Skip to content
CdnMD

Winnipeg - Psychiatry

University of ManitobaWinnipeg, Manitoba

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
10 positions
3 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
76–100%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

IMG requirement: “All International Medical graduates are required to attend a two week IMG Orientation the…” details under How they choose

Interviews

6 dates, 20–27 Jan 2027virtual

Winnipeg, 5 teaching sites · required rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Psychotherapy training with a weekly patient begins in PGY-1.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Community psychiatry experiences in Northern Manitoba and Nunavut with First Nations and Inuit communities via Ongomiizwin.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Manitoba Psychiatry program is a five-year residency based at the PsycHealth Centre (Health Sciences Centre), St. Boniface Hospital and Victoria Hospital in Winnipeg.
  • Residents begin psychotherapy training in the second half of PGY-1, and PGY-5 is 12 months of elective training.
  • Residents must complete a research deliverable before the end of PGY3 and take part in community psychiatry placements, including rural/remote sites.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Northern
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • inpatient psychiatric ICU
  • emergency room psychiatry
  • consultation-liaison psychiatry
  • research
  • family medicine
  • emergency medicine
  • neurology
  • internal medicine
PGY-2
  • adult inpatient psychiatry6-month
  • adult outpatient psychiatry6-month
PGY-3
  • geriatric psychiatry6-month
  • child and adolescent psychiatry6-month
PGY-4
  • Consultation-Liaison psychiatry6 months
  • Severe and Persistent Mental Illness psychiatry6 months
  • Shared Care/Collaborative Care
PGY-5
  • elective training12 months

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Winnipeg, Manitoba: 5 teaching sites; required rural rotation.

  • PsycHealth Centre
  • Health Sciences Centre
  • McEwen Building at the St. Boniface Hospital
  • Victoria Hospital
  • Selkirk Mental Health Centre (rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Altera at 3 of 5; no published record for 2.

Moving to a new system: Health Sciences Centre; McEwen Building at the St. Boniface Hospital; Victoria Hospital (scheduled 31 Mar 2027 across the province).

Hospital facts

3 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Altera Digital Health (EPR), moving to a new system in every hospital by 31 Mar 2027; this hospital’s own date is not published by the province yet As of 31 Oct 2026. At Health Sciences Centre, McEwen Building at the St. Boniface Hospital, Victoria Hospital.

Manitoba's electronic patient record is going into every hospital by the end of March 2027, a hospital at a time (6 of 57 complete as of June 2026). Order entry is not included at this stage. As of 31 Oct 2026

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Manitoba doesn't publish this as open data.

About Winnipeg

  • People

    749,607residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Winnipeg

  • Housing

    2.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Winnipeg, Manitoba (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −16.3 °CJanuary mean19.5 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Winnipeg Richardson (Airport), 7.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Winnipeg (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only
IMG requirements
  • “All International Medical graduates are required to attend a two week IMG Orientation the last two weeks on June 2027.”

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
20, 21, 22, 25, 26 and 27 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Manitoba, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Manitoba
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$72,171 / year
PGY-2
$77,416 / year
PGY-3
$83,372 / year
PGY-4
$89,329 / year
PGY-5
$95,285 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
7 calls per 4-week block, in-house and home call combined
Post-call rule (provincial)
No duty hours before 06:00 the next calendar day, after in-hospital call
Max continuous duty (provincial)
26 consecutive hours (24, plus 2 for handover)

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARIM agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2027. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 2 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Winnipeg.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
202000
202100
20225 positions open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)2 positions open after round 2 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)
20234 positions open after round 1 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)1 position open after round 2 in 2023, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)
202400
202500
20262 positions open after round 1 in 2026, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream105 years6 dates, 20–27 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted
IMG stream35 years6 dates, 20–27 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream105 years6 dates, 21–28 Jan 2026
IMG stream35 years6 dates, 21–28 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Manitoba offers a comprehensive 5-year Psychiatry residency program designed to produce psychiatrists with broad academic and clinical expertise.
  • The program provides extensive training across various psychiatric domains, with a strong focus on psychotherapy, clinical skills, and serving diverse patient populations.
Research
Residents are required to complete at least one publishable research paper, with up to one year of PGY-5 time potentially dedicated to research. A dedicated Research Track is available for developing clinician scientists.
Training setting
Training occurs across multiple urban teaching hospitals in Winnipeg, including PsycHealth Centre, St. Boniface Hospital, and Victoria Hospital, with additional community and rural training sites.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing both clinical expertise and broader physician roles including medical expert, communicator, collaborator, leader, health advocate, scholar, and professional.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Personal Letter
  • CV/Resume
  • References
  • Interview Performance
  • Clinical Rotation Performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
  • Dr. Michael Harrington

  • Dr. Camille Glidden

  • Dr. Kirsten Penner-Goeke

CaRMS lists no email for the directors.

Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeCaRMS.Psych@umanitoba.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Psychiatry elsewhere

Nearest to Winnipeg

  • Rural Brandon - PsychiatryUniversity of Manitoba

    Rural Brandon · 202 km

    4 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Regina - PsychiatryUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Regina, SK · 536 km

    4 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Thunder Bay, ON · 598 km

    1 position · CMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 17 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 17 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36369 (CMG stream), 35812 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream