Skip to content
CdnMD

Québec - Internal Medicine

Université LavalQuébec, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
37 positions+3 from 34 in the 2026 match
Length
3 years
Applications per year
201–400
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · this stream

Interviews

2 dates, 26–28 Jan 2027virtual

Québec, 13 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Option of a longitudinal first year based at Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis for at least four residents.

    From “Important information” on the CaRMS page

  • Required general internal medicine rotations at regional sites, chosen from seven available sites in remote regions.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a three-year core internal medicine program at Université Laval, delivered across multiple sites including tertiary subspecialty settings.
  • Residents complete three periods of general internal medicine in regional sites during the second and third years.
  • At least four first-year residents complete a longitudinal first year at Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • Longitudinal / integrated
Research
Offered · research project
Training language
French

By year

PGY-1
  • Cardiologie3 périodes
  • Unité d'enseignement clinique de médecine interne2 périodes
  • Pneumologie2 périodes
  • Unité de soins intensifs2 périodes
  • Gastroentérologie2 périodes
  • Gastroentérologie ou neurologie2 périodes
  • Neurologie2 périodes
  • Stage clinique de nuit1 période
  • Progression vers la discipline1 période
PGY-2
  • Trois stages à option d'une période chacun3 périodes
  • Unité d'enseignement de médecine interne2 périodes
  • Infectiologie2 périodes
  • Néphrologie2 périodes
  • Oncologie/Hématologie2 périodes
  • Gastroentérologie ou neurologie2 périodes
  • Unité de soins intensifs2 périodes
  • Médecine interne en région1 période
  • Gériatrie1 période
  • endocrinologie1 période
  • Stage clinique de nuit1 période
PGY-3
  • Unité d'enseignement clinique de médecine interne2 périodes
  • Consultations en médecine interne2 périodes
  • Médecine interne en région2 périodes
  • Infectiologie2 périodes
  • Néphrologie2 périodes
  • Oncologie/Hématologie2 périodes
  • Deux stages à option d'une période chacun2 périodes
  • Gériatrie1 période
  • endocrinologie1 période
  • Unité de soins intensifs1 période
  • Stage clinique de nuit1 période

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Québec, Quebec: 13 teaching sites.

  • CHU de Québec (Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu de Québec; CHUL; Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus; Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement; Hôpital St-François-D'Assise)
  • CHAU - Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis (Lévis)
  • IUCPQ - Hôpital Laval
  • CSSS Baie-des-Chaleurs (rural or distributed site)
  • CSSS de Beauce (rural or distributed site)
  • CSSS région de Thetford (rural or distributed site)
  • CSSS Rivière-du-Loup (Rivière-du-Loup · rural or distributed site)
  • CSSS de Sept-Iles (Sept-Iles · rural or distributed site)
  • CSSS Montmagny-L'Islet (rural or distributed site)
  • Hôpital Le Royer, Baie-Comeau (Baie-Comeau · rural or distributed site)
  • Centre Anti-Poison du Québec
  • Maison Michel-Sarrazin (Soins palliatifs)
Show all 13 sites
  • Centre hospitalier de Rimouski-Neigette (Rimouski · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: Cristal-Net at 2 of 13; no published record for 11.

Hospital facts

5 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

CHU de Québec (Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu de Québec; CHUL; Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus; Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement; Hôpital St-François-D'Assise)

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026
Clinical record
Cristal-Net (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

This name covers 5 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
Licensed beds
physical health 296 · neonatology 56
Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
Licensed beds
physical health 335
Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
Licensed beds
physical health 111
Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
Licensed beds
physical health 254
L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
Licensed beds
physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63

CHAU - Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis

Clinical record
DCI Cristal-Net, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis (Lévis) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,011 · 2026–2027: 31,265
Licensed beds
physical health 208 · psychiatry 70 · geriatrics 20 · neonatology 8

IUCPQ - Hôpital Laval

Matched to Institut Universitaire de Cardiologie et de Pneumologie de Québec (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 12,268 · 2026–2027: 13,015
Licensed beds
physical health 338
Show facts for 2 more sites

Hôpital Le Royer, Baie-Comeau

Matched to CLSC et Hôpital le Royer (Baie-Comeau) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 8,883 · 2026–2027: 8,858
Licensed beds
physical health 53 · psychiatry 15 · geriatrics 18

Centre hospitalier de Rimouski-Neigette

Matched to Hôpital Régional de Rimouski (Rimouski) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 12,321 · 2026–2027: 12,663
Licensed beds
physical health 170 · psychiatry 34 · geriatrics 15 · neonatology 5

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Québec

  • People

    549,459residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Québec

  • Housing

    2.4%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Québec, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −11.3 °CJanuary mean20.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ste-Foy (U. Laval), 4.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Québec (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not required · this stream

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
26 and 28 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

16 Internal Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 3 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float
Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 1 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 1 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Quebec.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
202200
202311 positions open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202400
202502 positions open after round 2 in 2025, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream373 years2 dates, 26–28 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 34 → 37 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamQuébec - Médecine interne345 years2 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université Laval Internal Medicine Residency Program offers comprehensive three-year training across multiple hospital sites, providing residents with extensive exposure to tertiary medical specialties.
  • The program emphasizes diverse clinical experiences, including regional hospital rotations and a strong focus on patient-centered care and medical competencies.
Research
Residents are required to associate with a clinical researcher for a three-year research project, with annual presentations and potential research awards.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple urban and regional hospital sites in Quebec, including tertiary care centers, community hospitals, and regional healthcare facilities.
Teaching approach
The program follows a Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) approach, focusing on progressive skill acquisition, frequent formative evaluations, and learner-centered development.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Clinical stage evaluations
  • Annual multiple-choice written exam
  • Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE)
  • Research project
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Équipe Admission, Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval, Agente de gestion des études

Write to the officeadmission.postmd@fmed.ulaval.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Internal Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Québec

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36233 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?