Toronto - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
University of TorontoToronto, OntarioCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 4
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 51–75%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Info session
details info sessions of this programWed 4 Nov 2026,7:00–8:00 pm ESTvia CANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Interviews
2 dates, 28–29 Jan 2027
Toronto, 6 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Training across ten rehabilitation hospitals, including a dedicated pediatric rehabilitation hospital.
From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page
- The University of Toronto PM&R residency is a 5-year program based at UHN-Toronto Rehab, University Centre.
- Training sites include adult rehabilitation hospitals, a pediatric rehabilitation hospital and four regional rehabilitation hospitals.
- Research is required, and PGY5 includes 3 mandatory junior attending blocks.
- PGY2-5 residents take home call.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Urban community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
By year
- PGY-1
- General Internal Medicine3 blocks
- Geri-Rehab2 blocks
- Rheumatology (outpatient clinics)1 block
- Plastic Surgery1 block
- Urology or Vascular surgery1 block
- Sports Medicine1 block
- Medicine/ Subspecialty SelectivesTwo 1 block rotations
- PGY-2
- Neurology3 blocks
- Orthopedics3 blocks
Other rotations
- MSK (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 1 block)
- Neuro (choose from acquired brain injury, spinal cord injury or stroke rehab) (Transition to Discipline (TTD) · 1 block)
- Spinal Cord Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline (COD) · 3 blocks)
- Acquired Brain Injury Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline (COD) · 3 blocks)
- Pediatric Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline (COD) · 2 blocks)
- Prosthetics & Orthotics (Core of Discipline (COD) · 3 blocks)
- Stroke Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline (COD) · 3 blocks)
- Cancer Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline (COD) · 1 block)
- Cardiac Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline (COD) · 1 block)
- Chronic Pain (Core of Discipline (COD) · 1 block)
- Consult Service (Core of Discipline (COD) · 1 block)
- Musculoskeletal Rehabilitation (Core of Discipline (COD) · 4 blocks (2 outpatient, 2 inpatient senior rotation))
- Spasticity (Core of Discipline (COD) · 1 block)
- Diseases of Nerve and Muscle (incl. EMG) (Core of Discipline (COD) · 4 blocks)
- Senior Resident Longitudinal Clinics (PGY5) (Core of Discipline (COD))
- Research (Core of Discipline (COD) · 1 block)
- Electives (Core of Discipline (COD))
- mandatory junior attending (Transition to Practice (TTP) · 3 blocks)
- Senior Resident Longitudinal Clinic (Transition to Practice (TTP))
- Research (Transition to Practice (TTP))
- Electives (Transition to Practice (TTP))
Where you train
Toronto, Ontario: 6 teaching sites.
- UHN-Toronto Rehab, University Centre
- Holland Bloorview Kids Rehab
- UHN- West Park Healthcare Centre
- Hennick Bridgepoint Hospital
- St. John's Rehabilitation Hospital
- Providence Healthcare
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 1 of 6; no published record for 5.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
Providence Healthcare
- Clinical record
- Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Toronto
People
2,794,356residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.0%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−3.5 °CJanuary mean22.5 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 28 and 29 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
- MMI or rotating station
Info sessions
Wed 4 Nov 2026
7:00–8:00 pm EST
Info session · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (as the program states it)
- Home call
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 4 | 5 years | 2 dates, 28–29 Jan 2027 |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 4 | 5 years | 2 dates, 22–23 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation Program at the University of Toronto is one of the largest programs in Canada, offering diverse opportunities for training, research, and broad clinical exposure.
- The program provides comprehensive training across five years, with a strong commitment to resident education and a collegial learning environment.
- Research
- Residents must complete at least one research project during residency, with annual Research Day and access to research staff across affiliated hospitals.
- Training setting
- Training occurs across multiple rehabilitation hospitals in Toronto, including adult and pediatric rehabilitation centers in urban academic and community hospital settings.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with regular performance reviews by a Competence Committee, focusing on Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs) and progressive skill development.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV and extracurricular activities
- Electives
- Leadership skills
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Personal letter
- Reference documents
- Research involvement
- Interview performance
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Kimberly Coros
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Admin
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation elsewhere
Nearest to Toronto
Did this page answer your question?