Kingston - Orthopedic Surgery
Queen’s UniversityKingston, Ontario
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 21
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 201–40051–200
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
IMG stream · open to international medical graduates
Thu 5 Nov 2026,8:00 pm EST
Interviews
1 date, 21 Jan 2027
Kingston, 8 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Spiral curriculum with a rotation on every orthopedic subspecialty service each year of training.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Fellowship positions are deliberately limited so residents get enough clinical experience.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
Protected weekly research half day with engineering and computing research groups at the Centre for Health Innovation.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- Queen's University's five-year orthopedic surgery residency is based at Kingston Health Sciences Centre.
- Required community and subspecialty rotations take place at Brockville, Humber River, Mount Sinai and Lakeridge Health.
- The program uses a spiral curriculum and a night float call system, and residents must complete two research projects.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Urban community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Small program
- Early independence
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
By year
- PGY-1
- Orthopedic Surgery6 blocks
- Orthopedics3 blocks
- Community Orthopedics1 block
- Radiology and Physical Medicine & Rehab1 block
- Emergency Medicine1 block
- Vascular Surgery1 block
- Plastic Surgery1 block
- Neurosurgery1 block
- Intensive Care Unit1 block
- Surgical Foundations Boot Camp2 week
- PGY-2
- Orthopedicone block
- Orthopedic Boot Campweek long
- Junior Rotationstwo block
- Allied MSK Health care clinics
- PGY-3
- electivesup to 3 blocks
- Foot & Ankle2 block
- Community Orthopedic rotation2 block
- Sports Medicine/Upper Extremity (service A)
- Arthroplasty (service B)
- Pediatrics/Spine (service C)
- Trauma/Night Float (service D)
- Oncology
- PGY-5
- Sports Medicine/Upper Extremity (service A)2-block
- Arthroplasty (service B)2-block
- Pediatrics/Spine (service C)2-block
- Trauma/Night Float (service D)2-block
- exam preparationone block
- PGY-1
- Orthopedic Surgery6 blocks
- Community Orthopedics (Brockville)1 block
- Radiology and Physical Medicine & Rehab1 block
- Emergency Medicine1 block
- Vascular Surgery1 block
- Plastic Surgery1 block
- Neurosurgery1 block
- Intensive Care Unit (Kingston General Hospital)1 block
- Surgical Foundations Boot Camp2 week
- PGY-2
- Allied MSK Health care clinicsone block
- Junior Rotationstwo block
- PGY-3
- electivesup to 3 blocks
- Foot & Ankle2 block
- Community Orthopedic rotation2 block
- Sports Medicine/Upper Extremity (service A)
- Arthroplasty (service B)
- Pediatrics/Spine (service C)
- Trauma/Night Float (service D)
- Oncology
- PGY-5
- Sports Medicine/Upper Extremity (service A)2-block
- Arthroplasty (service B)2-block
- Pediatrics/Spine (service C)2-block
- Trauma/Night Float (service D)2-block
- exam preparationone block
Where you train
Kingston, Ontario: 8 teaching sites.
- Kingston Health Sciences Centre (KGH in-patient and HDH ambulatory care centre)
- KHSC Intensive Care Unit
- Brockville General Hospital (Brockville · rural or distributed site)
- Humber River Health (North York · rural or distributed site)
- Mount Sinai Hospital (rural or distributed site)
- Lakeridge Health (Oshawa/Ajax) (Oshawa/Ajax · rural or distributed site)
- Centre for Health Innovation (CHI)
- Queen's Medical School - Anatomy and Simulation Labs
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 2 of 8, Lumeo at 2, MEDITECH at 1; no published record for 3.
Moving to a new system: Mount Sinai Hospital.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Lumeo regional health information system, fully electronic record since Dec 2024
Humber River Health
- Clinical record
- MEDITECH Expanse, system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Mount Sinai Hospital
- Clinical record
- Epic (shared instance with Unity Health), moving to a new system
Lakeridge Health (Oshawa/Ajax)
- Clinical record
- Epic, fully electronic record since Dec 2021
Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.
About Kingston
People
132,485residents, 2021 Census
Housing
2.4%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−7.0 °CJanuary mean20.8 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, IMG stream
- Required
- IMG requirements, IMG stream
- Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 21 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Panel
Info sessions
Thu 5 Nov 2026
8:00 pm EST
Social · Virtual · For all applicants
Thu 5 Nov 2026
8:00 pm EST
Social · Virtual · For IMG applicants
Fri 5 Mar 2027
8:00 pm EST
Social · Virtual · For IMG applicants
Fri 5 Mar 2027
8:00 pm EST
Social · Virtual · For all applicants
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $73,367 / year |
| PGY-2 | $79,670 / year |
| PGY-3 | $85,564 / year |
| PGY-4 | $92,701 / year |
| PGY-5 | $98,567 / year |
Call
- Call (as the program states it)
- In-house call · night float
- Call (provincial max)
- 7 nights in 28 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 2 | 5 years | 1 date, 21 Jan 2027 |
|
| IMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 1 date, 21 Jan 2027 |
|
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 3 | 5 years | 1 date, 27 Jan 2026 |
| IMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 1 date, 27 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The Queen's University Orthopedic Surgery training program provides a rewarding surgical education with a tight-knit group of attending staff and residents.
- The program ensures personalized attention, excellent exposure to orthopedic surgery, and an emphasis on clinical decision making and surgical skills development starting at an early stage of training.
- Research
- Residents must complete two research projects, with protected research time, financial support for conference attendance, and opportunities to collaborate with research groups at the Centre for Health Innovation
- Training setting
- Urban medical center in Kingston, Ontario, with training at Kingston Health Sciences Centre, multiple community hospitals, and research facilities
- Teaching approach
- Resident-centric approach with personalized attention, progressive skill development, and emphasis on competency-based medical education following Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons framework
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV
- Electives
- Extra-curricular activities
- Leadership skills
- MSPR
- Personal letter
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- CASPer Test
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Davide Bardana
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Postgraduate Program Coordinator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Videos and podcasts
From the program
Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.
Orthopedic Surgery elsewhere
Nearest to Kingston
- Bilingual
Did this page answer your question?

