Skip to content
CdnMD

Kingston - Urology

Queen’s UniversityKingston, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position−1 from 2 in the 2026 match changed: see what changed on the CaRMS page
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

2 dates, 30–31 Jan 2027virtual

Kingston, 5 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Outreach clinics at Weeneebayko General Hospital in Moose Factory, a James Bay Indigenous centre.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Program usually pays transportation and accommodation for residents presenting research at meetings.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Nearly one-to-one faculty-to-resident ratio: 8 faculty for 7 residents.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Queen's Urology is a 5-year residency based at Kingston Health Sciences Centre, with PGY-1 and PGY-2 in Surgical Foundations.
  • PGY-3 includes a mandatory 2-month pediatric urology rotation at SickKids in Toronto, with housing provided.
  • The department has 8 faculty for 7 residents, and research participation is expected without a dedicated research rotation.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Small program
Research
Required · research project · no protected time
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for

By year

PGY-1
  • Urology26 weeks
  • General Surgery12 weeks
  • Plastic Surgery8 weeks
  • Emergency Medicine4 weeks
PGY-2
  • Urology32 weeks
  • Critical Care Medicine8 weeks
  • Vascular Surgery8 weeks
  • Interventional Radiology4 weeks
PGY-3
  • Urology36 weeks
  • Elective8 weeks
  • Pediatric Urology (UofT)Sick Kids Hospital8 weeks

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Kingston, Ontario: 5 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • Kingston Health Sciences Centre (Kingston General Hospital)
  • Kingston Health Sciences Centre (Hotel Dieu Hospital)
  • Lennox & Addington County General Hospital
  • Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto)
  • Weenybayko General Hospital (Moose Factory · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 5, Lumeo at 3, MEDITECH at 1.

Moving to a new system: Weenybayko General Hospital.

Hospital facts

5 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Lumeo regional health information system, fully electronic record since Dec 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Kingston Health Sciences Centre (Kingston General Hospital), Kingston Health Sciences Centre (Hotel Dieu Hospital), Lennox & Addington County General Hospital.

Hospital for Sick Children

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Weenybayko General Hospital

Clinical record
MEDITECH Expanse (ONE HIS), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026

ONE HITS runs MEDITECH Expanse for northeastern Ontario hospitals in two waves: the three founding hospitals went live in October 2019; the 20 hospitals of Wave 2 (including Health Sciences North) are moving over, with no date on the page. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Kingston

  • People

    132,485residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Kingston

  • Housing

    2.4%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Kingston, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −7.0 °CJanuary mean20.8 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Kingston, 5.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Kingston (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
30 and 31 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

2 Urology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream15 years2 dates, 30–31 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 2 → 1 from the 2026 match
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: positions (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream25 yearsInterviews not stated
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • Queen's University offers a 5-year Urology residency program with a strong academic focus and close working relationships between faculty and residents.
  • The program provides comprehensive training in urological practice, emphasizing both clinical skills and research opportunities, with a collegial and nurturing atmosphere.
Research
Research projects are encouraged at all training levels, with opportunities to participate in clinical research, patient cohort analysis, and academic presentations.
Training setting
Located in Kingston, Ontario, training occurs across multiple hospital sites including Kingston Health Sciences Centre, with a diverse range of clinical experiences from urban academic centers to indigenous outreach clinics.
Teaching approach
Emphasizes progressive skill development through Competency-Based Medical Education, with frequent assessment of milestones using Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs) and a focus on comprehensive urological training.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic Achievements
  • Research Endeavors
  • Extracurricular Activities
  • Personal Letter
  • Reference Letters
  • Interview Performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Urology elsewhere

Nearest to Kingston

  • Ottawa - UrologyUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa · 146 km

    4 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Toronto - UrologyUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 241 km

    6 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Montreal - UrologyMcGill University

    Montreal, QC · 270 km

    3 positions · Regular, Regular RoS

    Bilingual

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 6 Aug 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35592 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: Quota published: 1. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • Quota published: 1

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?