Skip to content
CdnMD

Sherbrooke - Anesthesiology

Université de SherbrookeSherbrooke, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
7 positions+1 from 6 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

Not stated on CaRMS page

Sherbrooke, 9 teaching sites

What stands out about this program

  • Mandatory 3-month regional anesthesia rotation, including one month at a site with fewer than 10 anesthesiology PREM.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Second-year residents present a review at a joint Sherbrooke–Montréal provincial anesthesiology meeting competition.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year French-language anesthesiology residency based at Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS hospitals in Sherbrooke.
  • Required rotations include pediatric anesthesia at Hôpital Ste-Justine and a 3-month regional anesthesia rotation.
  • Each resident must complete a scholarly project, either research or quality improvement, and interviews are held virtually.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project
Training language
French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • médecine interne (Fondement à la discipline)
  • cardiologie (Fondement à la discipline)
  • soins intensifs (Fondement à la discipline)
  • Anesthésie pédiatrique (Hôpital Ste-Justine)
  • Anesthésie en région (3 mois · Victoriaville, Ste-Hyacinthe, Alma, Moncton)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Sherbrooke, Quebec: 9 teaching sites.

  • Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont
  • Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS - Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu
  • Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne
  • Hôpital de Chicoutimi (Chicoutimi · rural or distributed site)
  • Hôpital Ste-Justine
  • Victoriaville (Victoriaville · rural or distributed site)
  • Ste-Hyacinthe (Ste-Hyacinthe · rural or distributed site)
  • Alma (Alma · rural or distributed site)
  • Moncton (Moncton · rural or distributed site)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: ARIANE at 2 of 9, DCi-ChartMaxx at 1, Purkinje-HM at 1; no published record for 5.

Hospital facts

5 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
DCI ARIANE (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont, Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS - Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont

Matched to CHUS - Hôpital Fleurimont (Sherbrooke) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 18,141 · 2026–2027: 19,532
Licensed beds
physical health 365 · psychiatry 6 · neonatology 20

Santé Québec Estrie-CHUS - Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu

Matched to CHUS - Hôtel-Dieu de Sherbrooke (Sherbrooke) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 18,578 · 2026–2027: 18,319
Licensed beds
physical health 216 · psychiatry 105

Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne

Clinical record
Purkinje-HM (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôpital Charles-le Moyne (Longueuil) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,073 · 2026–2027: 30,629
Licensed beds
physical health 571
Show facts for 2 more sites

Hôpital de Chicoutimi

Matched to Hôpital de Chicoutimi (Saguenay) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 20,522 · 2026–2027: 21,228
Licensed beds
physical health 311 · psychiatry 57 · neonatology 19 · hôtellerie 21

Hôpital Ste-Justine

Clinical record
DCi-ChartMaxx (dossier clinique informatisé), fully electronic record since May 2014 As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to CHU Sainte-Justine (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 27,172 · 2026–2027: 27,007
Licensed beds
physical health 333 · psychiatry 19 · neonatology 66

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Sherbrooke

  • People

    172,950residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Sherbrooke

  • Housing

    2.7%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Sherbrooke, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.5 °CJanuary mean19.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Lennoxville, 9.1 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Sherbrooke (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
Not stated on CaRMS page
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

11 Anesthesiology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call · night float
Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream75 yearsVirtual
  • Positions 6 → 7 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamSherbrooke - Anesthésiologie65 years4 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université de Sherbrooke Anesthesiology Residency Program offers a comprehensive 5-year training experience focused on developing competent anesthesiologists.
  • The program is known for its academic involvement, professionalism, and excellent preparation for specialty exams, with a commitment to producing versatile consultants capable of providing anesthesia and resuscitation care across diverse clinical contexts.
Research
Mandatory research participation through departmental research projects or quality of care studies, with support from a departmental research committee and encouragement to present at local and national conferences.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple urban and regional hospital sites in Quebec, including CIUSSS de l'Estrie-CHUS (Fleurimont and Hôtel-Dieu hospitals), Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne, Hôpital de Chicoutimi, and Hôpital Ste-Justine for pediatric anesthesia.
Teaching approach
The program follows a Competency by Design (CPC) approach, focusing on progressive skill acquisition, frequent formative evaluations, and enabling residents to take ownership of their learning process to improve patient care.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record (DREM)
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Personal Letter
  • Reference Documents
  • Academic Performance
  • Optional Rotation Choices
  • Research/Publications

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
  • Dr(e) Veronick Frigon

  • Dr(e) Sébastien Michaud

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Anesthesiology elsewhere

Nearest to Sherbrooke

  • Montreal - Anesthesiology, MontréalUniversité de Montréal

    Montreal · 131 km

    11 positions · Regular, Regular RoS

  • Montreal · 131 km

    8 positions · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Québec - AnesthesiologyUniversité Laval

    Québec · 165 km

    10 positions · Regular

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 14 Oct 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35564 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?