Skip to content
CdnMD

Calgary - Obstetrics and Gynecology

University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaCMG stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
8 positions+2 from 6 in the 2026 match
Length
5 years
Applications per year
51–200
Offered interviews
51–75%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Interviews

3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027virtual

Calgary, 8 teaching sites · required rural rotation

What stands out about this program

  • Supervised Lead Resident Clinics at all four hospital sites give longitudinal independent practice.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Modified call model limits junior residents to 16 consecutive hours within a 24-hour period.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • Dedicated PGY1 ultrasound block related to obstetrics and gynecology.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a 5-year Obstetrics and Gynecology residency based at one large tertiary and three academic community hospital sites.
  • PGY3 includes a 2-block Rural Community Gynecology rotation, commonly in Lethbridge, Medicine Hat or Whitehorse.
  • Senior residents complete 6 to 7 blocks as Lead Resident, and each resident is expected to do at least one research project.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
  • Urban community
  • Regional community
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation
Focus areas
  • Early independence
Research
Required · research project · protected time

By year

PGY-1
  • CORE Obstetrics & GynecologyRGH4 blocks
  • General Surgery2 blocks
  • Obstetrics & Gynecology Elective2 blocks
  • Junior Gynecology1 block
  • Internal Medicine - Consultative1 block
  • Internal Medicine - MTU1 block
  • Emergency1 block
  • Ultrasound related to Obstetrics & Gynecology1 block
PGY-2
  • Junior ObstetricsFMC2-4 blocks
  • Maternal Fetal MedicineFMC3 blocks
  • Junior ObstetricsPLC3 blocks
  • Junior GynecologyRGH2 blocks
  • NICU ConsultativeFMC1 block
  • Maternal Mental Health and Transgender MedicineFMC, SHC, RGH1 block
  • Junior Gynecology (SHC) or Junior Gynecologic Oncology1 block
PGY-3
  • ObstetricsFMC over PGY2/37 blocks
  • Reproductive Endocrinology and InfertilityRegional Fertility Program and clinics/OR with Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology and Endocrinology (ACH and SHC)3 blocks
  • Junior GynecologyPLC2 blocks
  • Rural Community GynecologyLethbridge, Medicine Hat or Whitehorse2 blocks
  • Elective1 block
  • Selectivewithin Calgary, site assigned1 block
  • ICUFMC, PLC or RGH1 block
PGY-4
  • Lead ResidentFMC, PLC, RGH or SHC4 blocks
  • Senior Gyne-OncologyFMC3 blocks
  • Senior GynecologyPLC3 blocks
  • UrogynecologyFMC2 blocks
  • Senior OBFMC1 blocks
PGY-5
  • Lead Resident3 to 7 blocks
  • Senior OBFMC1 block
  • Electives

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Calgary, Alberta: 8 teaching sites; required rural rotation.

  • FOOTHILLS MEDICAL CENTRE (FMC)
  • PETER LOUGHEED CENTRE (PLC)
  • ROCKYVIEW GENERAL HOSPITAL (RGH)
  • SOUTH HEALTH CAMPUS (SHC)
  • ALBERTA CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL
  • CHINOOK REGIONAL HOSPITAL (Lethbridge · rural or distributed site)
  • MEDICINE HAT REGIONAL HOSPITAL (Medicine Hat · rural or distributed site)
  • WHITEHORSE GENERAL HOSPITAL (Whitehorse · rural or distributed site)

Record systems at the listed sites: Epic at 7 of 8; no published record for 1.

Hospital facts

7 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Epic (Connect Care), fully electronic record since Nov 2024 As of 31 Oct 2026. At FOOTHILLS MEDICAL CENTRE (FMC), PETER LOUGHEED CENTRE (PLC), ROCKYVIEW GENERAL HOSPITAL (RGH), SOUTH HEALTH CAMPUS (SHC), ALBERTA CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL, CHINOOK REGIONAL HOSPITAL, MEDICINE HAT REGIONAL HOSPITAL.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Alberta doesn't publish this as open data.

About Calgary

  • People

    1,306,784residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Calgary

  • Housing

    4.9%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Calgary, Alberta (census metropolitan area)

  • Winter and summer

    −7.6 °CJanuary mean16.9 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Calgary (Airport), 9.0 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Calgary (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
19, 20 and 21 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual
  • Traditional (one on one/two on one)
  • Panel
  • MMI or rotating station

Info sessions

None listed on the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) (read 20 Oct 2026) or on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026). Programs add sessions through the fall.

6 Obstetrics and Gynecology info sessions at other programsAll info sessions

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 22 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). One provincial scale for Alberta, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 5 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Alberta
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$67,440 / year
PGY-2
$74,153 / year
PGY-3
$80,058 / year
PGY-4
$86,281 / year
PGY-5
$92,698 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (as the program states it)
In-house call
Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house
Post-call rule (provincial)
No new responsibilities after the 24th hour of duty, apart from handover
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 consecutive hours, plus 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. PARA agreement, 1 Jul 2024 to 30 Jun 2028. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

15 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, Call Stipends, CMPA dues paid, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks/yr
Call Stipends
weekday in-house – $118.02weekend in-house / holiday – $178.72weekday home call – $59.01weekend home call / holiday – $89.35
CMPA dues paid
$1,500
Dental plan
75% premium paid
Educational leave
14 days paid leave
Extended health insurance
75% premium paid$1000 per year Flexible Spending Account*
Life insurance
100% towards $150,000 coverage
Life Support Course Costs (Program Approved
100% paid
Long-term disability insurance
100% paid for 75% gross income
Maternity Leave
18 weeks total (17 weeks paid to match 90% of salary when combined with EI)
Parental Leave
2 weeks leave with full pay and benefits;52 weeks (inclusive of Maternity/Paternity/Adoption Leaves) – unpaid leave
Practice Stipend
$1,500
Provincial dues (% of salary)
.95%
Sick leave
Up to 3 months or to end contract paid leave, whichever occurs first
Statutory holidays
Paid days. Additional days off are given if resident works the day before and part of a named holiday.

Past matches

No repeated vacancies in CaRMS’s lists of open positions, 2019–2026.

Positions at this site, all streams.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream85 years3 dates, 19–21 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 6 → 8 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG stream65 years3 dates, 20–22 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The University of Calgary's Obstetrics and Gynecology residency is a comprehensive 5-year program that provides extensive hands-on training across multiple hospital sites.
  • The program emphasizes competency-based medical education, offers diverse clinical experiences, and supports resident professional development through mentorship, research opportunities, and a supportive learning environment.
Research
Residents are expected to complete at least one research project, present at Research Day, and are encouraged to submit for publication with funding support available.
Training setting
Training occurs across five major hospital sites in Calgary: Foothills Medical Centre, Peter Lougheed Centre, Rockyview General Hospital, South Health Campus, and Alberta Children's Hospital, with additional rural rotation opportunities.
Teaching approach
The program uses Competency-Based Medical Education (CBME), focusing on progressive skill development, frequent formative assessments, and entrustable professional activities (EPAs) to ensure comprehensive resident training.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Academic record
  • Personal letter
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Reference letters
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director
  • Dr. Gail Lam

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing.

Obstetrics and Gynecology elsewhere

Nearest to Calgary

  • Edmonton · 281 km

    9 positions · CMG, IMG

  • Saskatoon - Obstetrics and GynecologyUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Saskatoon, SK · 525 km

    5 positions · CMG

  • Fraser - Obstetrics and GynecologyUniversity of British Columbia

    Fraser, BC · 625 km

    2 positions · Competitive RoS

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 8 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36116 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?