Skip to content
CdnMD

Calgary - Orthopedic Surgery

University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
5 positions
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

1 date, 27 Jan 2027virtual

Calgary, 6 teaching sites · optional rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Final-year flex blocks let residents revisit clinical areas or build experience before fellowship.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • The academic half-day uses a flipped classroom backed by a library of podcasts that residents prepare.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • The University of Calgary Orthopaedic Surgery program is a 5-year residency with rotations at four adult sites in Calgary and one paediatric hospital.
  • Residents must complete at least one block at a regional community hospital outside the city, and they must do independent research.
  • Academic time is protected every Thursday afternoon, and final-year flex blocks let residents return to clinical areas.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Optional rural rotation
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

Not stated on CaRMS page

Other rotations

Listed by the program without a single PGY year.

  • Emergency Medicine (Junior Years (PGY 1, 2, 3))
  • Plastic Surgery (Junior Years (PGY 1, 2, 3))
  • General Surgery (Junior Years (PGY 1, 2, 3))
  • General Internal Medicine (Junior Years (PGY 1, 2, 3))
  • ICU (Junior Years (PGY 1, 2, 3))
  • Jr. Pediatrics Orthopedics (Junior Years (PGY 1, 2, 3))
  • Community Orthopedics (Junior Years (PGY 1, 2, 3))
  • Jr. Trauma (Junior Years (PGY 1, 2, 3))
  • Jr. Arthroplasty (Junior Years (PGY 1, 2, 3))
  • Jr. Sports Medicine (Junior Years (PGY 1, 2, 3))
  • Jr. Spine (Junior Years (PGY 1, 2, 3))
  • Upper Extremity (Junior Years (PGY 1, 2, 3))
  • Foot & Ankle (Junior Years (PGY 1, 2, 3))
  • Tumor/Oncology (Junior Years (PGY 1, 2, 3))
  • Elective (Junior Years (PGY 1, 2, 3))
  • Sr. Trauma (Senior Years (PGY 4, 5))
  • Sr. Arthroplasty (Senior Years (PGY 4, 5))
  • Sr. Sports (Senior Years (PGY 4, 5))
  • Hand, Wrist and Elbow (Senior Years (PGY 4, 5))
  • Sr. Spine (Senior Years (PGY 4, 5))
  • Sr. Pediatrics Orthopedics (Senior Years (PGY 4, 5))
  • Jr. Attending (Senior Years (PGY 4, 5))
  • Flex Block (Senior Years (PGY 4, 5))
  • Study Block (Senior Years (PGY 4, 5))
  • Elective (Senior Years (PGY 4, 5))
  • Rural (Senior Years (PGY 4, 5))

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Calgary, Alberta: 6 teaching sites; optional rural rotation.

  • Alberta Childrens' Hospital
  • Foothills Medical Centre
  • Peter Lougheed Centre
  • Rockyview General Hospital
  • South Health Campus
  • Rural Electives - Red Deer (Red Deer · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 5 of 6; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

5 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At Alberta Childrens' Hospital, Foothills Medical Centre, Peter Lougheed Centre, Rockyview General Hospital, South Health Campus.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Calgary

  • People

    1,306,784residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Calgary

  • Housing

    4.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Calgary, Alberta (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −7.6 °CJanuary mean16.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Calgary (Airport), 9.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Calgary (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
27 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Panel

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

5 Orthopedic Surgery info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$67,440 / year
PGY-2
$74,153 / year
PGY-3
$80,058 / year
PGY-4
$86,281 / year
PGY-5
$92,698 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream55 years1 date, 27 Jan 2027Virtual
  • CaRMS page changed during the match: requirements (noticed 13 Oct)

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream55 years1 date, 4 Feb 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Calgary Orthopedic Surgery Residency Program offers a comprehensive 5-year training experience that prepares residents for excellence in orthopedic surgery.
  • The program provides high-quality education across all aspects of musculoskeletal care, with training in urban and rural settings and a strong emphasis on research, leadership, and professional development.
Research
Residents are required to conduct research, with opportunities to develop and complete research projects through the Calgary Orthopaedic Residency Research Group (CORRG).
Training setting
Urban medical centers in Calgary, Alberta, including multiple hospital sites with diverse clinical environments and a rural rotation component.
Teaching approach
Utilizes a competency-based framework with progressive independence, emphasizing critical thinking, scholarly activities, and comprehensive skill development through rotation-based learning and protected academic time.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic performance
  • Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
  • Reference letters
  • Personal letter
  • Interview performance
  • Research experience
  • Leadership skills

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program directors
Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Videos and podcasts

From the program

Public podcast episodes and videos where the program presents itself. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.

These are public recordings, reviewed by hand and linked here, not endorsed. They may be out of date. Confirm with the program.

All videos, podcasts and discussions →

Orthopedic Surgery elsewhere

Nearest to Calgary

  • Edmonton - Orthopedic SurgeryUniversity of Alberta

    Edmonton · 281 km

    5 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Saskatoon - Orthopedic SurgeryUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Saskatoon, SK · 525 km

    2 positions · CMG

  • Vancouver - Orthopedic SurgeryUniversity of British Columbia

    Vancouver, BC · 673 km

    5 positions · CMG

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 6 Oct 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36422 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

What changed, noticed 13 Oct: Selection criteria: wording changed. See what changed

What changed on the program’s CaRMS page

We read each program’s CaRMS page about every two weeks and note what differs. The date is when we noticed it; the change was made in the window shown. Reformatting is not listed, and a contacts change is listed without names.

  1. Noticed 13 Octchanged between 5 and 13 Oct

    • Selection criteria: wording changed

      From the CaRMS page, read 13 Oct

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?