Skip to content
CdnMD

Eastern Stream - Family Medicine

Memorial University of NewfoundlandEastern Stream, Newfoundland and Labrador

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
12 positions−2 from 14 in the 2026 match
2 positions
Length
2 years
Applications per year
201–400
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

Interviews

2 dates, 20–21 Jan 2027virtual

Eastern Stream, teaching sites not stated on CaRMS page4 teaching sites · required rural rotation

After residency in Newfoundland and Labrador: capitation model open to new graduates

What stands out about this program

  • Free housing and reimbursed travel for core rotations away from the resident's home base.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents are often the only resident on service, with low learner-to-preceptor ratios.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Memorial's Eastern Stream is a two-year Family Medicine residency trained mostly in the eastern region of Newfoundland and Labrador.
  • Year 1 core rotations are mostly in St. John's, including a six-month integrated Family Medicine and Care of the Elderly experience.
  • Year 2 includes four-month rural Family Medicine placements, and all residents complete a mandatory QI scholarly project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Mixed settings
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Other
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • integrated Family Medicine and Care of the Elderlysix-month period
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Surgery
  • Academic Family Medicine
PGY-2
  • rural Family Medicineacross the Eastern Streamfour-month placements
  • Urban Family Medicinein and around St. John's
  • Pediatrics
  • Palliative Care
  • Orthopedics
PGY-1
  • integrated family medicine and care of the elderlySt. John’sspread over six months
  • Obstetrics & gynecologyrural sites across NL and/or in New Brunswick
  • surgeryrural sites across NL and/or in New Brunswick
PGY-2
  • rural family medicinethroughout the Eastern Streamfour months to a full year
  • Urban family medicinein and around St. John’s
  • PediatricSt. John’s or in rural locations across NL and/or in New Brunswick
  • palliative careSt. John’s or in rural locations across NL and/or in New Brunswick
  • orthopedicSt. John’s or in rural locations across NL and/or in New Brunswick

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Eastern Stream, Newfoundland and Labrador: teaching sites not stated on the CaRMS page4 teaching sites; required rural rotation.

Distributed across a region

  • St. John’s (St. John's)
  • Burin (Burin · rural or distributed site)
  • Clarenville (Clarenville · rural or distributed site)
  • Conception Bay North (rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: CorCare at 1 of 4; no published record for 3.

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not required
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
20 and 21 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Newfoundland and Labrador, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Newfoundland and Labrador
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$69,175 / year
PGY-2
$74,779 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 day in 4 in-house, on average
Post-call rule (provincial)
May be relieved at 10:00 on the next regular work day, after handover, when call involved continuous or intensive care
Max continuous duty (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARNL agreement, 10 Aug 2022 to 30 Jun 2024. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

12 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Additional optional benefits, Annual vacation, CMPA dues, and more
Additional optional benefits
100% employee paid
Annual vacation
4 weeks/year
CMPA dues
100% reimbursement
Conference leave
7 days/pd
Extended health insurance
Mandatory medical, basic life and AD&Dhttp://www.exec.gov.nl.ca/exec/hrs/working_with_us/employee_benefits.html
Maternity/Paternity leave
Up to One year
Meal allowance
$105 per month
Parking fees
$5/year
Provincial health insurance
Contact Medical Care Plan1-866-449-4459
Resident Student
Full-time status
Sick leave
1 day per month
Statutory holidays
1-1/2 x pay or paid day off

After residency

Family doctors in Newfoundland and Labrador can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for enrolled patients and visits: the Blended Capitation Model (BCM). New graduates can join; they are eligible for both the start-up grant and the transition grant unless they join an established group, which has no start-up grant. To join: a group of at least three family physicians. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Eastern Stream.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
20191 position open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)1 position open after round 2 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)
202000
20211 position open after round 1 in 2021, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202200
202300
202400
20251 position open after round 1 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
20265 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream122 years2 dates, 20–21 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 14 → 12 from the 2026 match
IMG stream22 years2 dates, 20–21 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream142 years2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2026
IMG stream22 years2 dates, 21–22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Memorial University's Family Medicine Residency Training Program offers a comprehensive two-year program focused on training physicians for urban, rural, and remote practice across Newfoundland and Labrador and New Brunswick.
  • The program uses unique medical, geographic, and cultural characteristics to prepare residents for diverse family medicine practice environments.
Research
Mandatory quality improvement scholarly project, with optional additional scholarly project opportunities in research, reviews, policy, or knowledge translation.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple sites in Newfoundland and Labrador and New Brunswick, including urban centers, rural communities, and remote locations like Goose Bay.
Teaching approach
Uses the Triple C Competency-based Curriculum focused on comprehensive care, continuity of care, and preparing residents to practice in any Canadian community with competence and social responsibility.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV review
  • Elective experiences
  • FMProC Situational Judgement Test
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Medical student performance record
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Kerry-Lynn Williams

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Academic Program Assistant

Write to the officefamilymed@mun.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Eastern Stream

  • Urban and Rural - Family MedicineMemorial University of Newfoundland

    Urban and Rural · 17 km

    1 position · IMG

  • Eastern-Conception Bay North - Family MedicineMemorial University of Newfoundland

    Eastern-Conception Bay North · 32 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Eastern-Clarenville - Family MedicineMemorial University of Newfoundland

    Eastern-Clarenville · 100 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35834 (CMG stream), 35413 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream