Skip to content
CdnMD

Toronto - Neuropathology

University of TorontoToronto, Ontario

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required

IMG requirements: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program; “All IMG candidates accepted to residency training programs will be required to undergo an…” details under How they choose

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Toronto, 6 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • The program says its teaching material volume is larger than any other centre in Canada.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Ten neuropathology faculty across six training sites, including a provincial forensic pathology unit.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year neuropathology residency at the University of Toronto, following the Royal College Competency By Design framework.
  • Training draws on six Toronto sites, including Toronto General Hospital, SickKids, Sunnybrook and the Provincial Forensic Pathology Unit, operating as a single unit.
  • Residents present their research projects at an annual Departmental Research Day, and there are no mandatory rural rotations.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • orientation to Neuropathology and an introduction to laboratory services (Transition to Discipline Stage · 2 block)
  • neurology (Foundations Stage)
  • neurosurgery (Foundations Stage)
  • pediatric neurology (Foundations Stage)
  • neuroradiology (Foundations Stage)
  • internal medicine (Foundations Stage)
  • autopsy (Foundations Stage)
  • cytopathology (Foundations Stage)
  • surgical pathology (Foundations Stage)

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • orientation to Neuropathology and an introduction to laboratory services (Transition to Discipline Stage · 2 block)
  • neurology (Foundations Stage)
  • neurosurgery (Foundations Stage)
  • pediatric neurology (Foundations Stage)
  • neuroradiology (Foundations Stage)
  • internal medicine (Foundations Stage)
  • autopsy (Foundations Stage)
  • cytopathology (Foundations Stage)
  • surgical pathology (Foundations Stage)
  • surgical neuropathology (Core Training Stage)
  • muscle and nerve pathology (Core Training Stage)
  • autopsy and forensic neuropathology (Core Training Stage)
  • pediatric and perinatal neuropathology (Core Training Stage)
  • training experiences designed to support readiness for independent practice (Transition to Practice stage · 6 blocks)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Toronto, Ontario: 6 teaching sites.

  • The University Health Network (Toronto General Hospital)
  • The Hospital for Sick Children
  • Unity Health
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
  • the Provincial Forensic Pathology Unit
  • Mount Sinai Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 4 of 6, Oracle Health (Cerner) at 1; no published record for 1.

Moving to a new system: Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre (scheduled 2027). Mount Sinai Hospital.

Hospital facts

5 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

The University Health Network (Toronto General Hospital)

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

The Hospital for Sick Children

Clinical record
Epic, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Unity Health

Clinical record
Epic, fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026
Show facts for 2 more sites

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Clinical record
Oracle Health, moving to a new system, scheduled 2027 As of 31 Oct 2026

Mount Sinai Hospital

Clinical record
Epic (shared instance with Unity Health), moving to a new system As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Ontario doesn't publish this as open data.

About Toronto

  • People

    2,794,356residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Toronto

  • Housing

    3.0%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Toronto, Ontario (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −3.5 °CJanuary mean22.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Toronto (City), 11.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Toronto (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program
  • “All IMG candidates accepted to residency training programs will be required to undergo an Assessment Verification Period (AVP). This assessment period is normally 12 weeks in length”

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 6 Jan 2025 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Ontario, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Ontario
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$73,367 / year
PGY-2
$79,670 / year
PGY-3
$85,564 / year
PGY-4
$92,701 / year
PGY-5
$98,567 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 nights in 28 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new patient responsibilities after 24 hours in-hospital, except what clinical handover needs
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours in-hospital, then relieved after handover (up to 2 hours)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARO agreement, 1 Jul 2023 to 30 Jun 2026. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream15 yearsVirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 yearsVirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream15 years2 dates, 26–27 Jan 2026
IMG stream15 years2 dates, 26–27 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Toronto Neuropathology Residency Program offers comprehensive training in the tissue diagnosis and study of neurological diseases.
  • The program seeks to equip trainees to become future neuropathology leaders, focusing on developing competent specialists capable of advanced diagnostic and research skills in this complex medical field.
Research
Research is emphasized, with opportunities in areas like neurodegenerative diseases, brain tumors, artificial intelligence, and pediatric neuropathology. Trainees may pursue clinical or experimental projects, and some choose to complete graduate degrees.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers across multiple hospital sites in Toronto, including University Health Network, Hospital for Sick Children, Unity Health, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, and Mount Sinai Hospital.
Teaching approach
Follows Royal College Competency By Design framework with progressive training stages: Transition to Discipline, Foundations, Core Training, and Transition to Practice, emphasizing incremental skill development and independent practice readiness.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CV/Research
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular activities
  • Leadership skills
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Academic transcripts

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Andrew Gao

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Postgraduate Coordinator

Write to the officelmp.pg@utoronto.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Neuropathology elsewhere

Nearest to Toronto

  • London - NeuropathologyWestern University

    London · 168 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Calgary - NeuropathologyUniversity of Calgary

    Calgary, AB · 2,711 km

    1 position · CMG

  • Vancouver - NeuropathologyUniversity of British Columbia

    Vancouver, BC · 3,359 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 30 Aug 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 30 Aug 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36225 (CMG stream), 35483 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream