Skip to content
CdnMD

Swift Current - Regional - Family Medicine

University of SaskatchewanSwift Current, Saskatchewan

Stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
2 positions+1 from 1 in the 2026 match
1 position
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
26–50%

CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

4 dates, 20–23 Jan 2027virtual

Swift Current, 11 teaching sites1 teaching site · 8 rural weeks

A car is required

After residency in Saskatchewan: fee-for-service plus enrolled-patient payments

What stands out about this program

  • Longitudinal experiences in palliative care, long-term care, urology and emergency medicine across both years.

    From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page

  • One-on-one teaching with faculty, including regional specialists.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • This is a two-year family medicine residency based in Swift Current, the major population centre of Southwest Saskatchewan.
  • Residents complete an 8-week rural experience at a site of their choice and a 2-week obstetrics block in Prince Albert.
  • Longitudinal experiences in palliative care, long-term care, urology and emergency medicine run throughout both years.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Regional community
  • Rural / remote
Rural exposure
Required rural rotation (8 weeks)
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • POCUS curriculum
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Family Medicine17 weeks
  • Obstetrics / Women's Health6 weeks
  • Emergency Medicine4 weeks
  • Surgery4 weeks
  • Internal Medicine4 weeks
  • Pediatrics4 weeks
  • Electives4 weeks
  • Psychiatry4 weeks
  • Anesthesia3 weeks
  • Orientation2 weeks
  • Consolidation Week1 week
PGY-2
  • Family Medicine23 weeks
  • Electives10 weeks
  • Rural Family Medicine8 weeks
  • Obstetrics4 weeks
  • Internal Medicine4 weeks
  • Consolidation Week1 week
  • Exam Week1 week

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

Swift Current, Saskatchewan: 11 teaching sites1 teaching site; 8 rural weeks. A car is required.

  • Cypress Regional Hospital
  • Prince Albert (Prince Albert)
  • Ile a la Crosse (Ile a la Crosse · rural or distributed site)
  • La Ronge (La Ronge · rural or distributed site)
  • Meadow Lake (Meadow Lake · rural or distributed site)
  • Melfort (Melfort · rural or distributed site)
  • Moosomin (Moosomin · rural or distributed site)
  • Nipawin (Nipawin · rural or distributed site)
  • Rosthern (Rosthern · rural or distributed site)
  • Weyburn (Weyburn · rural or distributed site)
  • Yorkton (Yorkton · rural or distributed site)
  • Cypress Regional Hospital

Record systems at the listed sites: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 2 of 11; no published record for 9.

Hospital facts

2 sites · clinical record systems where an official source states them

What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.

Clinical record
Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated) As of 31 Oct 2026. At Cypress Regional Hospital, Prince Albert.

Verify with the official source: each source button opens the publisher’s own page.

Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.

About Swift Current

  • People

    16,750residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Swift Current

  • Housing

    5.5%rental vacancy rate

    October 2025 survey, Swift Current, Saskatchewan (census agglomeration)

  • Winter and summer

    −10.8 °CJanuary mean18.3 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Swift Current, 5.2 km away

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Swift Current (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
Return of service
Required · IMGs only

Application file components as each stream’s CaRMS page describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
20, 21, 22 and 23 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Saskatchewan, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Saskatchewan
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$68,329 / year
PGY-2
$74,518 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Post-call rule (provincial)
Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. RDoS agreement, 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2025. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

16 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, CMPA dues paid, Dental plan, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
100%
Dental plan
100%
Educational leave
Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
Employee Assistance Program
Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
Extended health insurance
Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
Life insurance
Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
Long-term disability insurance
Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
Maternity leave/ Paternity
In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
Meal allowance
n/a
On-Call Stipends
Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1 %
Provincial health insurance
Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
Sick leave
1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
Statutory and floating holidays
1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance

After residency

Family doctors in Saskatchewan can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for visits and enrolled patients: the Transitional Payment Model (TPM). Panel sizes set by activity level are used for physicians in their first two years of practice. To join: a minimum of 250 matched patients. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Past matches

Open after round 1 in 1 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.

Positions at this site, all streams. Site as CaRMS lists it: Swift Current.

Show the table, with round 2
Positions at this site, all streams, still open after round 1 and after round 2, by year. Each count above zero links to the CaRMS list page it comes from.
YearOpen after round 1Open after round 2
2018not available0
201900
20203 positions open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab)0
202100
202200
202300
202400
202500
202600

CaRMS’s first-round list for 2018 was not found, so round 1 is counted over 8 years and round 2 over 9.

What this means

Source: CaRMS’s lists of positions open after round 1 and after round 2, as read in October 2026 (latest: 2026 round 1 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab), 2026 round 2 (CaRMS PDF, opens in a new tab)).

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
CMG stream22 years4 dates, 20–23 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 1 → 2 from the 2026 match
Competitive stream12 years4 dates, 20–23 Jan 2027VirtualNothing noted

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
CMG streamSwift Current - Family Medicine12 years4 dates, 21–24 Jan 2026
Competitive streamSwift Current - Family Medicine12 years4 dates, 21–24 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The Swift Current Family Medicine residency program is a well-established rural program in Southwest Saskatchewan that has graduated over 56 residents since 2010.
  • Located in a community of 17,000 with a catchment area of 44,000, the program provides comprehensive training in generalist rural medicine with state-of-the-art simulation and committed faculty.
Research
Not stated on CaRMS page
Training setting
Regional hospital in Swift Current, Saskatchewan, serving a catchment area of 44,000 people with full-service medical facilities including acute care, emergency, obstetrics, and specialist clinics.
Teaching approach
Competency-based medical education focused on producing confident, comprehensive family physicians capable of broad-scope practice in rural and underserved communities.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Casper Test
  • FMProC Assessment
  • Medical Student Performance Record
  • Reference Letters
  • Personal Letter
  • CV/Resume
  • Interview Performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to Swift Current - Regional

  • Moose Jaw - Regional - Family MedicineUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Moose Jaw - Regional · 160 km

    CMG, Competitive

    Regional
  • Rural - Medicine Hat, AB · 207 km

    12 positions · CMG, IMG, MOTP-MMTP

    Regional
  • Saskatoon - Urban - Family MedicineUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Saskatoon - Urban · 220 km

    CMG, Competitive

    City

Source

The CMG stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · The Competitive stream’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), last approved 8 Sep 2026 · 2027 match · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program IDs 36368 (CMG stream), 35890 (Competitive stream) · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?

For the CMG streamCompetitive stream · change stream