Skip to content
CdnMD

Edmonton - Orthopedic Surgery

University of AlbertaEdmonton, Alberta

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
4 positions
1 position
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

IMG stream · open to international medical graduates

Return of service: Not required · all residents

IMG requirement: Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program details under How they choose

Interviews

Not stated on the CMG stream’s CaRMS page

1 date, 3 Feb 2027Panel

Edmonton, 8 teaching sites · 8 rural weeks

What stands out about this program

  • Required eight-week rural orthopedic rotation, with Yellowknife, NWT as one of the site options.

    From “Training sites” on the CaRMS page

  • Residents are expected to complete both a clinical and a basic science research project.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • A Vertimed simulator in the resident room gives residents 24/7 access to simulator training.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a five-year orthopedic surgery residency in Edmonton, based at two trauma sites: the University of Alberta Hospital and the Royal Alexandra Hospital.
  • Residents complete an eight-week rural orthopedic rotation in Red Deer or Yellowknife.
  • In years two through four, residents are expected to complete one clinical and one basic science research project, and call is no more than one in four.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (8 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Early independence
  • Small program
Research
Required · research project

By year

PGY-1
  • General Orthopedic + Spine Surgery24 Weeks
  • Orthopedic Pediatrics4 Weeks
  • General Surgery4 Weeks
  • Internal Medicine4 Weeks
  • Emergency Medicine4 Weeks
  • Vascular Surgery4 Weeks
  • Coronary Care4 Weeks
PGY-2
  • Jr. Arthroplasty Surgery8 Weeks
  • Jr. Orthopedic Trauma Surgery8 Weeks
  • Orthopedic Rural/Community Practice8 Weeks
  • Jr. Sports8 Weeks
  • Jr. Spine8 Weeks
  • ICU8 Weeks
  • Plastic Surgery4 Weeks
PGY-3
  • Upper Extremity12 Weeks
  • Pediatrics12 Weeks
  • Tumor12 Weeks
  • Foot & Ankle12 Weeks
  • Electives4 Weeks
PGY-4
  • Arthroplasty12 Weeks
  • Sports12 Weeks
  • Trauma12 Weeks
  • Spine8 Weeks
  • Electives8 Weeks
PGY-5
  • Pediatrics12 Weeks
  • Trauma12 Weeks
  • Upper Extremity8 Weeks
  • Transition to Practice8 Weeks
  • Foot & Ankle4 Weeks
  • Consolidation4 Weeks
  • Electives4 Weeks

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Edmonton, Alberta: 8 teaching sites; 8 rural weeks.

  • University of Alberta Hospital
  • Royal Alexandra Hospital
  • Stollery Children's Hospital
  • Misericordia Community Hospital
  • Grey Nuns Community Hospital
  • Sturgeon Community Hospital
  • Red Deer (Red Deer · rural or distributed site)
  • Yellowknife, NWT (Yellowknife · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 6 of 8; no published record for 2.

Hospital facts

6 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At University of Alberta Hospital, Royal Alexandra Hospital, Stollery Children's Hospital, Misericordia Community Hospital, Grey Nuns Community Hospital, Sturgeon Community Hospital.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Edmonton

  • People

    1,010,899residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Edmonton

  • Housing

    3.8%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Edmonton, Alberta (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −10.3 °CJanuary mean18.1 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Edmonton (City), 4.5 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Edmonton (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not required · all residents
Return of service
Not required · all residents
IMG requirements
  • Assessment by a provincial clinical assessment program

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
Not stated on the CMG stream’s CaRMS page
Interview dates (2027 match)
3 Feb 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel
Format
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

5 Orthopedic Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$67,440 / year
PGY-2
$74,153 / year
PGY-3
$80,058 / year
PGY-4
$86,281 / year
PGY-5
$92,698 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
frequency “no more than one in four”
Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream45 yearsVirtualNothing noted
IMG stream15 years1 date, 3 Feb 2027Panel
  • New for 2027

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream45 yearsInterviews not stated
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Alberta Orthopedic Surgery Residency Program is a comprehensive 5-year training program designed to develop well-rounded orthopedic surgeons.
  • The program offers extensive clinical and surgical experiences across multiple subspecialties, with a strong emphasis on research and academic development.
Research
Residents complete literature reviews, clinical and basic science research projects, with support from research directors and opportunities for graduate degrees through the Clinician Investigator Program.
Training setting
Residents train across multiple urban hospitals in Edmonton, including trauma sites, community hospitals, and specialized children's hospitals, with opportunities for rural rotations in Red Deer and Yellowknife.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education following CanMEDS roles, emphasizing progressive independence, hands-on surgical experience, and comprehensive skill development across multiple orthopedic subspecialties.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Reference Letters
  • CASPer Test
  • Personal Letter
  • CV/Research Experience
  • Interview Performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
Program office

Program Administrator

Write to the officeoseortho@ualberta.ca

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Orthopedic Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Edmonton

  • Calgary - Orthopedic SurgeryUniversity of Calgary

    Calgary · 281 km

    5 positions · CMG

  • Saskatoon - Orthopedic SurgeryUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Saskatoon, SK · 484 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • Vancouver - Orthopedic SurgeryUniversity of British Columbia

    Vancouver, BC · 818 km

    5 positions · CMG

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · The IMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 9 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36267 (CMG stream), 35684 (IMG stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamIMG stream · change stream