Saskatoon - Obstetrics and Gynecology
University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SaskatchewanCMG stream
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 5
- Length
- 5
- Applications per year
- 51–200
- Offered interviews
- 51–75%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Interviews
Not stated on CaRMS page
Saskatoon, 7 teaching sites
What stands out about this program
Indigenous Birth Support Workers program provides culturally safe care on the obstetrical floor.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
Protected research time allotted in every block, with a dedicated research assistant at each site.
From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page
- This is a 5-year Obstetrics and Gynecology residency with 5 positions in Saskatoon and 2 in Regina, integrating five hospitals.
- Mandatory community hospital rotations outside Saskatoon and Regina occur in the first and fourth years, with housing provided.
- A research project is required, with protected research time in each block.
Based on what the program says about itself.
- You’re open to training at sites across a region, not at one hospital.
Show the quote
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Regional community
- Rural exposure
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Focus areas
- Procedural emphasis
- Small program
- Indigenous health
- Research
- Required · research project · protected time
- Getting around
- Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
By year
Not stated on CaRMS page
Other rotations
- Surgical Foundations Boot Camp (Transition to Discipline · 2 blocks)
- obstetrics (Foundations of Discipline)
- gynecology (Foundations of Discipline)
- critical care (ICU, Anesthesia, Trauma) (Foundations of Discipline)
- gynecologic oncology (Core of Discipline)
- reproductive endocrinology and infertility (Core of Discipline)
- maternal fetal medicine (Core of Discipline)
- pathology (Core of Discipline)
- elective/selective (Core of Discipline)
- chief resident (Core of Discipline)
- Prince Albert rotation (Prince Albert)
Where you train
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan: 7 teaching sites.
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital
- Royal University Hospital
- Saskatoon City Hospital
- St. Paul's Hospital
- Regina General Hospital (Regina)
- Victoria Hospital (Prince Albert · rural or distributed site)
- Moose Jaw Union Hospital (Moose Jaw · rural or distributed site)
Distributed across a region
Record systems at the listed sites: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 7 of 7.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
- Clinical record
- Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Regina General Hospital
- Clinical record
- Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
About Saskatoon
People
266,141residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.1%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−15.4 °CJanuary mean18.3 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Return of service
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- Format
- Virtual
- Traditional (one on one/two on one)
Info sessions
The 1 session listed for 2027 has passed.
6 Obstetrics and Gynecology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $68,329 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,518 / year |
| PGY-3 | $80,700 / year |
| PGY-4 | $86,858 / year |
| PGY-5 | $92,968 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
Past matches
No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 5 | 5 years | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 5 | 5 years | Interviews not stated |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Saskatchewan's Obstetrics and Gynecology residency program offers a comprehensive 5-year training experience across multiple hospitals in Saskatchewan.
- The program focuses on producing well-rounded, socially conscious physicians who are exceptional clinicians, teachers, and researchers in obstetrics and gynecology.
- Research
- Residents are required to complete a research project with dedicated research time, support from a Research Committee, and funding for conference presentations.
- Training setting
- Distributed learning across multiple urban and community hospitals in Saskatchewan, including sites in Saskatoon, Regina, Prince Albert, and Moose Jaw, with over 10,000 deliveries annually.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME) with progressive independence, emphasizing hands-on experience, critical thinking, and comprehensive patient-focused care.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Casper test
- Medical Student Performance Record
- Personal letter
- Electives performance
- Reference letters
- Interview performance
Contacts and links
- Program directors
Dr. Kristine Mytopher
Dr. Afton SielskiAssistant Program Director
CaRMS lists no email for the directors.
- Program office
Program Administrator
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Obstetrics and Gynecology elsewhere
Nearest to Saskatoon
Did this page answer your question?