Saskatoon - Urban - Family Medicine
University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, Saskatchewan
At a glance
- Approx. quota
- 161
- Length
- 2
- Applications per year
- 601+
- Offered interviews
- 26–50%
CMG stream · open to Canadian medical graduates
Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates
Wed 18 Nov 2026,6:00–7:00 pm CSTvia CANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Interviews
4 dates, 20–23 Jan 2027
Saskatoon, 18 teaching sites · 8 rural weeks
What stands out about this program
Required eight-week rural placement where residents live in a rural Saskatchewan community.
From “Program curriculum” on the CaRMS page
- The Saskatoon Family Medicine residency is a 2-year program based at West Winds Primary Health Centre.
- Residents spend eight weeks living and practicing in a rural Saskatchewan community.
- Residents must have a driver's license and vehicle for mandatory rural and remote experiences, and mileage is reimbursed.
- Interviews are virtual, held January 20–23, 2027.
What training looks like
- Setting
- Academic / tertiary hospital
- Rural / remote
- Rural exposure
- Required rural rotation (8 weeks)
- Focus areas
- Rural / remote
- Procedural emphasis
- Research
- Offered
- Getting around
- A car is required
- Travel is reimbursed
By year
- PGY-1
- Electives6 weeks
- General Surgery4 weeks
- Maternal & Newborn Care ( Obstetrics )4 weeks
- Internal Medicine4 weeks
- Psychiatry4 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Musculoskeletal Medicine2 weeks
- Orientation2 week
- Family Medicine2 1 weeks
- PGY-2
- Rural Family Medicine8 weeks
- Selectives8 weeks
- Electives8 weeks
- Family Medicine1 5 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Obstetrics4 weeks
- Palliative Care2 weeks
- Examination Week
- PGY-1
- Family Medicine21 weeks
- Electives6 weeks
- General Surgery4 weeks
- Maternal & Newborn Care ( Obstetrics )4 weeks
- Internal Medicine4 weeks
- Psychiatry4 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Musculoskeletal Medicine2 weeks
- Orientation2 week
- PGY-2
- Family Medicine15 weeks
- Rural Family Medicine8 weeks
- Selectives8 weeks
- Electives8 weeks
- Emergency Medicine4 weeks
- Obstetrics4 weeks
- Palliative Care2 weeks
- Examination Week
Where you train
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan: 18 teaching sites; 8 rural weeks. A car is required.
- West Winds Primary Health Centre
- Royal University Hospital
- Jim Pattison Children's Hospital
- Paul's Hospital
- Saskatoon City Hospital
- Fort Qu’Appelle (Fort Qu’Appelle · rural or distributed site)
- Humboldt (Humboldt · rural or distributed site)
- Île-à-la-Crosse (Île-à-la-Crosse · rural or distributed site)
- La Ronge (La Ronge · rural or distributed site)
- Meadow Lake (Meadow Lake · rural or distributed site)
- Melfort (Melfort · rural or distributed site)
- Moosomin (Moosomin · rural or distributed site)
Show all 18 sitesShow fewer
- Nipawin (Nipawin · rural or distributed site)
- Rosthern (Rosthern · rural or distributed site)
- Shellbrook (Shellbrook · rural or distributed site)
- Weyburn (Weyburn · rural or distributed site)
- Yorkton (Yorkton · rural or distributed site)
- Unity (Unity · rural or distributed site)
- West Winds Primary Health Centre
- JPCH
- RUH
- SPH
- SCH
- Fort Qu’Appelle (Fort Qu’Appelle · rural or distributed site)
- Humboldt (Humboldt · rural or distributed site)
- Île-à-la-Crosse (Île-à-la-Crosse · rural or distributed site)
- La Ronge (La Ronge · rural or distributed site)
- Meadow Lake (Meadow Lake · rural or distributed site)
- Melfort (Melfort · rural or distributed site)
- Moosomin (Moosomin · rural or distributed site)
Show all 18 sitesShow fewer
- Nipawin (Nipawin · rural or distributed site)
- Rosthern (Rosthern · rural or distributed site)
- Shellbrook (Shellbrook · rural or distributed site)
- Weyburn (Weyburn · rural or distributed site)
- Yorkton (Yorkton · rural or distributed site)
- Unity (Unity · rural or distributed site)
Record systems at the listed sites, all streams: Sunrise Clinical Manager at 7 of 22; no published record for 15.
Hospital facts
What official sources say for hospitals named above, each with its source and the date we read it. They describe the hospital, not the program. We match names to the sources by name, so check each source before you rely on it.
- Clinical record
- Sunrise Clinical Manager (SCM), system named (how far it goes is not stated)
Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.
About Saskatoon
People
266,141residents, 2021 Census
Housing
3.1%rental vacancy rate
Winter and summer
−15.4 °CJanuary mean18.3 °CJuly mean
Job outlook
Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027
How they choose
- Application file components
- CV
- Electives
- Examinations
- Extra-curricular
- Leadership skills
- MSPRs
- Personal letters
- Reference documents
- Research/Publications
- Transcripts
- Other file component(s)
- Return of service, CMG stream
- Not stated on CaRMS page. Check the provincial return-of-service rules.
- Return of service, Competitive stream
- Required · IMGs only
Interviews and info sessions
- Interview dates (2027 match)
- 20, 21, 22 and 23 Jan 2027
- Format
- Virtual
Info sessions
Wed 18 Nov 2026
6:00–7:00 pm CST
Town hall · VirtualCANPREPP source (opens in a new tab)
Pay and call
| Level | Annual salary |
|---|---|
| PGY-1 | $68,329 / year |
| PGY-2 | $74,518 / year |
Call
- Call (provincial max)
- 1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
- Post-call rule (provincial)
- Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
- Max continuous duty (provincial)
- 24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover
Benefits
- Annual vacation
- 4 weeks
- CMPA dues paid
- 100%
- Dental plan
- 100%
- Educational leave
- Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
- Employee Assistance Program
- Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
- Extended health insurance
- Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
- Life insurance
- Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
- Long-term disability insurance
- Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
- Maternity leave/ Paternity
- In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
- Meal allowance
- n/a
- On-Call Stipends
- Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
- Provincial dues (% of salary)
- 1 %
- Provincial health insurance
- Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
- Sick leave
- 1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
- Statutory and floating holidays
- 1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
- Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
- 15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance
After residency
Family doctors in Saskatchewan can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for visits and enrolled patients: the Transitional Payment Model (TPM). Panel sizes set by activity level are used for physicians in their first two years of practice. To join: a minimum of 250 matched patients. Compare provinces
Past matches
Open after round 1 in 3 of 8 years (2019–2026); still open after round 2 in 0 of 9 years.
Show the table, with round 2Hide the table
| Year | Open after round 1 | Open after round 2 |
|---|---|---|
| 2018 | not available | 0 |
| 2019 | 8 positions open after round 1 in 2019, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2020 | 3 positions open after round 1 in 2020, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 2 positions open after round 1 in 2022, CaRMS list (opens in a new tab) | 0 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 |
| 2026 | 0 | 0 |
What this means
- A position can go unfilled because of where the site is, because it is open to IMGs only or to another restricted stream, or because the quota changed late.
- It says nothing about the quality of the training or how heavy the workload is.
- A site’s numbers are shown when it had positions open after round 1 in at least 2 of 8 years or at least 3 in one year.
Year by year
2027 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 16 | 2 years | 4 dates, 20–23 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
| Competitive stream | 1 | 2 years | 4 dates, 20–23 Jan 2027 | Nothing noted |
2026 match
| Stream | Positions | Length | Interviews |
|---|---|---|---|
| CMG stream | 16 | 2 years | 4 dates, 21–24 Jan 2026 |
| Competitive stream | 1 | 2 years | 4 dates, 21–24 Jan 2026 |
The 2026 page of the CMG stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
- The University of Saskatchewan Family Medicine Residency Program in Saskatoon offers comprehensive training for family physicians, with a strong focus on rural, remote, and underserved populations.
- Located at West Winds Primary Health Centre, the program provides diverse clinical experiences, emphasizes resident wellness, and prepares graduates to excel in comprehensive family medicine across Saskatchewan.
- Research
- Robust support for research with opportunities integrated throughout the training program.
- Training setting
- Urban setting in Saskatoon (population 280,000), training at West Winds Primary Health Centre with access to major hospitals including JPCH, RUH, SPH, and SCH.
- Teaching approach
- Competency-based medical education focused on producing compassionate, comprehensive family physicians who can adapt to diverse community needs and provide patient-centered care.
- Enhanced skills
- Not stated on CaRMS page
- What the program looked at
- Casper Test
- FMProC Assessment
- Medical Student Performance Record (MSPR)
- Reference Letters
- Personal Letter
- CV/Curriculum Vitae
- Interview Performance
Contacts and links
- Program director
Dr. Sheila Smith
Faculty profile of Dr. Sheila Smith(opens in a new tab)
Emergency Medicine
CaRMS lists no email for the director.
- Program office
Program Administrator, Program Assistant
Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.
Videos and podcasts
From residents
Public podcast episodes and videos where residents describe this program. The short descriptions are ours; each link goes to the original.
Family Medicine elsewhere
Nearest to Saskatoon - Urban
- Rural
- Regional
- Regional
Did this page answer your question?



