Saskatoon - Orthopedic Surgery
University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SaskatchewanCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 2
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 76–100%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Interviews
1 date, 1 Feb 2027
Saskatoon, 12 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Annual combined orthopedic resident research day with the University of Manitoba, alternating hosts.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Second-year residents take home tactile knee models for arthroscopic practice.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Residents are often first assist for all elective ORs starting in PGY-1.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- This is a 5-year orthopedic surgery residency based at Royal University Hospital and Saskatoon City Hospital in Saskatoon.
- In fourth year, residents work with community surgeons in centres such as Regina, Prince Albert, Moose Jaw and Lloydminster.
- The program uses a night float call system, and research is mandatory from R1 to R4, with a protected half-day each week.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Early independence
- Small program
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Hip and Knee Reconstruction (Surgical Foundations)
- Orthopedic Trauma (Surgical Foundations)
- Spine (Surgical Foundations)
- Pediatric Orthopedics (Surgical Foundations)
- Sports (Surgical Foundations)
- Night Float (Surgical Foundations)
- ICU (Surgical Foundations · 1 block)
- Trauma Surgery (Surgical Foundations · 1 block)
- Plastic Surgery (Surgical Foundations · 1 block)
- Emergency Medicine (Surgical Foundations · 1 block)
- Internal Medicine (Surgical Foundations · 1 block)
- Sports (Core · Royal University Hospital and Saskatoon City Hospital)
- Upper Extremity (Core · Royal University Hospital and Saskatoon City Hospital)
- Foot and Ankle (Core · Royal University Hospital and Saskatoon City Hospital)
- Hip & Knee Reconstruction/Orthopedic Tumour Surgery (Core · Royal University Hospital and Saskatoon City Hospital)
- Spine Surgery (Core · Royal University Hospital and Saskatoon City Hospital)
- Pediatric Orthopedics (Core · Royal University Hospital and Saskatoon City Hospital)
- Trauma Orthopedics (Core · Royal University Hospital and Saskatoon City Hospital)
- community practice (Core · Regina, Prince Albert, Moose Jaw and Lloydminster)
- elective time for out-of-province rotations (Core · 1-2 blocks)
- knowledge consolidation (Core · 1 block)
Where you train
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan: 12 teaching sites.
- Royal University Hospital
- Saskatoon City Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital
- Saskatoon Prairieview Surgical Centre
- Saskatoon Surgicentre
- Regina Hospitals (Regina · rural or distributed site)
- Prince Albert Hospital (Prince Albert · rural or distributed site)
- Lloydminster Hospital (Lloydminster · rural or distributed site)
- Moose Jaw Hospital (Moose Jaw · rural or distributed site)
- Northern Medical Services (rural or distributed site)
- Offices of the community based faculty
Record systems at the listed sites: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 8 of 12; no published record for 4.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Clinical record
- Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Regina Hospitals
- Clinical record
- Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
About Saskatoon
People
266,141residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.1%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−15.4 °CJanuary mean18.3 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 1 Feb 2027
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.
5 Orthopedic Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $68,329 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,518 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,858 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,968 / year |
Call
- Call (as the program states it)
- In-house call · night float
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 2 | 5 years | 1 date, 1 Feb 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 2 | 5 years | 1 date, 2 Feb 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Saskatchewan offers a comprehensive 5-year Orthopedic Surgery residency program with a strong focus on personalized mentorship, early operative responsibility, and resident wellness.
- The program provides extensive clinical and didactic teaching, surgical simulation, and research opportunities across multiple training sites in Saskatchewan.
- Research
- Mandatory research project in R1-R4 years, with one completed manuscript expected, protected half-day research time weekly, and annual research day presentations.
- Training setting
- Urban medical centers in Saskatoon and other Saskatchewan cities, including academic hospitals, community hospitals, and surgical centers with a distributive learning approach.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education with progressive independence, emphasizing personalized mentorship, hands-on surgical experience, and comprehensive didactic learning.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- CV
- Electives
- Casper Test
- Extra-curricular activities
- Leadership skills
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Personal letter
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Andrew Urmson
- Program office
Program Administrative Assistant
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.
Videos and podcasts
From the program
Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.
Orthopedic Surgery elsewhere
Nearest to Saskatoon
Did this page answer your question?
