Ottawa - Ophthalmology
University of OttawaOttawa, Ontario
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 21
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 0–25%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
IMG stream · open to international medical graduates
Open house
details info sessions of this programTue 3 Nov 2026,7:00 pm EDTvia CANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Interviews
1 date, 3 Feb 2027
Not stated on the IMG stream’s CaRMS page
Ottawa, CMG stream: 9 teaching sites · IMG stream: 7 teaching sites · optional rural rotation
What stands out about this program
Residents can participate in refractive surgery.
From “FAQ” on the CaRMS page
Elective rotation at the Baffin Program in Iqaluit, Nunavut, where senior residents act as primary surgeons for minor procedures.
From “FAQ” on the CaRMS page
Five-day orbital anatomy course with cadaver orbit dissection.
From “FAQ” on the CaRMS page
- The University of Ottawa ophthalmology residency is a five-year program with a broad-based PGY-1 followed by four core ophthalmology years.
- Residents train at three academic hospital sites in Ottawa, including a four-month pediatric ophthalmology rotation at CHEO in PGY-3.
- Surgical simulation begins in PGY-2, and residents have about a half day per week of protected research time from PGY-2 to PGY-4.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
By year
- PGY-1
- Toronto Ophthalmology Introductory Course (TORIC)2 month
- elective blockfour week
- ophthalmology clinicstwo weeks
- comprehensive ophthalmology
- general medicine
- ER
- endocrinology
- ENT
- neurology
- plastic surgery
- pediatric emergency
- rheumatology
- dermatology
- adult emergency
- PGY-2
- comprehensive ophthalmology clinicshalf of their PGY2 year
- Ophthalmic Diagnosticsa block
- pediatric ophthalmologyone month
- PGY-3
- Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus surgeryfour-month
- PGY-4
- community block
- PGY-5
- glaucoma2-3 blocks
- neuro-ophthalmology2-3 blocks
- retina/uveitis2-3 blocks
- oculoplastics2-3 blocks
- cornea and anterior segment, including advanced cataract and refractive surgery2-3 blocks
- PGY-1
- Toronto Ophthalmology Introductory Course (TORIC)2 month period
- elective blockfour week
- ophthalmology clinicstwo weeks
- comprehensive ophthalmology
- general medicine
- ER
- endocrinology
- ENT
- neurology
- plastic surgery
- pediatric emergency
- rheumatology
- dermatology
- adult emergency
- PGY-2
- community ophthalmology settinghalf of their PGY2 year
- Ophthalmic Diagnosticsa block
- pediatric ophthalmology
- PGY-3
- pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus surgeryfour to five months
- Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus surgeryfour-month
- PGY-4
- learning cataract surgeryfour months
- community block
- PGY-5
- glaucoma2-3 blocks
- neuro-ophthalmology2-3 blocks
- retina/uveitis2-3 blocks
- oculoplastics2-3 blocks
- cornea and anterior segment, including advanced cataract and refractive surgery2-3 blocks
- pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus surgeryone to two months
Where you train
Ottawa, Ontario: CMG stream: 9 teaching sites · IMG stream: 7 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.
- University of Ottawa Eye Institute, The Ottawa Hospital - General Campus
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
- Riverside Eye Care Center, The Ottawa Hospital - Riverside Campus
- Baffin Program - Iqaluit, Nunavut (Iqaluit · rural or distributed site)
- Precision Cornea Centre
- Precision Glaucoma Centre
- Retina Centre of Ottawa
- Ottawa Ophthalmology
- Focus Eye Centre
- University of Ottawa Eye Institute, The Ottawa Hospital - General Campus
- Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
- Riverside Eye Care Center, The Ottawa Hospital - Riverside Campus
- Baffin Program - Iqaluit, Nunavut (Iqaluit · rural or distributed site)
- Precision Cornea Centre
- Precision Glaucoma Centre
- Retina Centre of Ottawa
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 3 of 9; no published record for 6.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario
- Clinical record
- Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Ottawa
People
1,017,449residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−9.6 °CJanuary mean21.3 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, IMG stream
- Required
- IMG requirements, IMG stream
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match), CMG stream
- 3 Feb 2027
- Interview dates (2027 match), IMG stream
- Not stated on the IMG stream’s CaRMS page
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Tue 3 Nov 2026
7:00 pm EDT
Open house · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 2 | 5 years | 1 date, 3 Feb 2027 | Nothing noted |
| IMG stream | 1 | 5 years | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 2 | 5 years | 1 date, 7 Feb 2026 |
| IMG stream | 1 | 5 years | Interviews not stated |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Ottawa offers a comprehensive 5-year ophthalmology residency program designed to produce high-quality ophthalmologists through extensive clinical training, surgical exposure, and research opportunities.
- Residents train across multiple sites, gaining broad experience in subspecialties and benefiting from early surgical training, dedicated research time, and a supportive learning environment.
- Research
- Residents have dedicated half-day per week for research from PGY-2 to PGY-4, with support for conference presentations and research funding.
- Training setting
- Residents train across multiple academic and community sites in Ottawa, including University of Ottawa Eye Institute, Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario, Riverside Eye Care Center, and community practices, providing comprehensive clinical exposure.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with progressive independence, emphasizing hands-on experience, direct observation, didactic teaching, and structured evaluation to develop well-rounded ophthalmologists.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular activities
- Leadership skills
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Personal letter
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr. Michael Dollin
Dr. Matthew QuinnAssistant Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
- Program office
Education Program Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Ophthalmology elsewhere
Nearest to Ottawa
- Bilingual
Did this page answer your question?