Skip to content
CdnMD

Hamilton - Orthopedic Surgery

McMaster UniversityHamilton, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

1 date, 28 Jan 2027virtual

Hamilton, 4 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Division hosts the only Canada Research Chair in Orthopedics; faculty lead large randomized orthopedic trials.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • Option to apply for dedicated time during residency to complete a Master's degree.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • McMaster's orthopedic surgery residency is a 5-year program with about 30 faculty and 29 residents.
  • Training takes place across Hamilton Health Sciences hospitals and St. Joseph's Healthcare, with no primary base hospital.
  • Residents may apply for dedicated time to complete a Master's degree, and PGY2 includes a clinical research course.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · research project

By year

PGY-3
  • foot and ankle3 blocks
  • upper extremity3 blocks
  • spine3 blocks
  • elective or community rotation2 blocks
  • general orthopedics2 blocks
PGY-4
  • trauma3 blocks
  • pediatric surgery3 blocks
  • elective or community rotation2 blocks
  • arthroplasty2 blocks
  • oncology2 blocks
  • general orthopedics1 block

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • orthopedic surgery (Transition to Discipline · 11 blocks)
  • trauma (Transition to Discipline · 1 block)
  • perioperative medicine (Transition to Discipline · 1 block)
  • pediatrics (Foundations of Discipline · 3 blocks)
  • arthroplasty (Foundations of Discipline · 3 blocks)
  • trauma (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • sports (Foundations of Discipline · 3 blocks)
  • ICU (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • junior spine (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • vascular (Foundations of Discipline · 1 block)
  • general orthopedics (Transition to Practice · 12 blocks)
  • study block (Transition to Practice · 1 study block)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Hamilton, Ontario: 4 teaching sites.

  • Hamilton General Hospital
  • Juravinski Hospital
  • McMaster Children's Hospital
  • St. Joseph's Healthcare

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 4 of 4.

Hospital facts

4 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Jun 2022 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Hamilton General Hospital, Juravinski Hospital, McMaster Children's Hospital.

St. Joseph's Healthcare

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Hamilton

  • People

    569,353residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Hamilton

  • Housing

    3.5%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Hamilton, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.1 °CJanuary mean21.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Burlington Piers, 5.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Hamilton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
Not stated on CaRMS page

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
28 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

5 Orthopedic Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream45 years1 date, 28 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years1 date, 28 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream45 years1 date, 29 Jan 2026
IMG stream15 years1 date, 29 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The MacOrtho Residency Program is a fully accredited 5-year Orthopedic Surgery program at McMaster University.
  • The program offers comprehensive training across all orthopedic subspecialties, with a strong emphasis on evidence-based medicine, research opportunities, and competency-based medical education.
Research
Extensive research opportunities in both basic science and clinical research, with support from Research Director and potential for pursuing a Masters degree during residency.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple affiliated teaching hospitals in Hamilton, including Hamilton Health Sciences (Hamilton General Hospital, Juravinski Hospital, McMaster Children's Hospital) and St. Joseph's Healthcare.
Teaching approach
Follows Competency by Design (CBD) framework with progressive learning stages: Transition to Discipline, Foundations of Discipline, Core, and Transition to Practice, emphasizing evidence-based medicine and comprehensive skill development.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Academic record
  • Interview performance
  • Elective experiences
  • Research involvement
  • Leadership skills
  • Communication skills

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Orthopedic Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Hamilton

  • Toronto - Orthopedic SurgeryUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 59 km

    12 positions · CMG, IMG

  • London - Orthopedic SurgeryWestern University

    London · 116 km

    6 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Kingston - Orthopedic SurgeryQueen’s University

    Kingston · 293 km

    3 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 31 Aug 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 31 Aug 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 35507 (CMG stream), 35923 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream