Skip to content
CdnMD

Moncton - Internal Medicine

Université de SherbrookeMoncton, New BrunswickRegular streamNew for 2027

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions
Length
3 years
Applications per year
201–400
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Thu 5 Nov 2026,8:00–9:00 pm (time zone not stated)

Interviews

1 date, 5 Feb 2027virtual

Moncton, 12 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • French-language training in officially bilingual New Brunswick, with English skills also needed for anglophone patients.

    From “Important information” on the CaRMS page

  • Graduates are treated as out-of-Quebec residents for Quebec subspecialty admission, limited to the particular contingent.

    From “Important information” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a three-year French-language internal medicine core program delivered by Université de Sherbrooke at the CHU Dr Georges-L.-Dumont in Moncton, New Brunswick.
  • Residents complete at least 21 of 39 periods in New Brunswick, spending the first three months of PGY-1 in Sherbrooke and some rotations at Quebec partner sites.
  • All residents must complete a research project, with one full period dedicated to it.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Francophone minority communities
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Training language
French

By year

PGY-1
  • Médecine interne - Unité d’enseignement clinique8 semaines
  • Cardiologie8 semaines
  • Soins intensifs médicaux4 semaines
  • Médecine interne - UrgenceSherbrooke4 semaines
PGY-2
  • Soins intensifs médicauxSherbrooke (HCLM)4 semaines
  • Soins intensifs coronariens4 semaines
PGY-3
  • Médecine interne - Consultations12 semaines
  • Médecine interne - Unité d’ens. clinique, milieu universitaire8 semaines
  • Médecine interne - Unité d’ens. clinique, milieu communautaire8 semaines
  • Soins intensifs médicaux4 semaines
  • Soins ambulatoires4 semaines

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Biochimie médicale (AU COURS DES TROIS ANNÉES DU PROGRAMME · 4 semaines · Sherbrooke)
  • Dermatologie (AU COURS DES TROIS ANNÉES DU PROGRAMME · 4 semaines)
  • Endocrinologie (AU COURS DES TROIS ANNÉES DU PROGRAMME · 4 - 8 semaines)
  • Gastroentérologie (AU COURS DES TROIS ANNÉES DU PROGRAMME · 4 - 8 semaines)
  • Gériatrie (AU COURS DES TROIS ANNÉES DU PROGRAMME · 4 -8 semaines)
  • Hématologie (AU COURS DES TROIS ANNÉES DU PROGRAMME · 4 - 8 semaines)
  • Microbiologie - Infectiologie (AU COURS DES TROIS ANNÉES DU PROGRAMME · 4 - 8 semaines)
  • Néphrologie (AU COURS DES TROIS ANNÉES DU PROGRAMME · 4 - 8 semaines)
  • Neurologie (AU COURS DES TROIS ANNÉES DU PROGRAMME · 4 - 8 semaines)
  • Pneumologie (AU COURS DES TROIS ANNÉES DU PROGRAMME · 4 - 8 semaines)
  • Rhumatologie (AU COURS DES TROIS ANNÉES DU PROGRAMME · 4 - 8 semaines)
  • Recherche (AU COURS DES TROIS ANNÉES DU PROGRAMME · 4 semaines)
  • Électifs (3 stages à option : 2 en R2 et 1 en R3) (AU COURS DES TROIS ANNÉES DU PROGRAMME · 3 x 4 semaines)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Moncton, New Brunswick: 12 teaching sites.

  • Centre hospitalier universitaire Dr ‑ Georges ‑ L. ‑ Dumont
  • Centre de formation médicale du Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Hôpital régional Chaleur (Bathurst · rural or distributed site)
  • Hôpital régional d’Edmundston (Edmundston · rural or distributed site)
  • Hôpital Régional de Campbellton (Campbellton · rural or distributed site)
  • Santé Québec Estrie CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont (Sherbrooke)
  • Santé Québec Estrie CHUS - Hôtel-Dieu (Sherbrooke)
  • Institut universitaire de gériatrie - pavillon Argyll (Sherbrooke)
  • Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne (Longueuil)
  • Hôtel-Dieu d'Arthabaska (Victoriaville · rural or distributed site)
  • Hôpital Ste-Croix (Drummondville · rural or distributed site)
  • Santé Québec-Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean-Universitaire - Hôpital de Chicoutimi (Chicoutimi · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 12 of 12.

About Moncton

  • People

    79,470residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Moncton

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Moncton, New Brunswick (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −8.4 °CJanuary mean19.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Moncton, 7.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Moncton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
5 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 3 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year
PGY-3
$89,462 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr(e) Isabelle Boulais

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Secrétaire direction de programme, Directrice administrative des programmes de formation médicale postdoctorale

Email on the CaRMS page(opens in a new tab)

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Internal Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Moncton

  • Québec, QC · 499 km

    37 positions · Regular

  • Sherbrooke - Internal MedicineUniversité de Sherbrooke

    Sherbrooke, QC · 557 km

    34 positions · Regular

  • Montreal, QC · 684 km

    30 positions · Regular

    Bilingual

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 16 Oct 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 37232 · How these pages are made ›

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?