Skip to content
CdnMD

Halifax - Urology

Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, Nova ScotiaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Halifax, 11 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Faculty-to-resident ratio usually close to 1:1.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • About 6-8 skills labs per year, including cadaver-based open and laparoscopic surgical training.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Dalhousie Urology is a five-year residency based at the QEII Health Sciences Centre and IWK Health Centre in Halifax.
  • Residents typically complete a 3-month community urology rotation in PGY-3, with community sites in New Brunswick, and housing is arranged by the PGME office.
  • Clinical research is required, with a one-month research block in PGY-2.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for

By year

PGY-1
  • urology8 months
  • off-service general surgery
  • pediatric general surgery
  • emergency medicine
PGY-2
  • general surgery2 months
  • surgical intensive care unit2 months
  • inpatient and ambulatory urologysix month
  • vascular surgeryone month
  • researchone month
PGY-3
  • community urology rotation3-month
  • pediatric urology
PGY-4
  • elective in Urologytwo or three month
  • urologic oncology rotationone month
PGY-5
  • pediatric urology
  • transplantation

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Halifax, Nova Scotia: 11 teaching sites.

  • QEII Health Sciences Centre
  • Victoria General Hospital
  • Halifax Infirmary
  • IWK Health Centre
  • Cobequid Community Health Centre
  • Dartmouth General Hospital (Dartmouth)
  • Hants Community Hospital
  • Bayers Lake Outpatient Care Centre
  • Saint John Regional Hospital (Saint John · rural or distributed site)
  • Fredericton Hospital (Fredericton · rural or distributed site)
  • Moncton Hospital (Moncton · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 5 of 11; no published record for 6.

Hospital facts

10 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
One Person One Record, fully electronic record since May 2026 As of 31 Oct 2026. At QEII Health Sciences Centre, Victoria General Hospital, Halifax Infirmary, Dartmouth General Hospital.

How to read the figures

  • Hospital type. As the province lists it. The list has no volumes or beds.
  • Inpatient beds. As listed in the province’s dataset, whose rows were last updated 24 Apr 2019; the count may be older.

QEII Health Sciences Centre

This name covers 2 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax)
Hospital type
Tertiary
QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax)
Hospital type
Tertiary

Victoria General Hospital

Matched to QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary

Halifax Infirmary

Matched to QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary
Show facts for 7 more sites

IWK Health Centre

Clinical record
Oracle Health (One Person One Record), fully electronic record since Dec 2025 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to IWK Health Centre (Halifax) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Tertiary

Cobequid Community Health Centre

Matched to Cobequid Community Health Centre (Sackville) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Community Health Centre

Dartmouth General Hospital

Matched to Dartmouth General Hospital (Dartmouth) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Regional

Hants Community Hospital

Matched to Hants Community Hospital (Windsor) in the province’s hospital list.

Hospital type
Community

Saint John Regional Hospital

Matched to Saint John Regional Hospital / Hôpital Régional de Saint John (Saint John) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
445

Fredericton Hospital

Matched to Dr. Everett Chalmers Regional Hospital / Hôpital régional Dr Everett Chalmers (Fredericton) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
314

Moncton Hospital

Matched to The Moncton Hospital / L’Hôpital de Moncton (Moncton) in the province’s hospital list.

Inpatient beds
381

Nova Scotia's One Person One Record is live at IWK Health and at Nova Scotia Health's Central Zone. The other zones follow, provincewide by the end of 2026 (the province's date). As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – New Brunswick.
  • Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Nova Scotia.

About Halifax

  • People

    439,819residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Halifax

  • Housing

    2.6%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Halifax, Nova Scotia (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −4.1 °CJanuary mean18.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Shearwater, 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Halifax (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

2 Urology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year
PGY-3
$89,462 / year
PGY-4
$95,485 / year
PGY-5
$101,926 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
frequency “1-in-4”
Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream25 yearsVirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream25 yearsInterviews not stated
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Dalhousie University's Urology Residency Program is one of the oldest in Canada, offering a comprehensive five-year training experience that prepares residents to become competent urologists.
  • The program provides robust clinical training across multiple sites in the Maritime provinces, with a strong emphasis on academic excellence, research, and patient care.
Research
Residents have dedicated research time, are encouraged to submit abstracts, and receive faculty mentorship for research projects.
Training setting
Urban and community training sites across Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, including academic medical centers, community hospitals, and pediatric facilities.
Teaching approach
A competency-based approach focusing on progressive skill development, with emphasis on clinical judgment, surgical skills, and comprehensive urological care across different practice settings.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic achievements
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Elective experiences
  • Interview performance
  • Research contributions

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Program websiteWebsiteCANPREPPCANPREPPdescribes academic half-dayFrom the programThis program on CaRMS(opens in a new tab)

Urology elsewhere

Nearest to Halifax

  • Montreal - UrologyMcGill University

    Montreal, QC · 790 km

    3 positions · Regular, Regular RoS

    Bilingual
  • Ottawa - UrologyUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 955 km

    4 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Kingston - UrologyQueen’s University

    Kingston, ON · 1,025 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 11 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35506 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?