Skip to content
CdnMD

Québec - Anesthesiology

Université LavalQuébec, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
10 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · this stream

Interviews

3 dates, 25–27 Jan 2027virtual

Québec, 9 teaching sites

Summary

  • Université Laval's anesthesiology residency is a 5-year program organized into four competency-based stages with 4-week rotation periods.
  • Training takes place at Québec City and Lévis hospitals, with a regional anesthesiology rotation in Chicoutimi or Lanaudière.
  • Each resident must complete a scholarly project in research, quality improvement or education, and a 1–3 period research rotation may be included.
  • Interviews are virtual.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Not stated on CaRMS page
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Training language
French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • chirurgie générale (Fondements de la discipline)
  • médecine d’urgence (Fondements de la discipline)
  • pédiatrie (Fondements de la discipline)
  • obstétrique (Fondements de la discipline)
  • médecine interne (Fondements de la discipline)
  • soins intensifs (Fondements de la discipline)
  • stages de formation générale en anesthésiologie (Fondements de la discipline · 13 périodes)
  • fondements de l’anesthésie obstétricale (Fondements de la discipline)
  • fondements de l’anesthésie régionale (Fondements de la discipline)
  • stage d’initiation à l’anesthésie pédiatrique (Fondements de la discipline)
  • Anesthésie obstétricale (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • Anesthésie pour chirurgie cardiaque et thoracique (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • Anesthésie pédiatrique (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • Anesthésie régionale (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • Anesthésie neurochirurgicale et traumatologie (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • Anesthésie pour chirurgies majeures (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • Clinique de la gestion de la douleur chronique (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • Stage de cardiologie (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • Stage de pneumologie (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • Stage de soins intensifs adultes (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • Médecine périopératoire (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • stage d’échocardiographie (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • stage d’ORL (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • stage d’anesthésiologie en région (Maîtrise de la discipline)
  • stages optionnels (Maîtrise de la discipline · quatre ou cinq périodes)
  • stage de recherche (1 à 3 périodes)
  • stages d’anesthésiologie obligatoires (Transition vers la pratique · 4 périodes)
  • stages optionnels (Transition vers la pratique · 4 périodes)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Québec, Quebec: 9 teaching sites.

  • CHU de Québec - Université Laval
  • Hotel-Dieu de Québec
  • Hôpital Saint-François d’Assise
  • CHUL
  • Hôpital de l’Enfant-Jésus
  • Institut universitaire de cardiologie et pneumologie de Québec (Hôpital Laval)
  • CISSS de Chaudière-Appalaches / Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis (Lévis)
  • CIUSSS du Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean / Hôpital de Chicoutimi (Chicoutimi · rural or distributed site)
  • CISSS de Lanaudière / Centre hospitalier régional de Lanaudière (rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Cristal-Net at 7 of 9; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

9 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Cristal-Net (dossier clinique informatisé), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At CHU de Québec - Université Laval, Hôpital de l’Enfant-Jésus.
Clinical record
Cristal-Net (DCI), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At CHU de Québec - Université Laval, Hotel-Dieu de Québec, Hôpital Saint-François d’Assise, CHUL.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

CHU de Québec - Université Laval

This name covers 5 hospitals in the province’s lists. Each is shown on its own, A to Z, and the numbers are never added together.

Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
Licensed beds
physical health 296 · neonatology 56
Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
Licensed beds
physical health 335
Hôpital du Saint-Sacrement (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 15,123 · 2026–2027: 15,641
Licensed beds
physical health 111
Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
Licensed beds
physical health 254
L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec)
Emergency visits
2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
Licensed beds
physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63

Hotel-Dieu de Québec

Matched to L'Hôtel-Dieu de Québec (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 9,117 · 2026–2027: 9,533
Licensed beds
physical health 262 · hôtellerie 63

Hôpital Saint-François d’Assise

Matched to Hôpital Saint-François d'Assise (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 16,696 · 2026–2027: 17,516
Licensed beds
physical health 254
Show facts for 6 more sites

CHUL

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de l'Université Laval (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 28,705 · 2026–2027: 29,528
Licensed beds
physical health 296 · neonatology 56

Hôpital de l’Enfant-Jésus

Matched to Hôpital de l'Enfant-Jésus (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,968 · 2026–2027: 26,733
Licensed beds
physical health 335

Institut universitaire de cardiologie et pneumologie de Québec (Hôpital Laval)

Matched to Institut Universitaire de Cardiologie et de Pneumologie de Québec (Québec) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 12,268 · 2026–2027: 13,015
Licensed beds
physical health 338

CISSS de Chaudière-Appalaches / Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis

Clinical record
DCI Cristal-Net, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Matched to Hôtel-Dieu de Lévis (Lévis) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 30,011 · 2026–2027: 31,265
Licensed beds
physical health 208 · psychiatry 70 · geriatrics 20 · neonatology 8

CIUSSS du Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean / Hôpital de Chicoutimi

Matched to Hôpital de Chicoutimi (Saguenay) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 20,522 · 2026–2027: 21,228
Licensed beds
physical health 311 · psychiatry 57 · neonatology 19 · hôtellerie 21

CISSS de Lanaudière / Centre hospitalier régional de Lanaudière

Clinical record
DCI Cristal-Net, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Québec

  • People

    549,459residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Québec

  • Housing

    2.4%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Québec, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −11.3 °CJanuary mean20.0 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Ste-Foy (U. Laval), 4.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Québec (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • CV
  • Reference documents
  • MSPRs
  • Examinations
  • Personal letters
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Electives
Return of service
Not required · this stream

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
25, 26 and 27 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

11 Anesthesiology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream105 years3 dates, 25–27 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular streamQuébec - Anesthésiologie105 years3 dates as the CaRMS page writes them
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Université Laval Anesthesiology Residency Program distinguishes itself through extensive clinical exposure, a dedicated and enthusiastic faculty, and a collaborative resident environment.
  • The program features an excellent simulation curriculum across all residency levels.
Research
Residents are required to develop a scholarly project in research, quality improvement, or education, with potential for 1-3 research blocks during training.
Training setting
Urban academic medical centers in Quebec City, including multiple hospital sites with diverse clinical environments ranging from community hospitals to specialized academic centers.
Teaching approach
Follows the Royal College's Competence by Design model, emphasizing progressive skill development, simulation-based learning, and comprehensive clinical exposure across multiple medical disciplines.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Clinical rotations
  • Letters of recommendation
  • Interview performance
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Personal letter
  • Research/publications

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Équipe Admission, Vice-décanat aux études médicales postdoctorales - Université Laval, Agente de gestion des études

Write to the officeadmission.postmd@fmed.ulaval.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Anesthesiology elsewhere

Nearest to Québec

  • Sherbrooke - AnesthesiologyUniversité de Sherbrooke

    Sherbrooke · 165 km

    7 positions · Regular

  • Montreal · 233 km

    8 positions · Regular

    Bilingual
  • Montreal - Anesthesiology, MontréalUniversité de Montréal

    Montreal · 233 km

    11 positions · Regular, Regular RoS

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35546 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?