Skip to content
CdnMD

London - Neuropathology

Western UniversityLondon, OntarioCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
0–50
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

5 dates, 25–29 Jan 2027virtual

London, 3 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Mandatory two-month Pediatric Neuropathology rotation at UBC or University of Toronto.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • One of Canada's oldest neuropathology training programs, running since 1972.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Western's five-year Neuropathology residency is based in the centralized Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Department at London Health Sciences Centre, University Hospital.
  • Early stages include Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, Neurology, Neurosurgery, Neuroradiology, Anatomical Pathology and Neuropathology rotations.
  • A two-month Pediatric Neuropathology rotation at UBC or Toronto is mandatory, and up to 12 months are available for electives.
  • Interviews are virtual.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Offered · research project

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Internal Medicine (transition to discipline and the foundational stages)
  • Pediatrics (transition to discipline and the foundational stages)
  • Neurology (transition to discipline and the foundational stages)
  • Neurosurgery (transition to discipline and the foundational stages)
  • Neuroradiology (transition to discipline and the foundational stages)
  • Anatomical Pathology (transition to discipline and the foundational stages)
  • Neuropathology (transition to discipline and the foundational stages)
  • Pediatric Neuropathology (core training · two-month · University of British Columbia or the University of Toronto)
  • elective rotations (up to 12 months)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

London, Ontario: 3 teaching sites.

  • London Health Sciences Centre, University Hospital
  • University of British Columbia (Vancouver)
  • University of Toronto (Toronto)

Record systems at the listed sites: Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1 of 3; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

1 site · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

London Health Sciences Centre, University Hospital

Clinical record
OneChart (Cerner electronic patient record), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About London

  • People

    422,324residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of London

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, London, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −5.4 °CJanuary mean21.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, London, 10.3 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about London (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25, 26, 27, 28 and 29 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

1 Neuropathology info session at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 6 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 3 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: London.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream15 years5 dates, 25–29 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream15 years26–30 Jan 2026, listed as a range
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Neuropathology training program at Western University is one of Canada's oldest and most productive programs.
  • It provides world-class training in Neuropathology, focusing on developing residents who can become consultant neuropathologists and leaders in the field through comprehensive clinical, research, and academic experiences.
Research
Abundant research opportunities with regular publications and conference presentations, access to extensive pathological material, and funding for scientific conference attendance.
Training setting
Centralized at London Health Sciences Centre, University Hospital, with a modern, fully-equipped pathology department serving over 2.5 million people in Southern Ontario.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing daily hands-on learning with staff neuropathologists, academic rounds, and a Socratic approach to diagnostic skill development.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CanMEDS Roles evaluation
  • Short-answer question exams
  • Practical (glass slide and image-based) exams
  • Oral examinations
  • End-of-rotation assessments

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Qi Zhang

    Faculty profile of Dr. Qi Zhang(opens in a new tab)

    Research Activities

    I have a broad interest in basic neuroscience and neuropathological diseases. I am currently involved in 3 areas of research: epilepsy related neuropathological findings, brain metastasis from systemic malignancy and neurodegenerative diseases.

    Source: schulich.uwo.ca · checked Oct 2026

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Coordinator, Neuropathology

Write to the officeccampbel@uwo.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Neuropathology elsewhere

Nearest to London

  • Toronto - NeuropathologyUniversity of Toronto

    Toronto · 168 km

    2 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Calgary - NeuropathologyUniversity of Calgary

    Calgary, AB · 2,619 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Vancouver - NeuropathologyUniversity of British Columbia

    Vancouver, BC · 3,258 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 2 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35287 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?