Skip to content
CdnMD

London - Orthopedic Surgery

Western UniversityLondon, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
5 positions
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

Interviews

1 date, 29 Jan 2027virtual

London, 5 teaching sites9 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Musculoskeletal oncology training with the Sarcoma Unit at Mount Sinai Hospital in Toronto.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Protected three-block research rotation in third year.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Western University's Orthopaedic Surgery residency is a 5-year program based mainly at London Health Sciences Centre hospitals in London, Ontario.
  • Residents complete a community orthopaedic rotation of 2 to 3 blocks in Year 2, and musculoskeletal oncology at Mount Sinai Hospital in Toronto.
  • Research is mandatory, with a three-block research rotation in Year 3.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • Orthopaedic Surgery10 Blocks
  • ER Ortho Hybrid1 block
  • Traumatology1 block
  • Ambulatory General Internal Medicine1 block
PGY-2
  • Orthopaedic Surgery7 blocks
  • Community Orthopaedic SurgeryStratford, Owen Sound, Chatham, Tillsonburg2 to 3 blocks
  • Critical Care Trauma (CCTC)2 blocks
  • Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation1 block
  • Elective1 block

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • elective (Year 3 to Year 5 · 2 block)
  • Orthopaedic Oncology (Year 3 to Year 5 · 1 block)
  • research rotation (3rd year · three-block)
PGY-1
  • Orthopaedic Surgery10 Blocks
  • ER Ortho Hybrid1 block
  • Traumatology1 block
  • Ambulatory General Internal Medicine1 block
PGY-2
  • Orthopaedic Surgery7 blocks
  • Community Orthopaedic SurgeryStratford, Owen Sound, Chatham, Tillsonburg2 to 3 blocks
  • Critical Care Trauma Centre2 blocks
  • Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation1 block
  • Elective1 block

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Electives (Year 3 to Year 5 · 2 Blocks)
  • Orthopaedic Oncology (Year 3 to Year 5 · 1 Block)
  • Research rotation (3rd year · three-block)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

London, Ontario: 5 teaching sites9 teaching sites.

  • London Health Sciences Centre - University Hospital
  • London Health Sciences Centre - Victoria Hospital
  • Roth McFarlane Hand and Upper Limb Centre, St. Joseph's Health Care
  • Mount Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
  • Parkwood Hospital
  • London Health Sciences Centre - University Hospital
  • London Health Sciences Centre - Victoria Hospital
  • Roth McFarlane Hand and Upper Limb Centre, St. Joseph's Health Care
  • Mount Sinai Hospital (Toronto)
  • Parkwood Hospital
  • Stratford (Stratford · rural or distributed site)
  • Owen Sound (Owen Sound · rural or distributed site)
  • Chatham (Chatham · rural or distributed site)
  • Tillsonburg (Tillsonburg · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Epic at 1 of 9, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 4; no published record for 4.

Moving to a new system: Mount Sinai Hospital.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
OneChart (Cerner electronic patient record), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At London Health Sciences Centre - University Hospital, London Health Sciences Centre - Victoria Hospital.

Roth McFarlane Hand and Upper Limb Centre, St. Joseph's Health Care

Clinical record
Cerner (OneChart), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Mount Sinai Hospital

Clinical record
Epic (shared instance with Unity Health), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About London

  • People

    422,324residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of London

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, London, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −5.4 °CJanuary mean21.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, London, 10.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about London (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
29 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

Info sessions planned, dates not published yet.

5 Orthopedic Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream55 years1 date, 29 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years1 date, 29 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream55 years1 date, 30 Jan 2026
IMG stream15 years1 date, 30 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Western University Orthopedic Surgery Residency Program offers comprehensive training in all subspecialty areas of orthopedics, focusing on producing outstanding clinicians who can provide high-level orthopedic care across Canada.
  • The program emphasizes clinical excellence, research opportunities, and a competency-based curriculum that prepares residents for diverse orthopedic practice settings.
Research
Mandatory research rotation in third year, annual Residents' Research Day, potential for Masters degree, and opportunities in clinical or basic science research.
Training setting
Urban academic medical center in London, Ontario, with multiple hospital sites including London Health Sciences Centre, Victoria Hospital, and specialized centers like Roth McFarlane Hand and Upper Limb Centre.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education with progressive independence, emphasizing hands-on clinical experience, research engagement, and comprehensive subspecialty exposure through Clinical Teaching Units.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV review
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Reference documents
  • Personal letter
  • Research/Publications
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Discussed on Reddit

Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.

These are public Reddit posts, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Orthopedic Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to London

  • Hamilton · 116 km

    5 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Toronto - Orthopedic SurgeryUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 168 km

    12 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Kingston - Orthopedic SurgeryQueen’s University

    Kingston · 407 km

    3 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 31 Aug 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 31 Aug 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36176 (CMG stream), 35769 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream