Hamilton - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
McMaster UniversityHamilton, Ontario
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 31
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%0–25%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
IMG stream · open to international medical graduates
Info session
details info sessions of this programTue 10 Nov 2026,7:00 pm ESTvia CANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Interviews
1 date, 27 Jan 2027
1 date, 20 Jan 2027
Hamilton, 6 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Dedicated oncology and pediatric rehabilitation clinical rotations.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Program describes itself as one of the largest physiatry residencies in Canada.
From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page
Concurrent Health Research Methodology master's study is supported.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- McMaster's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation residency is a 5-year competence-by-design program based mainly at the Regional Rehabilitation Centre of Hamilton Health Sciences.
- Rotations include oncology and pediatric rehabilitation, and a research project is mandatory, with three blocks available for research.
- Interviews are held virtually on January 27, 2027.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
By year
- PGY-1
- CTU3 blocks
- Orthopedic Surgery2 blocks
- Rheumatology2 blocks
- PM&R Intro Rotation1 block
- MSK Rehab1 block
- Sports Medicine1 block
- Chronic Pain1 block
- Medicine Selective1 block
- Surgical Selective1 block
- PGY-2
- Neurology2 blocks
- Stroke Rehab2 blocks
- ABI Rehab2 blocks
- P&O2 blocks
- Stroke2 blocks
- EMG2 blocks
- MSK Rehab2 blocks
- Geriatrics1 block
- Elective1 block
- PGY-3
- Senior Rotation4 blocks
- Pediatric Rehab3 blocks
- Stroke Rehab2 blocks
- ABI Rehab2 blocks
- P&O2 blocks
- SCI Rehab2 blocks
- EMG2 blocks
- MSK Rehab2 blocks
- Elective2 blocks
- Cardiac Rehab1 block
- PGY-4
- Elective7 blocks
- Junior Attending (Inpts)5 blocks
- Neuromuscular1 block
- PGY-5
- Elective6 - 12 blocks
- EMG1 block
- PGY-1
- PM&R Intro Rotation1
- MSK Rehab1
- CTU3
- Sports Medicine1
- Chronic Pain1
- Medicine Selective1
- Surgical Selective1
- Orthopedic Surgery2
- Rheumatology2
- PGY-2
- Geriatrics1
- Neurology2
- Elective1
- Stroke Rehab2
- ABI Rehab2
- P&O2
- Stroke2
- EMG2
- MSK Rehab2
- PGY-3
- Stroke Rehab2
- ABI Rehab2
- P&O2
- SCI Rehab2
- EMG2
- MSK Rehab2
- Cardiac Rehab1
- ABI Rehab1
- P&O1
- Stroke Rehab1
- SCI Rehab1
- Pediatric Rehab3
- Elective2
- PGY-4
- ABI Rehab1
- P&O1
- SCI Rehab1
- MSK Rehab1
- Stroke Rehab1
- Elective7
- Neuromuscular1
- PGY-5
- EMG1
- Elective6 - 12
- Community rotation
- Junior attending block
Where you train
Hamilton, Ontario: 6 teaching sites.
- Regional Rehabilitation Centre
- McMaster University Medical Centre
- Hamilton General Hospital
- Juravinski Hospital
- St. Joseph's Hospital
- St. Joseph's Mountain Site
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 4 of 6, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1; no published record for 1.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic, fully electronic record since Jun 2022
Regional Rehabilitation Centre
- Clinical record
- Epic (Atlas Alliance shared system), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
St. Joseph's Hospital
- Clinical record
- Cerner (OneChart), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Hamilton
People
569,353residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.5%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−3.1 °CJanuary mean21.9 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, IMG stream
- Required · IMGs only
- IMG requirements, IMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match), CMG stream
- 27 Jan 2027
- Interview dates (2027 match), IMG stream
- 20 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Tue 10 Nov 2026
7:00 pm EST
Info session · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 1 date, 27 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
| IMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 1 date, 20 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 1 date, 4 Feb 2026 |
| IMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 1 date, 28 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- McMaster's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation residency is a comprehensive 5-year program that provides extensive training across all PM&R disciplines.
- The program emphasizes self-directed learning, evidence-based medicine, and offers flexible training to meet individual resident needs, preparing graduates for both academic and community-based practices.
- Research
- Mandatory research project completion, three dedicated research blocks, opportunity to present at conferences, and support for concurrent Health Research Methodology Masters program.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across multiple Hamilton Health Sciences sites including the Regional Rehabilitation Centre, McMaster University Medical Centre, Hamilton General Hospital, Juravinski Hospital, and St. Joseph's Healthcare, providing a diverse urban medical training environment.
- Teaching approach
- The program emphasizes self-directed learning, competency-based medical education, and lifelong learning with strong faculty supervision and guidance. Residents are encouraged to develop skills in self-evaluation and independent learning.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV review
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular activities
- Leadership skills
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Personal letter
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Simran Basi
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Videos and podcasts
From the program
Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation elsewhere
Nearest to Hamilton
Did this page answer your question?
