Skip to content
CdnMD

de Maria - Family Medicine

Université de Montréalde Maria, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
6 positions
Length
2 years
Applications per year
401–600
Offered interviews
76–100%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027virtual

What stands out about this program

  • Longitudinal follow-up of six pregnant women, including attending the delivery and following the children.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a two-year Université de Montréal family medicine program based at the CUMF de Maria, with 26 training periods.
  • Training includes 12 weeks of emergency medicine, a pediatric emergency rotation at Ste-Justine and 12 weeks of electives.
  • A two-year scholarly project in research, knowledge transfer or quality improvement is mandatory.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Rural / remote
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project
Training language
French
Enhanced skills
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Palliative Care
  • Clinician Scholar / Research
  • Medical Education
  • Addiction Medicine
  • Sport and Exercise Medicine
  • Maternity and Newborn Care

By year

PGY-2
  • Stage en médecine en région8 semaines

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • médecine de famille (1ère année · 8 périodes)
  • médecine de famille (2 e année · 7 périodes)
  • Urgence (12 semaines)
  • unité d'hospitalisation de médecine familiale (6 à 8 semaines)
  • cardiologie et unité coronarienne (4 semaines)
  • obstétrique-périnatalité (4 semaines)
  • Soins aux aînés en établissement, clinique externe et à domicile (Activités sur les 2 années)
  • Soins palliatifs en établissement, clinique externe et à domicile (4 semaines et activités sur les 2 années)
  • Urgence à Ste-Justine (4 semaines · Ste-Justine)
  • Hospitalisation et ambulatoire (4 semaines)
  • Ambulatoire (activités sur les 2 années)
  • Option (12 semaines)
  • Stage de nuit/gardes de nuit

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

de Maria, Quebec: 9 teaching sites; based in a rural community.

  • CUMF de Maria (Maria)
  • Ste-Justine
  • CISSS Abitibi-Témiscamingue (Amos, La Sarre, Val D’Or) (rural or distributed site)
  • CRSSS de la Baie-James (Matagami) (Matagami · rural or distributed site)
  • CISSS des Laurentides ( Mont-Laurier, Rivière-Rouge) (rural or distributed site)
  • CISSS de la Gaspésie (Maria, Paspébiac) (rural or distributed site)
  • CISSS de la Côte-Nord (Port-Cartier, Sept-Îles) (rural or distributed site)
  • CIUSSS Mauricie-Centre-du-Québec (La Tuque, Shawinigan) (rural or distributed site)
  • CIUSSS du Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean (Dolbeau, Roberval) (rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: DCi-ChartMaxx at 1 of 9; no published record for 8.

Hospital facts

1 site · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Ste-Justine

Clinical record
DCi-ChartMaxx (dossier clinique informatisé), fully electronic record since May 2014 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007 Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
Licensed beds
physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66 Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Maria

  • People

    2,760residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Maria

  • Housing

    not published for this area

  • Winter and summer

    −11.7 °CJanuary mean18.4 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Charlo, 33.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Moderatefor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Maria (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
IMG requirements
  • Recent clinical experience (within 4 years)
  • Observerships don’t count as clinical experience
  • “l’entrevue de ces candidats comportera aussi 3 cas cliniques de type ECOS.”

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20, 21, 22 and 26 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

59 Family Medicine info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

After residency

Family doctors in Quebec are paid fee-for-service today. A new model, which pays for enrolled patients, visits and hours worked, is agreed but not in force yet. Every family doctor in the public plan needs a compliance notice (avis de conformité) for a territory in the medical-staffing plan (PTEM, formerly PREM), or a waiver that stands in for it. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 4 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 3 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: de Maria.

Show the table, with round 2

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream62 years5 dates, 19–26 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamde Maria - Médecine familiale62 years2 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université de Montréal Family Medicine Residency Program is a comprehensive 2-year training program focused on developing well-rounded family physicians.
  • The program emphasizes continuity of care, interprofessional collaboration, and exposure to diverse clinical settings across different patient populations.
Research
Mandatory 2-year scholarly work project with presentation at annual Research and Scholarship Day, with options in research, knowledge transmission, or quality improvement.
Training setting
Urban and rural clinical settings across Quebec, including university family medicine clinics (CUMF), hospitals, community health centers, and specialized care units.
Teaching approach
Emphasizes repeated learning, competency-based curriculum, and progressive skill development through diverse clinical experiences and formal academic activities.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • CProMF (Professional Choices in Family Medicine) situational judgment test
  • Academic record review
  • Virtual interview
  • French language proficiency

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Personne contact du programme

Write to the officeadmission@medfam.umontreal.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to de Maria

  • Gaspé - Family MedicineUniversité Laval

    Gaspé · 141 km

    4 positions · Regular

    Rural
  • Rimouski · 185 km

    8 positions · Regular

    Regional
  • Manicouagan · 196 km

    8 positions · Regular

    Regional

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35360 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?