Skip to content
CdnMD

Grand-Moncton - Family Medicine

Université de SherbrookeGrand-Moncton, New BrunswickRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
18 positions+2 from 16 in the 2026 match
Length
2 years
Applications per year
201–400
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027virtual

What stands out about this program

  • French-language family medicine training in New Brunswick, where up to 30% of patients are anglophone.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Free accommodation during the 3 to 6 months of rotations away from the home base.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • PGY-2 clinical activities include clinics at the Elsipogtog Indigenous community health centre.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year Université de Sherbrooke family medicine program is based at a family medicine unit in Dieppe, near the Dr-Georges-L.-Dumont university hospital in Moncton, New Brunswick.
  • Residents serve francophone and anglophone patients, with up to 30% anglophone, so sufficient English is needed.
  • About 3 to 6 months are spent at sites such as Edmundston, Bathurst and Tracadie/Caraquet, including a rural month, with free housing provided.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (4 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Francophone minority communities
Research
Required · scholarly or quality-improvement project
Training language
French
Enhanced skills
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Palliative Care
  • Clinician Scholar / Research
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Maternity and Newborn Care
Getting around
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for

By year

PGY-1
  • UNITÉ DE MÉDECINE FAMILIALEUMF Moncton6 périodes
  • MÉDECINE INTERNEMoncton2 périodes
  • PSYCHIATRIEMoncton1 période
  • PÉDIATRIEMoncton1 période
  • URGENCE ET SOINS CRITIQUESEdmundston, Campbellton ou Tracadie/Caraquet1 période
  • OPTION1 période
PGY-2
  • UNITÉ DE MÉDECINE DE FAMILLEUMF Moncton3 périodes
  • UNITÉ EXTÉRIEUREBathurst ou Edmundston2 périodes
  • MÉDECINE DE FAMILLE EN MILIEU RURALTracadie/Caraquet1 période
  • SOINS PERSONNES ÂGÉESMoncton1 période
  • URGENCEMoncton ou Bathurst1 période
  • OPTION1 période
  • OPTION1 période
  • 3 E SÉLECTIFMoncton, Kent, Péninsule Acadienne, Bathurst, Campbellton, Edmundston1 période
  • À LA CARTEUMF Moncton1 période

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Grand-Moncton, New Brunswick: 5 teaching sites; 4 rural weeks.

  • UMF du Grand-Moncton (Dieppe)
  • Centre hospitalier universitaire Dr-Georges-L.-Dumont (Moncton)
  • Clinique médicale Saint-Jacques (Edmundston · rural or distributed site)
  • Clinique médicale Népisiguit (Bathurst · rural or distributed site)
  • Centre de santé de la communauté autochtone d'Elsipotog

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 5 of 5.

About Moncton

  • People

    79,470residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Moncton

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Moncton, New Brunswick (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −8.4 °CJanuary mean19.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Moncton, 7.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Moncton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
  • “Pour les DIM, le.la candidat.e doit fournir une preuve d'inscription au tableau de l'Ordre ainsi qu'une preuve de travail signé par une autorité compétente”

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20, 21, 22 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 24 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$78,578 / year
PGY-2
$83,904 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 night in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No work required once handover is completed
Max continuous duty (provincial)
Handover begins by the 24th consecutive hour on duty

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. MarDocs agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

13 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call stipend, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
Call stipend
Yes
CMPA dues paid
Yes
Dental coverage
Yes
Educational leave
Yes
Extended health insurance
Yes
Life insurance
$100,000 of insurance
Long-term disabilityinsurance
66.7% of salary
Maternity leave top up after one year’s service
eligible for up to a maximum of 17 weeks top-up allowance for maternity/pregnancy leave
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1.30%
Provincial health insurance
Yes
Sick leave
Yes
Statutory and floating holidays
paid

After residency

Family doctors in New Brunswick can choose among models that pay for visits and enrolled patients: Solo Practice Compensation Model, Group-based Practice Compensation Model (GBP) or Collaborative Care Clinic Compensation Model (CCC). No separate new-graduate rule on the official pages we read. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 8 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 9 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Grand-Moncton.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream182 years5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 16 → 18 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamGrand-Moncton - Médecine familiale162 years2 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université de Sherbrooke Family Medicine Residency Program in Grand-Moncton offers a comprehensive two-year training experience focused on providing continuous, complete, and global care.
  • The program aims to train family physicians who can respond to patient and community needs while practicing the 7 CanMeds-FM roles.
Research
Includes research sessions on critical literature evaluation and preparation of a scholarly project
Training setting
Training occurs primarily in Moncton and Dieppe, New Brunswick, with exposure to urban and rural healthcare settings. Residents train at the Dr. Georges-L.-Dumont University Hospital Centre and various clinics across the region.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education emphasizing progressive independence, comprehensive patient care, and development of CanMeds-FM roles through structured rotations and longitudinal learning.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CProMF exam
  • French language proficiency
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Medical school transcript
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance
  • Clinical experience

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Secrétaire de direction

Write to the officemedfam-programme-mf@USherbrooke.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Grand-Moncton

  • de Maria - Family MedicineUniversité de Montréal

    de Maria, QC · 247 km

    6 positions · Regular

    Rural
  • South West Nova - Bilingual, NS · 249 km

    1 position · CMG

    Bilingual
  • Gaspé - Family MedicineUniversité Laval

    Gaspé, QC · 306 km

    4 positions · Regular

    Rural

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 25 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36364 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?