London - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 2
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Meet and greet
details info sessions of this programTue 3 Nov 2026,7:30–8:30 pm ESTvia CANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Interviews
2 dates, 25–27 Jan 2027
London, 5 teaching sites · optional rural rotation
What stands out about this program
Jointly run clinics with orthopedics and plastics give significant musculoskeletal surgical exposure.
From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page
14 full-time academic faculty for 8 residents.
From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page
- Western University's five-year Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation residency is based at Parkwood Institute in London, Ontario.
- Training also uses London Health Sciences Centre sites and Thames Valley Children's Centre for pediatric rehabilitation.
- Residents must complete at least one scholarly project, and rural rotations are optional.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Optional rural rotation
- Research
- Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Initial rotation on Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (Transition to Discipline · Parkwood Institute)
Where you train
London, Ontario: 5 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.
- St. Joseph 's Health Care London (SJHC) - Parkwood Site (Main Rehabilitation Inpatient Hospital)
- SJHC - Grosvenor (Main)
- London Health Sciences Centre (LHSC) - Victoria and University Hospitals
- Children's Hospital - London Health Sciences Centre
- Thames Valley Children'S Centre (TVCC) (Pediatric rehab)
Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 2 of 5; no published record for 3.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- OneChart (Cerner electronic patient record), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About London
People
422,324residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.8%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−5.4 °CJanuary mean21.0 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 25 and 27 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Tue 3 Nov 2026
7:30–8:30 pm EST
Meet and greet · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 2 | 5 years | 2 dates, 25–27 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 2 | 5 years | 2 dates, 26–28 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- Western University's Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation residency program offers a comprehensive 5-year training experience in a collaborative, academic setting.
- The program provides residents with extensive exposure to diverse patient populations and interdisciplinary care, preparing them to become skilled, well-rounded physiatrists.
- Research
- Residents are encouraged to conduct scholarly projects, present research at conferences, and participate in the CAPMR Resident Research Contest.
- Training setting
- Urban academic medical center in London, Ontario, with multiple training sites including St. Joseph's Health Care, London Health Sciences Centre, and pediatric rehabilitation centers.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education focused on progressive independence, interdisciplinary collaboration, and comprehensive patient-centered care across the rehabilitation spectrum.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV
- Personal letter
- Reference letters
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Research/Publications
- Extra-curricular activities
- Leadership skills
- Interview performance
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr. Rachel Reardon
Steven MacalusoAssociate Program Director
- Program office
Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation elsewhere
Nearest to London
Did this page answer your question?