Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Internal Medicine

McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
30 positions
Length
3 years
Applications per year
401–600
Offered interviews
26–50%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

3 dates, 28 Jan – 4 Feb 2027virtual

Montreal, 3 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Integrated Research Track with C- and R-pathways, each offering about 3 blocks of protected time.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Simulation-based initiatives developed since 2006 at the Steinberg Centre for Simulation and Interactive Learning.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • McGill Internal Medicine is a 3-year residency based at the Jewish General, Montreal General and Royal Victoria hospitals.
  • CTUs use a 12-hour night float system instead of 24-hour call.
  • All residents complete a Scholarly Activity Rotation project, and an Integrated Research Track offers about 3 blocks of protected time.
  • Residents care for patients in both French and English.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project · protected time
Training language
English and French

By year

PGY-1
  • medical clinical teaching units (CTU)3-5 blocks
  • selectives/electives4-5 blocks (of which 1 is made of 2 half-blocks)
  • emergency room internal medicine consults (ERC)1-3 blocks
  • night float (NF)1 block (in the form of 2 half-blocks)
  • intensive care unit (ICU)1 block
  • coronary care unit (CCU)1 block
PGY-2
  • medical clinical teaching units (CTU)2-4 blocks
  • selectives/electives2-3.5 blocks
  • emergency room internal medicine consults (ERC)1-3 blocks
  • night float (NF)0.5-1 block
  • intensive care unit (ICU)1 block
  • coronary care unit (CCU)1 block
  • ambulatory clinics1 block
  • community internal medicine1 block
PGY-3
  • selectives/electives3.25-4.5 blocks
  • medical clinical teaching units (CTU)2-3 blocks
  • emergency room internal medicine consults (ERC)1-3 blocks
  • intensive care unit (ICU)1 block
  • coronary care unit (CCU)1 block
  • ambulatory clinics1 block
  • neurology1 block
  • night float (NF)0.5-0.75 block

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 3 teaching sites.

  • JGH - Jewish General Hospital
  • MGH - Montreal General Hospital (part of McGill University Health Center)
  • RVH - Royal Victoria Hospital (part of McGill University Health Center)

Record systems at the listed sites: TELUS at 2 of 3; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

3 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
TELUS (Oacis), since 2006, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At MGH - Montreal General Hospital (part of McGill University Health Center), RVH - Royal Victoria Hospital (part of McGill University Health Center).

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

JGH - Jewish General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général Juif (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
Licensed beds
physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34

MGH - Montreal General Hospital (part of McGill University Health Center)

Matched to Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
Licensed beds
physical health 236 · psychiatry 46

RVH - Royal Victoria Hospital (part of McGill University Health Center)

Matched to Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
28 Jan 2027; 2 and 4 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

16 Internal Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 3 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float
Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream303 years3 dates, 28 Jan – 4 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular stream305 years3 dates, 27 Jan – 2 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • McGill's Internal Medicine Residency Program offers comprehensive training across three core teaching hospitals in Montreal.
  • The program emphasizes compassionate, professional patient care grounded in scientific understanding, with a strong focus on the 'Oslerian' tradition of medicine and developing outstanding physicians.
Research
Extensive research opportunities with protected time through Scholarly Activity Rotation (SAR) and Integrated Research Track (IRT), with options for graduate coursework and intensive research activities.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers in Montreal, training across three core teaching hospitals: Jewish General Hospital, Montreal General Hospital, and Royal Victoria Hospital, serving a diverse, multicultural community.
Teaching approach
Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with a focus on progressive learning, frequent low-stake assessments, and entrustable professional activities (EPAs) to ensure comprehensive skill development.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • CV/Résumé
  • Standardized exam scores (MCCQE, NAC)
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
  • Dr. NingZi Sun

  • Dr. Penny ToliopoulosAssistant Program Director

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeresidency.internalmed@mcgill.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Discussed on Reddit

Public Reddit posts and comments where someone describes this program. Each one links to Reddit.

These are public Reddit posts, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Internal Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

  • Montreal · 0 km

    45 positions · Regular

    French
  • Sherbrooke - Internal MedicineUniversité de Sherbrooke

    Sherbrooke · 131 km

    34 positions · Regular

    French
  • Ottawa - Internal MedicineUniversity of Ottawa

    Ottawa, ON · 166 km

    32 positions · CMG, IMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 9 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36316 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?