Skip to content
CdnMD

Montreal - Anesthesiology

McGill UniversityMontreal, QuebecRegular stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
8 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

Regular stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Interviews

3 dates, 1–3 Feb 2027virtual

Montreal, 9 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Junior orientation program taught by senior residents at the simulation centre, running since 2009.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Dedicated elective experiences in perioperative prehabilitation and ERAS, which the page says no other Canadian centre offers.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Optional one-week pediatric anesthesia experiences with Indigenous populations in Puvirnituq or Kuujjuaq.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • McGill's five-year anesthesiology residency trains residents mainly at Montreal university teaching hospitals.
  • Training begins with a 10-week simulation-based orientation program, and residents complete a mandatory three-month community hospital anesthesia rotation.
  • A scholarly project is required, with at least three periods of protected research time, and residents can apply to a six-year Clinician Investigator Program.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Focus areas
  • POCUS curriculum
  • Small program
Research
Required · research or quality-improvement project · protected time
Training language
English and French

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • junior orientation program (Transition to Discipline · 10-week · simulation centre)
  • cardiac (Core)
  • respirology (Core)
  • intensive care in adults (Core)
  • cardiac (CCU) (Core)
  • anesthesia rotation in a community hospital setting (three-month · CISSS de l'Outaouais (Hôpital de Hull or Hôpital de Gatineau), the CISSS de la Montérégie-Ouest, Hôpital du Suroît, Valleyfield, or Hôpital Brome Missisquoi Perkins, Cowansville)

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Montreal, Quebec: 9 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • Royal Victoria Hospital
  • Montreal General Hospital
  • Sir Mortimer B. Davis Jewish General Hospital
  • Montreal Children's Hospital
  • Montreal Neurological Institute
  • St. Mary's Hospital Center
  • CISSS de l'Outaouais, Hôpital de Hull, Hôpital de Gatineau (Gatineau · rural or distributed site)
  • CISSS de la Montérégie-Ouest, Hôpital du Suroît, Valleyfield (Valleyfield · rural or distributed site)
  • Hôpital Brome Missisquoi Perkins (Cowansville · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: TELUS at 4 of 9; no published record for 5.

Hospital facts

8 sites · public figures and clinical record systems where they are published

Public figures for hospitals named above, each with its source and reference period. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
TELUS (Oacis), since 2006, system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal General Hospital, Montreal Children's Hospital, Montreal Neurological Institute.

How to read the figures

  • Emergency visits. Cumulative from 1 April to the end of period 5 of 13 (about 20 weeks) of each fiscal year. Not a yearly total: compare only the same period.
  • Licensed beds. Capacity on the facility’s permit (au permis), by bed type, as of the 1 Oct 2026 extraction. Not staffed or open beds, and not added up across bed types.

Royal Victoria Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Royal Victoria (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 19,799 · 2026–2027: 20,604

Montreal General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,039 · 2026–2027: 14,682
Licensed beds
physical health 236 · psychiatry 46

Sir Mortimer B. Davis Jewish General Hospital

Matched to Hôpital Général Juif (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 37,934 · 2026–2027: 39,472
Licensed beds
physical health 516 · psychiatry 52 · geriatrics 28 · neonatology 34
Show facts for 5 more sites

Montreal Children's Hospital

Matched to L'Hôpital de Montréal pour Enfants (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 25,738 · 2026–2027: 26,552

Montreal Neurological Institute

Matched to Hôpital Neurologique de Montréal (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Licensed beds
physical health 90

St. Mary's Hospital Center

Matched to Centre Hospitalier de St. Mary (Montréal) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 13,990 · 2026–2027: 14,053
Licensed beds
physical health 224 · psychiatry 29 · geriatrics 24

CISSS de l'Outaouais, Hôpital de Hull, Hôpital de Gatineau

Matched to Hôpital de Hull (Gatineau) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 14,660 · 2026–2027: 14,537
Licensed beds
physical health 230

CISSS de la Montérégie-Ouest, Hôpital du Suroît, Valleyfield

Matched to Hôpital du Suroît (Salaberry-de-Valleyfield) in the province’s hospital list.

Emergency visits
2025–2026: 16,707 · 2026–2027: 18,278
Licensed beds
physical health 182 · psychiatry 39 · geriatrics 16 · neonatology 4

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Sources and licences

  • Contient de l'information fournie par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec et visée par CC BY 4.0. Données modifiées. (Contains information provided by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec under CC BY 4.0. Data modified.)

About Montréal

  • People

    1,762,949residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Montréal

  • Housing

    2.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Montréal, Quebec (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −9.2 °CJanuary mean21.7 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Montreal Trudeau (Airport), 11.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Montréal (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
1, 2 and 3 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

The 2 sessions listed for 2027 have passed.

11 Anesthesiology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Quebec, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Quebec
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$58,728 / year
PGY-2
$64,809 / year
PGY-3
$70,890 / year
PGY-4
$76,969 / year
PGY-5
$83,050 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
6 calls in an establishment per 28 days
Post-call rule (provincial)
8 hours of mandatory rest after a work period
Max continuous duty (provincial)
16 hours in an establishment in any 24-hour period

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. FMRQ agreement, 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

28 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Adoption leave, Annual vacation, Assistant Resident Coordinator, and more
Adoption leave
29 to 38 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Annual vacation
20 days/year
Assistant Resident Coordinator
$425/month
Call Premium
$607/28 days
Conference leave
7 days pd/year
Dental Plan
Yes, available for a fee
Exam leave
Day (s) of the exam
Extended Health Insurance
Yes
Leave for death in family
From 1 to 5 days depending on the family member
Leave of absence without pay (exceptional measure)
12 months maximum
Life insurance
Yes
Long-Term disability insurance
Yes
Maternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP*) and FMRQ **
21 weeks95 % of salary
Meals
Reduced feeFree during on-call duty
Pager
Provided by the establishment
Parental leave (time sharing between parents)
19 to 29 weeks55 to 75 % of salary
Parking
½ of doctors’ feeFree during on-call duty
Paternity leaveProvincial Program (RQAP) and FMRQ
1 week, 100% of salary3 to 5 weeks, 100% of salary(two options)
Professional Liability Insurance****(CPMA not applicable)
Yes (free)
Quebec Health Insurance Program / RAMQ***
Yes
Resident Coordinator
$583/month
Resuscitation courses and examination leave
Day of the course and of the exam, course paid
Sick leave
9.6 days pd / yearAnd reimbursement of days not taken
Statutory and floating holidays
13/year
Study leave
10 days pd/year
Superior Financial Programs
Yes
Teaching Premium
$240/28 days
Wedding leave
7 days paid + 7 days without pay

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 2 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Montreal.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
202200
20231 position open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202400
202500
20261 position open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

Quebec: different match process, not directly comparable.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Regular stream85 years3 dates, 1–3 Feb 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Regular stream85 years3 dates, 21–23 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the Regular stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The McGill Residency Program in Anesthesiology offers excellent clinical and research training in a large multicultural metropolitan centre.
  • The program provides a flexible and tailored approach to learning, with full Royal College certification and a comprehensive 5-year training curriculum that integrates simulation, workshops, and diverse clinical experiences.
Research
Minimum of three protected research periods, opportunities for clinical and basic research, quality improvement projects, and potential Master's degree pursuit.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple urban teaching hospitals in Montreal, including Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal General Hospital, Jewish General Hospital, and Montreal Children's Hospital, offering a diverse and comprehensive clinical experience.
Teaching approach
Competence by Design curriculum with a focus on progressive learning through simulation, hands-on workshops, case-based seminars, and structured mentorship, emphasizing both clinical skills and research capabilities.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic excellence
  • 3 letters of reference
  • CASPer exam
  • Personal letter
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Catherine Paquet

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeanesthesia@mcgill.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Anesthesiology elsewhere

Nearest to Montreal

  • Montreal - Anesthesiology, MontréalUniversité de Montréal

    Montreal · 0 km

    11 positions · Regular, Regular RoS

    French
  • Sherbrooke - AnesthesiologyUniversité de Sherbrooke

    Sherbrooke · 131 km

    7 positions · Regular

    French
  • Montfort - Bilingual, ON · 166 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 15 Oct 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 35969 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?