bay (Glace Bay)
  • Baddeck (Baddeck · rural or distributed site)
  • Cheticamp (Cheticamp · rural or distributed site)
  • Arichat (Arichat · rural or distributed site)
  • Neil's Harbour (Neil's Harbour · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1 of 8; no published record for 7.

Moving to a new system: Cape Breton Regional Hospital (by Dec 2026).

Hospital facts

1 site · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Cape Breton Regional Hospital

Clinical record
One Person One Record, moving to a new system, by Dec 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Cape Breton Regional Hospital (Sydney) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Regional As the province lists it. The list has no volumes or beds.

Nova Scotia's One Person One Record is live at IWK Health and at Nova Scotia Health's Central Zone. The other zones follow, provincewide by the end of 2026 (the province's date). As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Nova Scotia.

About Cape Breton

  • People

    93,694residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Cape Breton

  • Housing

    2.7%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −5.0 °CJanuary mean18.2 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Sydney, 5.7 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Cape Breton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • “Only IMGs who participate in the first iteration MMI will be considered for subsequent iterations of the CaRMS match.”
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • “Only IMGs who participate in the first iteration MMI will be considered for subsequent iterations of the CaRMS match.”

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25, 26, 27, 28 and 29 Jan 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
22 Jan 2027
Interview dates (2027 match)
22 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station
Format
Virtual
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

After residency

Family doctors in Nova Scotia can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for hours worked, enrolled patients and visits: the Longitudinal Family Medicine (LFM) payment model. New-to-practice physicians have a protected panel for their first year, based on the FTE in their offer letter. To join: 46 weeks a year in office-based clinical practice. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Cape Breton.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
20201 position open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202100
202200
202300
20243 positions open after round 1 in 2024, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20255 positions open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream62 years5 dates, 25–29 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 5 → 6 from the 2026 match
IMG stream12 years1 date, 22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
Nova Scotian IMG stream12 years1 date, 22 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream52 years10 dates, 13 Nov 2025 – 6 Feb 2026
IMG stream12 years5 dates, 13 Nov 2025 – 6 Feb 2026
Nova Scotian IMG stream12 years5 dates, 13 Nov 2025 – 6 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Cape Breton Family Medicine Residency Program prepares residents to become confident and competent family physicians capable of practicing in rural and urban settings.
  • Located in Sydney, Nova Scotia, the program offers a community-based preceptor model that emphasizes hands-on practical learning across diverse healthcare environments.
Research
Residents are required to complete a scholarly project with protected time for research activities.
Training setting
Community-based training in Sydney, Cape Breton, utilizing four acute care facilities and five rural facilities, with Cape Breton Regional Hospital as the primary teaching site.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing hands-on practical learning through a preceptor model and exposure to diverse clinical settings.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • FMProC assessment
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • CV
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Sasha Sealy

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Accreditation and CaRMS Administrator

Write to the officefmresidency@dal.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Cape Breton

  • Inverness - Cape Breton · 71 km

    2 positions · CMG

    Rural
  • North Nova - Family MedicineDalhousie University

    North Nova · 208 km

    11 positions · CMG, IMG, Nova Scotian IMG

    Rural
  • Prince Edward Island · 226 km

    9 positions · CMG, IMG

    Regional

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 11 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 11 Sep 2026 · The Nova Scotian IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 11 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35605 (CMG stream), 36257 (IMG stream), 35464 (Nova Scotian IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG streamNova Scotian IMG stream · change stream