Calgary - Neuropathology
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 1
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 0–50
- Offered interviews
- 51–75%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 27 Jan 2027
Calgary, 7 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Dedicated longitudinal forensic pathology experience in collaboration with the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Centralized Calgary autopsies: 180–220 adult and 120–150 perinatal/pediatric autopsies yearly at Foothills.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- This is a 5-year neuropathology residency based mainly at the Foothills Medical Centre in Calgary.
- Pediatric and forensic neuropathology training takes place at Alberta Children's Hospital and the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner.
- The Foundation stage combines clinical rotations with anatomical pathology rotations, and residents are expected to complete at least one scholarly project.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Research
- Required · research or quality-improvement project
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- adult neurology (Foundation)
- adult neuro-oncology (Foundation)
- pediatric neurology (Foundation)
- pediatric oncology (Foundation)
- internal medicine (Foundation)
- neurosurgery (Foundation)
- neuroradiology (Foundation)
- elective (Foundation)
- General surgical pathology (Foundation · 2-3 blocks)
- Pediatric pathology (Foundation · 2 blocks)
- Bone and soft tissue pathology (Foundation · 1 block)
- Lymph node pathology (Foundation · 1 block)
- Head and neck pathology (Foundation · 1 block)
- Molecular pathology (Foundation · 1 block)
- Autopsy pathology (Foundation · 2 blocks)
- Forensic pathology (Foundation · 1 block)
- Core neuropathology training (Core · at least 2 years · Foothills Medical Centre)
Where you train
Calgary, Alberta: 7 teaching sites.
- Foothills Medical Centre (FMC)
- Alberta Children's Hospital (ACH)
- Office of the Chief Medical Examiner (OCME)
- Diagnostic and Scientific Centre (DSC)
- Rockyview General Hospital (RGH)
- Peter Lougheed Centre (PLC)
- South Health Campus (SHC)
Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 5 of 7; no published record for 2.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024
Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.
About Calgary
People
1,306,784residents, 2021 Census
Housing
4.9%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−7.6 °CJanuary mean16.9 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 27 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
1 Neuropathology info session at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $67,440 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,153 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,058 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,281 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,698 / year |
Call
- Call (as the program states it)
- Home call · frequency “1 week maximum per block”
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks/yr
- Call Stipends
- weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
- CMPA dues paid
- $1,500
- Dental plan
- 75% premium paid
- Educational leave
- 14 days paid leave
- Extended health insurance
- 75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
- Life insurance
- 100% towards $150,000 coverage
- Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
- 100% paid
- Long-term disability insurance
- 100% paid for 75% gross income
- Maternity Leave
- 18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
- Parental Leave
- 2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
- Practice Stipend
- $1,500
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- .95%
- Sick leave
- Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
- Statutory holidays
- Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.
Past matches
Open after round 1 in 7 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 6 of 9 years.
Show the table, with round 2Hide the table
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 1 date, 27 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 1 | 5 years | 1 date, 28 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Calgary Neuropathology Residency Program offers comprehensive training in neuropathology, centralized in the Calgary Zone under Alberta Precision Laboratories.
- The program provides extensive exposure to surgical and autopsy neuropathology, with training across multiple sites including Foothills Medical Centre, Alberta Children's Hospital, and the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner.
- Research
- Active research programs in neurodegenerative disorders, neurodegeneration, cerebral ischemia, and neuro-oncology. Residents are strongly encouraged to participate in research and expected to complete at least one scholarly project.
- Training setting
- Training occurs primarily at Foothills Medical Centre in Calgary, with additional sites including Alberta Children's Hospital, Office of the Chief Medical Examiner, and other regional hospitals. The program serves a catchment area of over one million people.
- Teaching approach
- The program emphasizes progressive, competency-based training with a focus on developing clinical skills, research abilities, and professional competencies through case-based learning, multidisciplinary rounds, and interactive 'flipped classroom' discussions.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV
- Elective experiences
- Reference letters
- Research/Publications
- Personal letter
- Leadership skills
- Extra-curricular activities
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Christopher Newell
- Program office
Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Neuropathology elsewhere
Nearest to Calgary
Did this page answer your question?