Saint John - Internal Medicine
Dalhousie UniversitySaint John, New BrunswickCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 5
- Length
- 3
- Applications per year
- 401–600
- Offered interviews
- 51–75%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Interviews
4 dates, 19–28 Jan 2027
Saint John, 3 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Base hospital is New Brunswick's provincial referral centre for cardiac, trauma, stem cell therapy and stroke thrombectomy.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Free accommodation and travel reimbursement during Halifax and Moncton rotations.
From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page
- This Dalhousie Internal Medicine stream is based at Saint John Regional Hospital, the largest tertiary care hospital in New Brunswick.
- In PGY1, 9 of 13 rotations are in Saint John, two at the QEII in Halifax and one at Moncton City Hospital, plus a community experience rotation at a Maritime site.
- Accommodation and travel are covered for rotations in Halifax and Moncton.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- POCUS curriculum
- Small program
- Research
- Offered · research project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
- Travel is reimbursed
By year
- PGY-1
- Community Experience rotation
- PGY-2
- electivesTwo
- Ambulatory Care Clinic (ACC) rotation
- Coronary Care Unit (CCU) Intensive Care Unit (ICU) rotation
- PGY-3
- electivesTwo
- Ambulatory Care Clinic (ACC) rotations
Where you train
Saint John, New Brunswick: 3 teaching sites.
- Saint John Regional Hospital (Horizon Health Network, New Brunswick)
- QE II Health Sciences Centre (Nova Scotia Health Authority) (Halifax)
- Moncton City Hospital (Horizon Health Network, New Brunswick (Moncton)
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1 of 3; no published record for 2.
Hospital facts
Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Saint John Regional Hospital (Horizon Health Network, New Brunswick)
- Inpatient beds
- 445
QE II Health Sciences Centre (Nova Scotia Health Authority)
- Clinical record
- One Person One Record, fully electronic record since May 2026
QEII - Halifax Infirmary Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
QEII - Victoria General (VG) Site (Halifax)
- Hospital type
- Tertiary
Nova Scotia's One Person One Record is live at IWK Health and at Nova Scotia Health's Central Zone. The other zones follow, provincewide by the end of 2026 (the province's date).
About Saint John
People
69,895residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.1%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−7.9 °CJanuary mean17.3 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 19, 21, 26 and 28 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
16 Internal Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $78,578 / year |
| PGY-2 | $83,904 / year |
| PGY-3 | $89,462 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 night in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No work required once handover is completed
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- Call stipend
- Yes
- CMPA dues paid
- Yes
- Dental coverage
- Yes
- Educational leave
- Yes
- Extended health insurance
- Yes
- Life insurance
- $100,000 of insurance
- Long-term disabilityinsurance
- 66.7% of salary
- Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
- eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1.30%
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes
- Sick leave
- Yes
- Statutory and floating holidays
- paid
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 5 | 3 years | 4 dates, 19–28 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 5 | 5 years | 2 dates, 9–12 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The Dalhousie University Internal Medicine Residency Program at Saint John Regional Hospital offers comprehensive training in internal medicine across multiple sites.
- The program provides residents with in-depth experience in all disciplines of internal medicine, with a focus on graded responsibility and exposure to both inpatient and outpatient care.
- Research
- Residents participate in a two-month Research Methods course, have access to research support, can complete research electives, and are encouraged to submit abstracts for conferences.
- Training setting
- Training occurs at Saint John Regional Hospital and QEII Health Sciences Centre, with rotations in urban and community settings across Maritime provinces. Residents experience both tertiary care and community healthcare environments.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-Based Medical Education with graded responsibility, emphasizing progressive independence, team-based learning, and comprehensive clinical skill development aligned with CanMEDS 2015 roles.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Reference Letters
- Personal Letter
- Elective Evaluations
- Interview Performance
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Maia von Maltzahn
- Program office
Program Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Discussed on Reddit
Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.
- Thoughts on IM at Dalhousie, MUN, Sask, Manitoba? (opens Reddit in a new tab)
Elective student describes Manitoba CTU load/night float and Dal consult serviceTopics: call · service · teaching
Internal Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Saint John
Did this page answer your question?