Skip to content
CdnMD

South East (Weyburn) - Rural - Family Medicine

University of SaskatchewanSouth East (Weyburn), SaskatchewanCompetitive stream

At a glance

Approx. quota
1 position−1 from 2 in the 2026 match
Length
2 years
Applications per year
601+
Offered interviews
26–50%

Competitive stream · open to Canadian and international medical graduates

Return of service: Required · IMGs only

Interviews

4 dates, 20–23 Jan 2027virtual

South East (Weyburn), 1 teaching site · based in a rural community

A car is required

After residency in Saskatchewan: fee-for-service plus enrolled-patient payments

What stands out about this program

  • Required 4–6 week remote/underserviced family medicine rotation in the second year.

    From “Program highlights” on the CaRMS page

  • Small site with eight family medicine residents and a low resident-to-faculty ratio.

    From “Additional information” on the CaRMS page

  • This two-year University of Saskatchewan family medicine program is based in Weyburn, a community of about 12,000, within the distributed South East site.
  • Family medicine fills 32 weeks of R1 and 28 weeks of R2, and R2 includes a 4–6 week remote/underserviced FM rotation.
  • Residents must have a vehicle, and accommodations are provided for mandatory rotations away from the home base.

The summary is written by CdnMD from the program’s CaRMS description.

Based on what the program says about itself.

Not a ranking.

What training looks like

Setting
  • Rural / remote
  • Regional community
  • Academic / tertiary hospital
Rural exposure
Based in a rural community
Focus areas
  • Rural / remote
  • Procedural emphasis
Getting around
  • A car is required
  • Housing away from the home site is provided or paid for
  • Travel is reimbursed

By year

PGY-1
  • Family Medicine32 weeks
  • Electives6 weeks
  • Obstetrics Tertiary/Regional4 weeks
  • Psychiatry3 weeks
  • Anesthesia2 weeks
  • General Surgery2 weeks
  • Orientation1 week
  • Consolidation week1 week
  • Seasonal Slowdown1 week
PGY-2
  • Family medicine28 weeks
  • FM remote/underserviced4-6 weeks
  • Electives6 weeks
  • Hospitalist/Internal Medicine4 weeks
  • Women’s Health/Obstetrics3 weeks
  • Pediatrics ER2 weeks
  • Exam week1 week
  • Consolidation week1 week
  • Seasonal slowdown1 week

✓ = the CaRMS page states it; – = not stated. From the program description and its rotation list.

Where you train

South East (Weyburn), Saskatchewan: 1 teaching site; based in a rural community. A car is required.

  • South East Family Medicine Residency Program - Weyburn (Weyburn)

Distributed across a region

Record systems at the listed sites: no published record for 1 of 1.

Hospital facts

Hospital size and activity: Saskatchewan doesn't publish this as open data.

About Weyburn

  • People

    11,019residents, 2021 Census

    Municipality of Weyburn

  • Housing

    not published for this area

  • Winter and summer

    −13.9 °CJanuary mean19.1 °CJuly mean

    1991–2020 normals, Estevan, 80.5 km away (more than 50 km, so it may differ from the town)

  • Job outlook

    Very goodfor the specialty here, 2025–2027

More about Weyburn (its page: housing, getting around, weather, things to do, and every program that names it)

Sites as the program’s CaRMS page lists them. City figures are public statistics for the place named by the location; they describe the place, not the program.

How they choose

Application file components
  • CV
  • Electives
  • Examinations
  • Extra-curricular
  • Leadership skills
  • MSPRs
  • Personal letters
  • Reference documents
  • Research/Publications
  • Transcripts
  • Other file component(s)
Return of service
Required · IMGs only

Application file components as the program describes them.

Interviews and info sessions

Interview dates (2027 match)
20, 21, 22 and 23 Jan 2027
Format
Virtual

Info sessions

From the program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab), read 20 Oct 2026; a row tagged CANPREPP is on CANPREPP’s events calendar (read 24 Oct 2026), alone or as well. Dates and times are as the program wrote them; “your time” is worked out in your browser when your time zone differs. Programs add and change sessions.

Pay and call

Provincial scale, last updated 23 Jul 2026 · check the current agreement(opens in a new tab). Contract expired, may change. One provincial scale for Saskatchewan, set by the resident agreement, so every program there pays the same. Showing the 2 levels this program covers.

Annual salary by PGY level, Saskatchewan
LevelAnnual salary
PGY-1
$68,329 / year
PGY-2
$74,518 / year

How provincial pay and rent compare

Call

Call (provincial max)
1 in 4 in-house, averaged over a rotation
Post-call rule (provincial)
Back on regularly scheduled hours the next work day
Max continuous duty (provincial)
24 hours, plus up to 2 hours for handover

The union agreement’s limits and rules for all residents in the province; your program’s actual call schedule may be lighter. RDoS agreement, 1 Jan 2023 to 31 Dec 2025. The term has ended; its terms continue until a new agreement is signed. Read as of 1 Oct 2026.

Benefits

16 lines as listed by CaRMS in 2022–2024: Annual vacation, CMPA dues paid, Dental plan, and more
Annual vacation
4 weeks
CMPA dues paid
100%
Dental plan
100%
Educational leave
Minimum 7 days with pay, 12 Maximum
Employee Assistance Program
Two programs available through SMA and University of Saskatchewan
Extended health insurance
Blue Cross family coverage, if registered with a Provincial Health Plan
Life insurance
Paid premium, >$100,000 coverage
Long-term disability insurance
Paid premium cost for Disability Insurance
Maternity leave/ Paternity
In conformity with Sask. Labour Standards Act – 17 weeks max maternity leave and up to 35 weeks parental leave.5 paid days paternity (can split the 35 weeks parental leave with mother as desired.)
Meal allowance
n/a
On-Call Stipends
Home Light: per duty period: $72 weekday; $83 weekendIn House: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekendICU/CCU: per duty period: $166 weekday; $191 weekend
Provincial dues (% of salary)
1 %
Provincial health insurance
Yes, if registered with Sask. Health
Sick leave
1.25 days per month to maximum 75 days
Statutory and floating holidays
1.5 times pay or 1/2 pay & day off for stats, plus 6 extra paid days off at Christmas
Supplemental Maternity Leave Benefits
15 weeks topped to 90% pay when eligible for Employment Insurance

After residency

Family doctors in Saskatchewan can bill fee-for-service or join a model that pays for visits and enrolled patients: the Transitional Payment Model (TPM). Panel sizes set by activity level are used for physicians in their first two years of practice. To join: a minimum of 250 matched patients. Compare provinces

Official pages read 31 Oct 2026.

Year by year

2027 match

The 2027 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviewsWhat changed
Competitive stream12 years4 dates, 20–23 Jan 2027Virtual
  • Positions 2 → 1 from the 2026 match

2026 match

The 2026 match, one row per stream (scrolls sideways on narrow screens)
StreamPositionsLengthInterviews
Competitive streamSouth East (Weyburn) - Family Medicine22 years4 dates, 21–24 Jan 2026
The 2026 page of the Competitive stream: our summary of its CaRMS description
  • The South East Family Medicine Residency Training Program is a geographically distributed program offering training in Yorkton, Weyburn, and Moosomin.
  • Residents match with one of three home base communities and maintain continuity throughout training, focusing on becoming competent rural generalist family physicians with broad scopes of practice.
Research
Not stated on CaRMS page
Training setting
Distributed rural and regional training sites in southeastern Saskatchewan, including Weyburn (population ~12,000), with training across small community hospitals and regional centers.
Teaching approach
Learner-centered, competency-based medical education with an emphasis on developing confident, skilled family physicians capable of practicing in rural and underserved communities.
Enhanced skills
Not stated on CaRMS page
What the program looked at
  • Casper test
  • FMProC assessment
  • Personal letter
  • Reference letters
  • Medical school transcript
  • Interview performance

Positions, length and interviews as each match’s CaRMS pages stated them; what changed from our comparison of the two matches and our readings of the 2027 pages.

Contacts and links

Program director

CaRMS lists no email for the director.

Program office

Per CaRMS. Staff change during the cycle, so check the CaRMS program page(opens in a new tab) before emailing. Site staff and other contacts are listed there too.

Family Medicine elsewhere

Nearest to South East (Weyburn) - Rural

  • Regina - Urban - Family MedicineUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Regina - Urban · 103 km

    CMG, Competitive, MOTP-MMTP

    City
  • Moose Jaw - Regional - Family MedicineUniversity of Saskatchewan

    Moose Jaw - Regional · 146 km

    CMG, Competitive

    Regional
  • South East (Moosomin) - Rural · 165 km

    1 position · Competitive

    Rural

Source

The program’s CaRMS page (opens in a new tab) · 2027 match · last approved 25 Sep 2026 · not final until file review opens 26 November; as of 19 Oct 2026, re-checked every two weeks.

Accredited · CaRMS program ID 36332 · How these pages are made › · See the 2026 match under Year by year

The Applications per year and Offered interviews figures are 5-year averages the program reports to CaRMS: past cycles, not your odds.

Independent. Not affiliated with CaRMS or the program. Programs edit their descriptions during the match; confirm on carms.ca (opens in a new tab) before you apply. Data last updated on CdnMD 24 Oct 2026.

Did this page answer your question?